We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour
Ranked #100 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We (2 adults & 2 ch) stayed in the executive appartments at the Metro for a week & it was just brilliant! Appartment was spacious and clean - facilities were excellent - even had own washing machine & dryer! Views of Darling Harbour from the 6th floor were spectacular!
All in all our family would recommend the Metro Appartments as a really great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIR_00, General Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thanks Pat, for taking the time to review our apartments.

I’m glad to see that your family enjoyed their stay. Our well-appointed rooms have everything needed to make your stay comfortable.

Due to our great locations, the views form the Executive apartments (levels 4-7) are excellent.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you and your family back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    180
    101
    40
    43
See reviews for
189
123
18
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I booked an apartment here through wotif.com. I chose this option as it offered a reasonable price for what was offered in a fantastic location.
I was very happy with what I received for what I paid. I had a great view of Darling Harbour from my balcony and everything else I needed was contained within the apartment including a washing machine and dryer.
The only negative comment I may have was that parking is a bit of an issue, but that is to be expected in the Sydney CBD.
Overall, I would happily recommend this place to fellow travellers, particularly if you're able to find an online discounted price.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIR_00, General Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hi Dan,
Thanks for taking the time to review our apartments.
I’m pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Our well-equipped rooms and spectacular views are a real plus when you also consider our great location,the FREE upgrade special we have is really worth it.
With regards to the parking we have tried to make it as easy as we can for our guests, due to the great location of the apartments we have struck up a special deal of $30 for 24 hours which is only 80 meters from the apartments. all the details of the parking are on our website or you can call to get all the information.
Thank you again and we hope to see you next time you are in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here on the 10th- 14th of February 2014. The best things this place has going in it's favour is the front desk staff,(Kyle) was very happy and helpful, just the type of person you want to be greeted by when you have just got off a flight and are quite tired. he made things very easy as we had arrived at 8am and our room was ready and waiting for us. Which was a God-send as we needed to refresh! The location is Fantastic, smack bang in-between the city of Sydney and Darling Harbour. Great for walking everywhere. There is also a Ferry terminal a minute walk away. The Sydney Aquarium, Madame Tussauds and Wild Life Sydney are on the door step too! The worst things about the place is the age of the building and the state of the furniture (quite stained). Our room was old! The balcony was brilliant for the view but not so nice to sit on. The bathroom had everything you needed, shower/bath, toilet, sink and cupboards but it was badly in need of a refurbishment. It was great having the washing machine and dryer, being able to wash things is very important! The kitchen was well equipped. Over-all the place is a bit old and tired, could really do with some Love and Care but it was in the perfect location and the service was good! The bed was also very comfortable too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIR_00, General Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hi Gary,
Thanks for taking the time to review our apartments.
I’m glad to see you enjoyed your stay here at the Metro Apartments. We pride ourselves on our great central location and friendly staff.
We are having all bathrooms refurbished in the coming months and so I hope you can see the changes for yourself on your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Four girl friends booked Metro on Darling for the weekend. We were attending a harbour cruise leaving from King Street wharf which is only 5 min walk away. It is so close to all the attractions of Darling Harbour and many night clubs so not too bad on the heels.
The apartment itself was quite clean on the inside though the building is a little run down. The mezzanine set up allows for so much more space with the kitchen and family area with sofa bed downstairs and the queen bed and bathroom/ laundry upstairs.
Would be a great base for more than a few days holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CathyV52014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi Cathy,
Thanks for taking the time to review our apartments. I’m glad you and your girlfriends enjoyed your stay. Our great location does make it easy on the feet when having a night out and our mezzanine level does provide a good amount of space.
Thank you again and we hope to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Great location. Good view od darling habour. Steep steps to enter, could be difficult with heavy suitcase, no lift available. Ordered extra bed, was so uncomfortable ended up not using it. Bigger than hotel room but not a big apartment.

Room Tip: Get one facing darling harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patty2shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you Patty, for reviewing out apartments. It’s nice to see you appreciated the location and the darling Harbour views. Since you stayed with us we have replaced all rollaway beds so they are much more comfortable. Thank you again and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The Metro Apartments on Darling, are in a great position if you dont want to drive around. We chose this accomodation as we were a family of 4 travelling on a budget. To get accomodation for 4 for $200 per night was the right price. However a few things which we were not aware of made this hotel one we would not choose to stay at again.
Arrival in a rent a car - no good, no front parking, one of us had to stay in the car in a lane way to find out where we could park the car and get our luggage out. Option one, stand in the busy street and get luggage out or park over 2 blocks away and walk luggage back. Next problem, getting our luggage up to reception! A flight of 15 or more stairs we had to climb, the reception helped but when you have 3 suitcases - what a workout! Get to the room great view, loft room and the bathroom is upstairs with main bedroom, trying to get a suitcase up the stairs is near impossible. A very small room and the kids had to share a double sofa bed, which was ok for just a night, but the room really only fits 2 !!! The rooms were clean and tidy , but very hot as they had floor to wall windows for the view. Maybe next time when i am fitter and there is only 2 of us we might come back.

Room Tip: We had been appointed a room with Darling Harbour views, that would be the only drawcard for this ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
I do apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay.
With regards to the parking, due to our great central location and being and apartments we do not have a loading zone out the front of the apartments, my staff suggest that you park in the back lane behind the apartments to load or unload the luggage, this is not normally allowed but if it’s for a short time it is possible, We have an arrangement for discount parking which is less than half a block from the hotel, its situated at 170 Sussex St Wilsons Parking and is $30 for a 24 period. There are 12 steep steps leading into the building and as I have mentioned here and on all websites and over the phone, I am unable to change the structure of the building like the parking, But myself and ALL my staff are more than happy to help with the luggage of each guest arriving or leaving the apartments. I find your comment that the room is very small unusual, as it is 32-35m2 depending on the apartment, we receive lots of comments it is a large loft apartment.
All the sofa have been replaced since your stay and we have continued with the Double size 2.5 seat sofa beds with 4” mattresses and find that we have many families that find the very comfortable. Also thank you for mentioning the floor to ceiling two story Cathedral windows, it really opens up the apartments and shows the occupant the great view of Darling Harbour and the fantastic location the apartment is in, I have had all air conditioner’s checked in the monthly check and all are heating and cooling correctly. I do hope that in your next stay you will be able to enjoy our great apartments and location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The best thing about metro apartment on darling harbour is its location and the price of this place. It is very central to everything. The apartment has everything one needs and is extremely clean and well maintained. Reception and cleaning staff were superb, friendly and helpful without being intrusive. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank monistorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi monistorz,
Thanks for taking the time to review our apartments. We pride ourselves on our excellent location and well-appointed rooms. And the owners and Metro Hotels are constantly making improvements .
Our friendly staff truly are an asset to the apartments, I am very very proud of them.
Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
Central Business District
Mantra on Kent
Mantra on Kent
#72 of 177 in Sydney
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#69 of 177 in Sydney
627 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour

Property: Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour
Address: Darling Harbour 132-136 Sussex St | Corner of King and Sussex Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Darling Harbour views from your balcony. Whether on business or leisure you will enjoy the benefits of staying in a loft style apartment right in the heart of Sydney's CBD. Easy walking distance to Sydney's Convention & Exhibition Centre and many of Sydney's shopping precincts, theatre and entertainment venues. The loft style apartments are fully serviced with plenty of room to relax and enjoy your stay. The bedroom and bathroom is located on the mezzanine level and the fully equipped kitchen and lounge with balcony downstairs. Complimentary WIFI in all apartments. The Executive loft style apartment offers the same features and cathedral style windows from floor to ceiling overlooking Darling Harbour. Nearby Darling Harbour attractions are the Chinese Garden of Friendship, Sydney Aquarium, IMAX, Australian National Maritime Museum, harbour cruise departures, Tumbalong Park for concerts and events and Sydney Entertainment Centre. This is a smoke free apartment hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing