We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and well equipped”
Review of Napoleon on Kent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Napoleon on Kent
Ranked #120 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed March 13, 2007

We got a really good rate here around Australia Day in 2006. I agree with the reviewer who said that you shouldn't be put off by the overpass. It looks really bad in some photos and on the map, but we didn't find a problem with it (although you won't be spending much time out on your balcony!!).

An excellent location, and the rooms are very well equipped. One problem we had was with parking outside to drop off our luggage. There is parking outside, but it's very limited and quite expensive metered parking.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank markmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 339 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2007

My partner and I spent a week in a studio apartment at Napoleon on Kent and while in terms of decor etc it was nothing special, in terms of convenience and value we were very impressed.

We booked directly through the hotel website and when we booked, which was quite a long time in advance, this was cheaper than prices quoted through any other websites.

The location is great, very close (150m from memory) to Wynyard station. If you are used to travelling fairly independently, don't consider a taxi from the airport or, worse, the overpriced and unreliable shuttle "service", but catch a train.

You can see on the website where the apartments are situated - directly under a freeway - which is bizarre, but was never a problem for us. You can easily walk into central Sydney and the Circular Quay/Rocks area, and Darling Harbour is even closer. Most ferries depart from Circular Quay but there are infrequent services to and from Darling Harbour as well.

The night we arrived we headed the wrong way looking for somewhere to eat and couldn't find anything open - head for Darling Harbour instead (ie look at a map, don't just head off like we did!) which is really well set up for tourists and where you can eat until late. There are many cafes and pubs and a food hall near the apartments as well. We didn't actually cook in the apartment, just ate breakfast, but it was definitely very well set up for it. There is also a huge list of restaurants that deliver to the apartments.

Staff members at reception seemed very helpful and there was lots of information on what to do and where to go in Sydney. (By the way, we recommend the outrageously expensive Bridge Climb, the Zoo and the tour of the Opera House especially).

The laundry in the basement is very handy with heaps of machines.

Overall, a very good value option in Sydney - we would go back.

Stayed: October 2006
5  Thank Penny71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2006

The hotel is in a great location - right in the Sydney CBD and short walks to absolutely everything! However, we were unfortunate enough to hav
e road works between 8pm and 5am (yes - overnight)! Because the rooms are right on the road, there was no escape from the concrete drilling and noise of trucks constantly backing up and moving forward. It was terrible, and needless to say, I did not sleep a single minute and was incredible angry and tired the next day. I'm sure this is a one-off occurrence, however, because the hotel is situated in a high density commercial area, bear in mind that construction is allowed to occur overnight. So make sure when you book that there won't be any road works scheduled during your stay! We were only provided with ear plugs, which did absolutely nothing! And we were also not informed that construction was going to occur, which was disappointing.

When you first see the hotel, you'll wish you had chosen another one because this is situated right in the midst of two busy roads and underneath an overpass! However, even though Our room was right on the footpath, it was well insulated. However, you did get the occassional motorcycle or truck that would wake you in the middle of the night. The bed was very uncomfortable, and caused us lower back pains during our stay.

The room had the stove and all equipment you would need to cook and was very well self-contained. We also had cable with heaps of movies - so that was good too.

Staff was friendly, even after a night of mind-breaking concrete drilling. They gave us a bottle of champagne to compensate.

Overall, am quite indifferent to this hotel. The roadworks on our first night probably tainted my perception of the place...

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fabs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2006

Went in April and to say it is under the underpass to the bridge, it is remarkably quiet inside, in fact of all he places I stayed in in Australia It was the quietest.

The staff were frendly and even told me where to go for a cheap steak and beer, but werent pushy.

Very centrally located short walk to the Harbour/bars and Darling harbour.

The Washers and driers werent cheap but hey,

All in all Great Apartment

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chapas77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2006

This apartment is pretty good. Location gets it extra points

Location is fantastic right near Darling Habour and Circular Quay, all 15 minutes walk. Quiet location (well insulated from street noise) and nice comfy beds so can get some zzz's. Good place to spend a week as have own kitchen and living room and cable tv but we didn't really need it all for a weekender.

Nice enough decor bit dated and curtains bit dusty, bathrooms are average (need a good bleach) and got some questionable stains on towels though were replaced apologetically. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Overall not bad.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lalayna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
317
Reviewed November 17, 2005

Very helpful front desk staff . Excellent location .
Convient parking . Very clean , comfortable , quiet and spacious rooms, including a well equipped kitchen . Don't let the overpass put you off . Good value . I wish I were there now .

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#68 of 179 in Sydney
298 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
The Australian Heritage Hotel
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#45 of 179 in Sydney
928 reviews
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napoleon on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napoleon on Kent

Address: Napoleon on Kent Serviced Apar 219 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $89 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napoleon on Kent 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Napoleon on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon On Kent Sydney
Napoleon On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing