We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour
Ranked #89 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We recently stayed at the Novatel Rockford Darling harbour in march 2014. This place is in a great location just opposite the Sydney entertainment center & a short walk to the Darling Quater section of Daling Harbour.The rooms are clean & have plenty of space but the beds are hard & the pillows we had need replacing. Check in & out was quick & easy there is 2 choices of parking either vallet or park in the enertainment center car park. The pumphouse bar around the corner is awesome if you are into craft beer. We had buffet breakfast which was ordinary at best

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank craigcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter-NRDH, General Manager at Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear craigcas,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the location, staff service and Pumphouse Bar & Restaurant.

Please let me express my sincerest apologies for the average breakfast and unfavourable bed firmness you experienced during your stay. This is not the type of quality and delivery that should be received from a Novotel, and is not typical of this hotel.

I hope that these factors did not hinder your experience of Sydney, and we hope to see you back to stay at the Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour again one day.


Kind Regards,
Peter Emery
General Manager
Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    929
    578
    184
    106
See reviews for
397
898
185
548
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a 4 night stay to see The Lion King it was a brilliant location across the road from Chinatown a short walk to Paddy's Market, Chinese Garden, The Capitol Theatre, Circular Quay and Darling Harbour. The hotel was directly next to an events centre so our view was of this - the room was fine twin room, shower over the bath, tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast was included and was perfect same each day but a good selection, Computers were available next to the lobby were available free. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HBKiwi60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter-NRDH, General Manager at Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear HBKiwi60,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It was a delight to read that you enjoyed the location, breakfast and facilities.

I hope that you enjoyed The Lion King, and we hope to see you back at the Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour again soon.


Kind Regards,
Peter Emery
General Manager
Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Our stay at the Novotel was pleasant. It is not a 5 star hotel nor does it try to be a 5 star hotel. We pay a premium for our rooms as there was a conference at the adjacent conference centre.

The check-in was fast and timely. The rooms (though slightly dated) were clean and the air-cond worked very well. We liked the fact that the bathroom was very well lit and the amenities were adequate. We stayed on the 8th floor with views of the Chinese Gardens. No issues with noise of traffic below even though it was very obvious we were located beside a busy road/highway.

Breakfast was adequate with hot and cold options.

Staff were always friendly to answer questions or to adjust housekeeping times.

The best asset of this hotel is it's location. With Chinatown just a 5 min away, food was easily accessible. There is a foodcourt located very close to the hotel with numerous stalls offering numerous asian cuisines at reasonable prices. Since the foodcourt is open 7 days a week from 10am-10pm, you can easily organise takeaway instead of room serivce. Darling Harbour is also just a stroll away (IMAX/bars/clubs).

Would definitely come back, though, will try to book way in advance to avoid high prices.

Room Tip: Eat at Chinatown/Haymarket : a lot of Asian cuisine to discover.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renay l, General Manager at Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear ckwong,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. I was delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay at Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour, and that you particularly enjoyed the location, service and friendliness of the staff.

We hope to see you back at Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour again soon.

Kind Regards,
Peter Emery
General Manager
Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Rockford in March 2014 for 7 days.We should have compared this hotel with others before booking.Desk staff somewhat helpful but management conspicuous with its absence.When we arrived(with 80 others from a cruise ship)there was complete chaos in reception due to the number of clients arriving at one time.When I queried with the Manager who would be responsible for this he replied "we didn't know you were coming"Hmmmm.Housekeeping staff on our floor(7th) were guilty of various faults e.g. failure to clean room,forgetting tea/coffee etc,no towels.The shower tray in the bathroom allowed water to seep onto the floor.This would seem to be an old problem as the floor had had an attempt to seal the tiles previously.Electronic keys failing to open the room door.One thing good can be said for this hotel…..the position.With Darling Harbour,Paddy's Market and buses all adjacent it could be an ideal spot.For the over 60's it is possible to purchase a $2.50 bus card which allows unlimited journeys in 24 hrs.These can be bought in the local convenience stores which are numerous.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canflais1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renay l, General Manager at Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear canflais1,

First, please accept my apologies for the issues encountered upon your arrival at Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour. We are not typically known for this kind of service and I have addressed each of these issues with my management team to ensure this does not happen to any guest again.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, and its close proximity to surrounding attractions.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and I hope that you will visit Sydney and the Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour again soon.


Yours Sincerely,
Peter Emery
General Manager
Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

No doubt about the location, great- close to China town, Paddy's Market, Chinese Garden, darling Harbour, Restaurants, and other major tourist attractions. We stayed for three nights. The staff are very job with their job, never have any problem, very polite and helpful actually. The room we stayed in has the view of The Qantas Arena and ,garden, it was quite ,sunny and pleasant. Only have minor issues, our room didn't have a bench to prepare teas or coffee, didn't have any choice but to plug the kettle behind the TV. In my opinion the furniture could be rearrange to make a small bench for preparing coffee since it is big enough. Quite impossible to use the study table for making coffee since there is no extension cord for the kettle, the electric power point is under the table. The other minor issue I want to address is, I expect the cleaners/housekeeper to clean and make the room. On our second stay when we come back to our room, the bed was made but they didn't vacuum the carpet and it was obvious. I have a 12 year old daughter with me and we both made small mess on carpet that looked like crumbs and it can be seen easily because the carpet was dark blue! It would have only taken the cleaners to vacuum the room at least five to seven minutes the most! This part was disappointing since we stayed three nights and it was quite expensive. On the good part, the inhouse food was very reasonably price and tasty and didn't take long too arrive, we ordered twice. The lady who also delivered our specially ordered pillow was lovely. It would also be good if hotel can provide free wifi. Most hotels these days provide this service, we stayed in two different hotels on this week before our stay with you and they have those facility. Swimming and gym are bonus. We had great experience with this hotel and its staff and happy to do repeat business with you. Whatever minor issue I say on this is only constructive criticism that hopefully can be look at to improve customer satisfaction and service. Thank you.

Room Tip: Away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renay l, General Manager at Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Ruth,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed a pleasant stay at Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour and particularly that you enjoyed our location, our service, friendliness and food. However, please accept my apologies for the state of your room's cleanliness during your stay. I have addressed this issue with my management team to ensure this does not happen to any guest again.

We hope to see you back to stay at Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour again very soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Peter Emery
General Manager
Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#63 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Central Business District
Seasons Darling Harbour
Seasons Darling Harbour
#148 of 175 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour

Property: Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour
Address: 17 Little Pier St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour is ideally located in vibrant Darling Harbour within easy walking distance of the city centre of Sydney. Perfect for business trips, holidays and city breaks, the hotel is adjacent to the QANTAS Credit Union Arena. Guests can enjoy a drink or delicious meal in our renowned heritage listed Pumphouse Bar and Restaurant. Other features include meeting facilities, a heated indoor lap pool and a gym. Close to all the excitement and attractions Sydney has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novotel Hotel Sydney
Novotel Sydney
Sydney Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing