We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“spacious, affordable but it is a serviced apartment”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Napoleon on Kent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Napoleon on Kent
Ranked #115 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“spacious, affordable but it is a serviced apartment”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

check in was no hassle. when we came in the room was big. with sofas n big toilet and shower. no bathtubs though. the kitchen is another highlight. has a hot plate, and all the cooking utensils are tucked in the kitchen cabinet. one thing to note about this hotel, no breakfast included, but cafes and restaurants are close nearby, and they did not change your towels everyday, no daily room service. the major drawback was the early checkout which was at 10 am.

overall was satisfied with the spacious room but keep in mind this is not a hotel, it is a service apartment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samuel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    140
    80
    30
    25
See reviews for
63
144
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had 4 nights there for the Eagles concert in December 2010 and had a great experience. So handy to everything, 10min walk to train station and Darling Harbour just across the road and around a bit and easy walking distance to Circular Key,the Opera House and the Rocks .
Apartment clean and had everything we needed.
Yes it did have some road noise, but only at commuter times when you were sitting outside on the balcony enjoying the view. When the door was shut, not enough to disturb.
Friendly staff, we came in on the early flight and they were happy to store our bags until our room was ready in the afternoon. Very helpful with info about free bus good restaurants etc nearby and cheerfully organised the cheap shuttle to get us to the airport for our night-time flight, and they stored our bags all day too after we checked out.
Late posting feedback, sorry it won't let me backtrack date to 2010 but it was December

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fleming_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Had a 2 night stay, Saturday & Sunday night. The self catering apartment was excellent, roomy, clean, did have a slight stuffy smell when u 1st walk in. Location is excellent, approx. 10 mins behind Wynyard Station, close to and easy walking distance to The Rocks, Circular Quay, Darling Harbour, Casino, Pitt, George Sts and all major shopping areas. The apartments included a kitchenette. Didn't find it too noisy, slept peacefully. The staff at the main desk were very professional and friendly & helpful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bob p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

These self contained apartments are clean and modern and everything their website says they are! Within easy walking distance of The Rocks, Circular Quay, Darling Harbour and Sydney CBD, and Wynyard Station is only 300m up the road. The apartments include a kitchenette with all the facilities you are likely to need, as well as wi fi access and cable TV. The bedroom is completely separate to the rest of the apartment and the bathroom is clean and spacious.

There is an on-site laundry, in room safe and undercover parking.

Best of all, they are extremely reasonably priced! Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher floors have terrific city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights as I was working in the building directly opposite and that was awesome as it was a very short walk to work. It was very close to the train station and I did a little bit of shopping in Pitt Street on Monday night as some of the shops were open til 7 and it was easy to walk to and from there and there were enough people around that I felt safe. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. I liked that there was a kitchenette as I was able to heat up some food I got from Coles as I was happy to stay in and watch television at night.

The first night I slept well as I was so tired from my early morning flight, however the second night I found it very difficult to sleep as the freeway to the Harbour bridge was directly above and I heard the traffic noise all night and i was woken at 5 the next morning when the early morning traffic started. When I checked out I asked whether there were any quieter rooms (I am in Sydney working again this week) and they suggested a one bedroom apartment as they are on the other side of the building. Nonetheless, my company has booked me into the Travelodge this week so sleep might be a bit better.

Room Tip: Maybe try the one bedroom units for a quieter room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RosEmmaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

If you are looking for a self catering apartment, then the Napoleon on Kent is a good option. Rooms are a good size and the location is excellent being very close to King St Wharf, the Rocks and Wynyard Station. A lot of the construction works at Barangaroo are impacting some pedestrian access, but not too badly. The rooms are a little dated and banged up, but quite large. Only downer for me was the TV wasn't tuned for all the full range of free-to-air channels. Small kitchenette is quite usable and the bedding was OK. Very good for the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhiteKnightDBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

These self accommodation apartments are minutes away from the train station and walking distance to the trendy bars and clubs . On the train line for Sydney harbour bridge which leads to everything. It literally is a great bedroom and bathroom with self catering facilities near everything u need. There is not a lot of luxury but if u are in Sydney for sight seeing I would totally recommend. Also has cheap laundry facilities for those like us who are travelling for longer periods of time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forgetmenotxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
The Rocks
The Mercantile Hotel
The Mercantile Hotel
#104 of 174 in Sydney
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#70 of 174 in Sydney
234 reviews
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napoleon on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napoleon on Kent

Property: Napoleon on Kent
Address: Napoleon on Kent Serviced Apar 219 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napoleon on Kent 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Napoleon on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon On Kent Sydney
Napoleon On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing