We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour
Ranked #106 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here for a week, part business part pleasure, great location to the main areas of the city, great views from the balcony, staff where very friendly, would of liked a swimming pool in the building

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the property.
Also thank you for mentioning the great staff at the property, we always try to do that little extra for all our guests.
With regards to the pool, we have a roof top pool at our Metro Apartments on King St, which our guests can use.
When staying at the Metro Apartments on Darling Harbour we now have an affiliation with a city gym which has a steam room and pool. please ask at reception with regards to this.

Hope to see you very soon so you can experience the steam room and pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    147
    80
    37
    36
See reviews for
145
101
15
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Partner and I stayed and met up with friends in from Canada - all stayed! Apartment is great with fabulous views and so close to darling harbour and Capitol theatre and casino all of which we made use of! Also great restaurants at kings wharf! Close to wynard station! Really ideal location to see the best of Sydney cbd!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BindyJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for the time you took to review our property.
Hope that you can visit very soon, to see the improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is not only the best place to be with its location but the rooms are well presented with modern equipment and a spacious feel to them with the split level set up. The staff were really helpful and a great experience with so many things surrounding this hotel with Darling harbour a mere 2 minute walk with loads of restaurants and great food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for all you have mentioned, it is so true everything is here that you need.
And if it isn't myself and my staff with try everything to improve that for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I were excited to book into hotel to celebrate my BDay and thought that we could see Darling Harbour.
I gave point ONLY for LOCATION and VIEW toward Darling Harbor. We ate at Tony Roma' across my apartment.
Recommendation :
- Stairs. And not only stairs, but STEEP stairs in the corner of hilly King and Sussex street, thus if you trip; you will run straight into traffic. But the reception does help you if you need
- Need serious refurbishment, furnitures and blinds look old. The room smells something funny
- We asked baby cot, they put portable baby cot without setting it up. We travel to lots of hotel/apartments interstates, this is the first place didn't set it up for us
- We come with 2 children and 1 baby thus asking for extra 1 hour for check out, given we checked in around 4PM, but NO; they won't make exception. The receptionist, whose name Stephen, was very unfriendly and lack of empathy. I know as I work at customer service industry. I'll give 0 for his customer service. Reading other reviews, he may be even the manager which is even worse.
- Manhattan loft style hotel with large gap between fence, very unsafe for young children. They can fall easily

Despite its proximity to Darling Harbor, we will NEVER EVER stay at this hotel. There are better hotels around Darling Harbor that will give you better service. I rather spend extra bucks but having painful / poor customer service

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your review on the property. Since you have stayed we have made many changes and improvements. With regards to the not family friendly, this is dependent on the age of the children but in all our advertising we do suggest that families with small children they stay at the Metro Apartments on King St . As these apartments are on one level.
Hope you see you soon so you can experience the King St Experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

As a budget serviced apartment in a great central location this offers good value. Sydney CBD is a short walk away, with the attractions of Darling Harbour also within easy walking distance in the opposite direction. Staff were friendly and efficient. I stayed in an executive room on a higher floor and had a reasonable view over the Pyrmont Bridge and Maritime Museum section of Darling Harbour. Decor and furnishings were generally somewhat dated and in need of TLC, but serviceable. The room was strangely shaped but entirely adequate, with an interesting small mezzanine floor on which the bedroom and bathroom were situated. Kitchenette was tiny and definitely dated, but at this budget end of the market it was OK - just. Overall not very spacious, but fine for a single or couple. Lighting a bit on the dim side and no real workspace. The bedroom area didn't have a TV. No restaurant or bar, but no need, as the immediate area offers a large number of eateries, pubs, bars and convenience stores.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzCru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Yes we have a great location and are great value for what you get in a Fully Serviced 3.5 Star Apartment. Now with new Kitchens so you can cook your own meals.
Thank you for taking the time to review the apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Metro Apartments on Darling Harbour in one of the loft rooms.
The hotel looks dated on the outstide however inside is fine. The beds were comfortable and the staff were extra helpful. Even though it is located on one of the main streets in Sydney, as soon as you have the balcony door shut - all the noise disappears.

We stayed for 4 nights and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller12391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I believe that is correct as soon as the door is closed the noise of the city stops.
Yet due to the location you can see all the goings on in the city.
Its a great place for a weekend away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Make no mistake, this is a budget pick. I took in trip advisor reviews & asked for a 'higher floor' room and that worked well for us. It was perfect for a trip to Sydney with a friend. Not sure I'd stay here with kids as it's not really an ideal set up for anyone to be asleep while others in the apartment are watching TV, talking, laughing etc. Heater was located upstairs (reverse cycle unit) and whilst upstairs was tropical, downstairs was cold. Access to King St Wharf was fantastic and very easy to explore Sydney from this location. Overall you get what you pay for but no complaints from me and staff were friendly which is always nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv2Travel470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Mantra on Kent
Mantra on Kent
#62 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Seasons Harbour Plaza
Seasons Harbour Plaza
#125 of 179 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour

Property: Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour
Address: Darling Harbour 132-136 Sussex St | Corner of King and Sussex Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Darling Harbour views from your balcony. Whether on business or leisure you will enjoy the benefits of staying in a loft style apartment right in the heart of Sydney's CBD. Easy walking distance to Sydney's Convention & Exhibition Centre and many of Sydney's shopping precincts, theatre and entertainment venues. The loft style apartments are fully serviced with plenty of room to relax and enjoy your stay. The bedroom and bathroom is located on the mezzanine level and the fully equipped kitchen and lounge with balcony downstairs. Complimentary WIFI in all apartments. The Executive loft style apartment offers the same features and cathedral style windows from floor to ceiling overlooking Darling Harbour. Nearby Darling Harbour attractions are the Chinese Garden of Friendship, Sydney Aquarium, IMAX, Australian National Maritime Museum, harbour cruise departures, Tumbalong Park for concerts and events and Sydney Entertainment Centre. This is a smoke free apartment hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing