We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour
Ranked #97 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
anywhere
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“great location”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Absolutely perfect location for our family stay in Sydney - we could walk to darling Harbour, The Powerhouse Museum, The Rocks. Pleasantly supprised and very happy!) to have a washing machine and dryer in the bathroom. Most convenient!!! Loved the "2 story" layout and the massive window - we so enjoyed the fireworks sat night. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. The stairs to gain entry to the building were not an issue for us (but then our 9 and 11 y olds could lug their own bags). Biggest downside was the "double" sofa bed that was for the kids to share - awfully uncomfortable and saggy for one child and totally unsuitable for two. Didn't worry us because we used the couch cushions and ample blankets to make a floor bed the for oldest and she loved it. We did hear traffic noise even though we were on 6th floor, but we walked so much each day that we all managed to sleep through it. I thought the price was steep - but that is compared to other towns we've stayed in, it was cheap for Sydney prices. All in all, we were pretty happy with our first family stay in Sydney (it pretty much rained or drizzled the whole time but we just adjusted our plans and went to things like the Maritime Museum (AWESOME!) instead of a day on the Harbour).

Room Tip: Ask for a top level (e.g. 6) to be above the traffic noise and have a good view of the fireworks. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kelly648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you Kelly648, for taking the time to review our apartments.
I am very pleased to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Metro Darling Harbour.
Our well appointed rooms have all the conveniences of home with a fully equipped kitchen, newly renovated bathrooms and laundry facilities.
I apologize for the uncomfortable sofa mattress, we are in the process of replacing all old mattresses at the moment.
A am also glad to see that you enjoyed the excellent location that we offer, within walking distance to all the major attractions.
Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    193
    109
    42
    43
See reviews for
213
125
19
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Ok apartments in a good central location in Sydney CBD. Apartments are reasonably sized, albeit in need of a bit of refurbishment. You get what you pay for though and this is competitively priced for Sydney.

Staff were great, gave us an early check in when the apartments were almost full, and also made sure we had a high chair and cot for our toddler.

Would recommend if you are looking for a good no frills base in Sydney CBD.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Redeyedboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Redeyedboy, thank you for taking the time to review our apartments.
I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay at our centrally located apartments.
Our friendly and helpful staff aim to make your stay at our well appointed Apartments as pleasant as possible.
You will be please to know that as of July 1st, all of our bathrooms have been renovated, take a look at the new photos provided.
Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tournai, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Room upgraded recently. Nice view, close from the city center , Really close from Darling Harbor. The people working tehre are really nice. The only problem is that it was too Noisy for me. It is close of the highway exit getting into Downtown Sydney. So a lot of traffic and then a lot of noise. We were at the 3rd floor. It is may be less Noisy higher to the top.

Room Tip: Higher floor should be less Noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Frédéric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hi Frédéric J. Thank you for taking the time to review our apartments.
I'm glad to see that you enjoyed your stay, our pleasant staff are always on hand to help with any guests needs.
Our central location is great, but unfortunately does incur some road noise. This can be avoided buy booking one of our Executive Apartments on levels 4-7.
Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I travel a lot. Often when I need to stay in one place for more than a few nights I look to find an apartment or executive temp housing. Some are better than others. This one was great. Spacious flats with lots of light and windows. Good location. Wonderful staff. Next time I'm in Sydney, I'll stay here again. The only negative is their lobby and location to the street. There isn't any place for a car to pull in to drop off baggage. And the stairs at the front are a bit tricky if you have a lot of luggage. Wouldn't prevent me from doing it again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Swededdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hi Swededdy, Thanks for taking the time to review our apartments.
I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Our spacious, well-appointed rooms, friendly staff and great location make the Metro a great place to stay.
Due to our central location, unloading luggage can be an issue but our staff is always willing to help carry your luggage up the stairs.
Thank you again and we hope to see you next time you are in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2014

More than enough space for a single traveller. Well equipped kitchen, washing machine. I liked the balcony with good view and posilbility to spend time with glass of wine and sigarette
not very well working wifi - the best place to catch it was in the balcony.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ivakoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hi Ivakon
Thanks for taking the time to review our apartments.
I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Our well-equipped rooms and spectacular views are a real plus.
Thank you again and we hope to see you next time you are in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

1:) The best thing about the hotel is very close to some major tourist attarctions.
2:) There are some good resturants in Darling Harbour area so you can enjoy the quality food.
3:) The rooms needed to be upgrade because its looks liitle old.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank hjawaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you, hjawaid, for taking the time to review our apartments.

It is true that we are very well located, within walking distance to all major attractions and restaurants. You will be please to know that as of the end of June, all bathrooms will be renovated.

Again, thanks for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauchope, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Terrific views over Darling Harbour & balcony was ideal for watching the Saturday night fireworks. Location is ideal as it's close to all the CBD shopping, theatres & restaurants. Darling Harbour is a short stroll over the bridge. Kitchen is well supplied & spacious & room has a nice open feel to it with the huge windows. We had a top floor apartment so heard no street noise at all. We would definitely use these apts again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Karen A, Thank you for taking the time to review our apartments.
I'm glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us in room 702 on the top floor.

With our great location, centrally located to the CBD and Darling Harbour, we truly have a spectacular view. It's great to see you got to watch the Saturday night fireworks, this happens every Saturday night and our apartments are a great place to view them from.
It's good to see that you made use of our fully equipped kitchen, which is just one of the conveniences that make the apartments a home away from home.
Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
Central Business District
Mantra on Kent
Mantra on Kent
#71 of 179 in Sydney
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
APX Apartments Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour

Property: Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour
Address: Darling Harbour 132-136 Sussex St | Corner of King and Sussex Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Darling Harbour views from your balcony. Whether on business or leisure you will enjoy the benefits of staying in a loft style apartment right in the heart of Sydney's CBD. Easy walking distance to Sydney's Convention & Exhibition Centre and many of Sydney's shopping precincts, theatre and entertainment venues. The loft style apartments are fully serviced with plenty of room to relax and enjoy your stay. The bedroom and bathroom is located on the mezzanine level and the fully equipped kitchen and lounge with balcony downstairs. Complimentary WIFI in all apartments. The Executive loft style apartment offers the same features and cathedral style windows from floor to ceiling overlooking Darling Harbour. Nearby Darling Harbour attractions are the Chinese Garden of Friendship, Sydney Aquarium, IMAX, Australian National Maritime Museum, harbour cruise departures, Tumbalong Park for concerts and events and Sydney Entertainment Centre. This is a smoke free apartment hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing