We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpaid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour
Ranked #86 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Uetikon am See, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Overpaid”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Novotel has a good location near darling harbour and the rooms are OK. However compared to other Novotel, the furniture is rather used. In addition the hotel is expensive for the services it is offering and the room quality. In addition you pay extras for any additional service (example Internet) and there are quite noisy streets around.

Compared to other Novotel hotels I visited this one is clearly overpaid.

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the convention center, they are calmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urs68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    920
    570
    182
    104
See reviews for
396
891
182
539
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I spent five nights here recently as he was attending a conference at the Darling Harbour Convention Centre. The location was very convenient, being only a 5 min walk to the conference and Darling Harbour, 10 mins to CBD, 10 mins to Star City Casino and 10 mins to either Central or Town Hall railway stations and various bus-stops.
There are many places to eat at Darling Harbour itself or at Chinatown which is right on the doorstep. Star City also has some high-end restaurants such as Momofuku (3 hats) and a couple of others with 1 hat.
We were on the 6th floor and had no problem with noise from traffic or other guests. The room size was reasonable given this is Sydney and most other CBD hotels seem to have tiny rooms, and the bathroom was very spacious.
Unfortunately the furniture in the room is looking very tired, although it was all clean enough. There was no instructions for on how to change temperature in the room or how to work the TV. I had to call reception to get help in turning it on - turns out there is a little square red box stuck on the front of the TV (something to do with the movie channels, pay TV etc) that was no longer sticking. Every time I turned it on or off I had to hold the red box on the TV for the remote to work. The plug in the sink was also broken. Daily room service was good and I actually found the bed very comfortable.
The reception staff were very nice and friendly and provided me with bandaids from the first aid box for the blisters on my feet.
Breakfast was basically the same each morning - hot breakfast, cereals and fruits, toast etc. All quite uninspiring but edible.
Since our stay was paid for, I can't say whether or not it would be value for money. I have a feeling I would have felt disappointed if I'd had to pay for the room but the location really was extremely convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackiecat46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights on business. Conference at convention centre. Great proximity to the centre and close to everything else darling harbour has to offer. Could walk to city too. I got the train from airport- easy 10 minute walk from town hall station. Room was clean on arrival and daily room service was good. Airconditioning duct rattled but i fixed this by readjusting grate. No problems with room temperature. Bathroom was a bit worn but clean and good shower. Someone with mobility troubles may find it difficult to step into the bath to access the shower. King size bed was two singles put together- made for a ridge in centre where the two met so a bit lumpy. I was on the 4th floor overlooking the entertainment centre- no issue with noise on any night. Didn't eat at the hotel so no comment there. However the pumphouse always seemed busy. Fox sports and sky news (additional channels) were good- my only criticism with the TV was that the aspect for the picture was wrong- this is a common issue in a lot of hotels unfortunately. Shouldn't be too hard to adjust. Overall would stay here again for business.

Room Tip: Higher floor may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights on business. Room was fine but noisy traffic outside and if you are a light sleeper this would bother you. I was on the 3rd floor. The actually hotel was however quiet but that's usually down to luck. Also my toilet was dirty when I first checked in, but from then on housekeeping did a good job. Interesting location near china town. I used the monorail which was handy but sadly this will be closing next year. Not too far to walk into city centre a d darling Harbour. I would consider staying here again for business related purposes but probably not leisure.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zosha72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here with my boyfriend for 2 nights to see matchbox 20! Was greeted on arrival by a very unfriendly receptionist. On arrival to our room extremely disappointed! Room was small and drab, bathroom bigger than room itself! Bath/shower and sink was slow to drain. The bed was horrible, 2 king singles covered with an extremely soft pillow top cover and a sheet to try and tie them together. Worst 2 nights sleep we have had in ages. For us this was perfectly located next to the entertainment centre but very disappointed in accommodation, and the price was way too expensive for what we got! Have stayed in a lot of hotels in sydney with much better service, friendliness and value for money. Will definitely try other hotels in the vicinity next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tassie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I was very impressed with the location of this hotel. Close to everything, and safe walking on my own. The rooms were not huge, but beautifully appointed and spotless. The buffet breakfast was not overpriced, and yummy. The service was excellent, from the front desk to the staff in the restaurant. The worst part was finding the entrance to the hotel - probably needs an online map to show how to actually get there, if you're driving.
I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#62 of 174 in Sydney
1,225 reviews
Central Business District
Seasons Darling Harbour
Seasons Darling Harbour
#147 of 174 in Sydney
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour

Property: Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour
Address: 17 Little Pier St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour is ideally located in vibrant Darling Harbour within easy walking distance of the city centre of Sydney. Perfect for business trips, holidays and city breaks, the hotel is adjacent to the QANTAS Credit Union Arena. Guests can enjoy a drink or delicious meal in our renowned heritage listed Pumphouse Bar and Restaurant. Other features include meeting facilities, a heated indoor lap pool and a gym. Close to all the excitement and attractions Sydney has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novotel Hotel Sydney
Novotel Sydney
Sydney Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing