We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"NO BATTLE AT WATERLOO"!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Napoleon on Kent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Napoleon on Kent
Ranked #117 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“"NO BATTLE AT WATERLOO"!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I had an early AM appointment with my Neurosurgeon in George Street and seeing that my partner and I live 59.7klm and an alleged 55 minutes from Camden to Sydney we decided to book an apartment for one night so we did not have to do the mad dash (sorry, "crawl") into the City!

We forget what was happening in Sydney the day we booked Napoleon on Kent, but most major hotels were full or charging like a wounded bull for a standard motel style room and we only ever stay in apartments with separate rooms (I snore teehee)!

Anyway, we found this little motel, The Napoleon on Kent that advised us they did have an apartment available which we booked. On the day, my partner and I got there a little early prior to check-in but were told our room available. The young lady that checked us in was extremely friendly and professional. Our parking was authenticated and we left our luggage with reception and parked our vehicle in the “shared” garage!

The reception area was quite modern, however, when we got into our apartment this generalisation stopped! Not complaining, the room was spacious, with reasonably “fresh” furnishings which really do just need to be spruced up a little!

The overall cleanliness of the apartment could not be faulted, the bathroom passed my acute inspection, and our balcony was clean! Carpets we were told had just been cleaned and smelt very fresh.

Overall; We were both quite happy with the room, the staff were professional, helpful and friendly. The price was terrific, awesome location, and we had a glimpse of Darling Harbour which we did not expect! Yes we would stay there again if we had to!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rater1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    138
    79
    30
    25
See reviews for
63
143
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have stayed here twice now. Both in a studio & 1 bdrm apartment. We have had rooms both at the front under the freeway & looking back toward the pub. Very quiet considering the location. Walking distance to Darling Harbour, Circular Quay for the Opera House, The Rocks & Wynyard Station to get you everywhere else. They also have Coles for your self contained kitchen essentials. The pub behind Napoleon is fantastic for meals. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrisbaneCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here with two kids. Friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms with everything we needed for our two night stay. Great location as you can walk to Circular Quay, Pitt St Mall, etc, even with a four year old.
We stayed on level 1, facing Darling Harbour and it was nice and quiet at night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark_mb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in a studio apartment with an infant, the apartment was really spacious and very quiet. This apartment is in a great location so close to the rocks and darling harbour and just walking distance to wynyard

We will definitely stay again in the future

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Napoleon on Kent for 6 nights. We stayed on level one which is on busy kent street.

The location is great. It is close to Wynyard Station, Darling Harbour and the Rocks.

We found the apartment very spacious and it had everything we needed inside. The air conditioning in the room was awesome and we needed it as while we were there Sydney reached 43 degrees!

The staff were very friendly. Take note that the rooms aren't serviced unless you stay longer than a week. They let us have replacement towels though because we stayed for 6 nights.

The place does need a bit of a thorough clean and the road side is a bit dirty but the location and cheap price makes up for it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Picked this spot for the location in Sydney. Aside from being on a busy street (very loud), directly under the highway, the location was great. However, the hotel itself left a lot to be desired. Rooms (which are full 1-bedroom apartments) were run down and dirty. No housecleaning is including, including no dishwashing or trash service. Unexpected for the amount we paid for several nights at the hotel.

Again, great location if you're wanting to be near Darling Harbour, but bring your earplugs and your dish soap.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MileHighTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

My wife and I and our two adult children shared a one bedroom apartment and found it excellent value for Sydney. The location is good, with Coles supermarket only 5 minutes away at Wynyard and with Darling Harbour and Circular Quay both in walking distance. So is The Cut, an outstanding restaurant in Argyle Street, which we have been to on three different visits to Sydney.
Our third floor apartment was roomy and quiet and clean. There is no ducted airconditioning, but the room airconditioner in the living area was adequate for both rooms, even though it was Summer. There was only one small towel rail and nowhere to put toiletries in the bathroom, but the apartment was otherwise well equipped.
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We did not have contact with any other staff, because rooms are serviced only weekly and we did not need any maintenance work done.

Room Tip: Avoid an apartment on a lower floor facing Kent Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
The Rocks
The Mercantile Hotel
The Mercantile Hotel
#108 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#75 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napoleon on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napoleon on Kent

Property: Napoleon on Kent
Address: Napoleon on Kent Serviced Apar 219 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napoleon on Kent 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Napoleon on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon On Kent Sydney
Napoleon On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing