We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location is what it has going for it. clean but average.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour
Ranked #90 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
A TripAdvisor Member
sydney
1
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Great location, some staff seemed somewhat put out to get our luggage brought downstairs. No fresh air to be had via windows, and some what overpriced. Breakfast was complimentary on some mornings and not others - although after 1 breakfast - we decided to go elsewhere after waiting in line to be seated, whilst outside people were being served takeaway cappuccinos. Then we could not get a cafe in the afternoon, because the b/fast facility was closed and functions were on in the other rooms.
Great location, average, just average amenities and pr.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,683 - 1,689 of 2,348 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Cairns, Australia
1
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Dear review,
We love the location, would have like a view of the garden, and maybe a room with a spa and lounge next time, and a longer stay , food is good , ok I am not one for long letter so i guess to be able to sent you a review on a shorter note would suit me , I love coming to darling harbour as it is beautiful i, love to just walk a dine by the sea , we love how the hotel is so close to everything ,we did the monorail this time as well to go and see the aqua show ,and after a long day coming back to a great bed and quiet
kind regards Di

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Port Pirie
1
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Fantastically located and just a wonderful part of Sydney. Hotel staff helpful and friendly! Definately stay again and definately recommend just on location alone. ......................................................................................

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

A colleague and I stayed overnight at the Novotel Rockford on a business trip. As an A|Club Platinum member, I called ahead to check whether we could be upgraded and were assured we would be. When we arrived late in the afternoon, we were not upgraded. We were both booked on a charge-back account, which was clearly indicated on our bookings and itineraries (our organisation is 10,000+ people and has a corporate account), but the hotel insisted that we provide our cards and would be billed for the room and any extras on departure. Only a 7am call the following to our travel unit solved the problem.

In the rooms, the beds were bizarrely squeaky. I am normally a very deep sleeper, but the noise when I shifted was enough to wake me four or five times throughout the night. My colleague reported the same experience the following morning. The wood panelling in the room was broken or detached from the walls in many places. The blankets were made up too short for the beds. The bed-side alarm was missing the "On/Off" switch, so I had to use a cotton bud from the bathroom to avoid being woken at 4am. The in-room keyboard was missing its battery.

There are plenty of other hotels in Darling Harbour. Go to them instead.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Overnight stay in Sydney to take my son to see the Sydney Kings play basketball at the Entertainment Centre and visit the Powerhouse Museum for the Harry Potter Exhibition. Location right next door to the Entertainment Centre and an easy walk to Powerhouse was the real bonus. We traveled into the city by train and caught the light rail to Paddy's Market and walked over to the hotel, very straightforward. However this hotel is showing its age and needs a revamp. Our twin room was very basic for the rate ($299). The linen was nothing special, the bathroom is a shower/bath and quite narrow, t.v. is not flat screen, small room with mini fridge. We had a room on the third floor which faced the Entertainment Centre and it was pretty quiet. Breakfast was quoted at $30 each for full breakfast or $15 for continental. We did not choose to have breakfast at the Hotel. We did however have drinks with friends across the road at the Holiday Inn. This hotel looked pretty fresh and I wish I had explored this option prior to my booking the Novotel. I am disappointed in this Novotel as we have used the brand all over Europe and Austrialia and this one just didn't have the polish and quality that we are used to.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fussiestcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
wollongong
1
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Rockford Darling Harbour is a great place to stay if attending an event at the Entertainment Center close convienient and of a an excellent standard. We have stayed many times and always staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast a must.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne, Australia
1
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Yet again although I had booked a King suite I was put in the kids twin bed room. The TV and phone didn't work, there was no iron and no bathroom products except one shampoo.

Very poor - especially as I have been an Accor member since 2004 - you would think members might get better service and treatment than this.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#62 of 180 in Sydney
1,342 reviews
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour

Address: 17 Little Pier St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $115 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour is ideally located in vibrant Darling Harbour within easy walking distance of the city centre of Sydney. Perfect for business trips, holidays and city breaks, the hotel is adjacent to the ICC Sydney. Guests can enjoy a drink or delicious meal in our renowned heritage listed Pumphouse Bar and Restaurant. Other features include meeting facilities, a heated indoor lap pool and a gym. Close to all the excitement and attractions Sydney has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rockford Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Novotel Hotel Sydney
Novotel Sydney
Sydney Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing