We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overprice Rubbish and Highly Misleading Web Site”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour
Ranked #101 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed August 13, 2012

On the booking website, the blurb clearly states that the full price of the apartment booking is taken at the time of booking.
However, when I arrived for my stay (some 3 months later) I was asked to pay the full; amount.

The web site says "free WIFI".
Whilst WIFI is available, you have to pay for vouchers that give you a timed access.

The web site is therefore highly misleading.

Further to this, the carpets in the corridors are thread bare and smell.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank willmeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the property and bringing the payment issue to my attention. I have spoken to my staff and it was an oversight for not charging your credit card on reservation. Though I have checked and found that you were not charged twice, if this is not correct please contact me immediately.
With the Wifi at not stage have we EVER charged for WiFi at these apartments. The WiFi is available to all guests and vouchers are provided with a 180 minutes limit on them. There is no limit to the number of Free vouchers that are given to guests, as many guests have several devices, therefore several vouchers are given, and if the time limit runs out new vouchers are provided for free.
With regards to the carpets I have brought this to the attention of the Strata of the building and there will be making repairs to this as soon as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 540 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

We booked this hotel based on its location and its very attractive representation on its web site. That site completely misrepresents the accommodation.
1. Approximately 15-20 steps to access the building with no ramp, escalator or elevator. If your luggage is heavy, you'd better be strong.
2. In serious need of refurbishment:
a. Threadbare carpet in small, noisy elevator
b. Stains on furniture
c. Exposed plumbing in bathroom
d. Bathroom counter detached from wall
e. Enamel peeling from bathtub
f. Living room drapes partially separated from supporting hooks
g. Noisy, in-the-wall heating/AC unit with broken louvres

We stayed one night ONLY because the hotel we went to (Medina Grand Harbourside) had no rooms available for that night. We were OUT OF THERE the next day. Other than the space, I'd characterize this accommodation as what one might expect in a cheap roadside motel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Thank you for reviewing the property. On both the Metro Apartments Darling Habour and Metro Apartments on Kings St Web site we advise that there are 12 steep steps leading into the building, and myself and all the staff are more than happy to assist with luggage.
I do feel that the points you have made suggest that you have misrepresented Metro Apartments Darling Harbour, I believe you have stayed at our Metro Apartments on King st which is our more inexpensive apartments.
I do appreciate the feedback and have urgently actioned your points. I do apologize for any inconvenienced caused during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed here on a recent family holiday. The location is fantastic being only minutes away from Darling Harbour & its attractions (Imax, Shopping Mall, Aquarium, Ferries), the City & Chinatown. On the Friday night there was a fair amount of noise from the nightclub across the road and associated yahooing (drunks fighting, girls yelling, car horns & sirens blasting). Most of the other nights weren't too bad noise wise. We only had two towels on arrival for four people so having to chase that up was a minor inconvenience.

The Japanese place two doors down was excellent, we ate there or 3 occasions, and the ribs place across the road was good too.

The place itself isn't that flash but I'm sure with an update will be a great spot to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly_Sunshine_Coast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
As you mentioned our “proximity” to many of the major attractions in Sydney is so close.
We have addressed the issue with housekeeping with regards to the towels, though I do appreciate the feedback.
Considerable work has been done by the owners and much work is planned to be done on the apartments in the near future. I do hope that your next stay with us will be soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend with my wife while over for a shopping weekend. The room, whilst dated, was tidy, comfortable and well serviced.

The only issue we had was that being on the first floor, it was bloody noisy. These are 2 level apartments, which have huge glass doors and windows which offer superb views, but being single glazed, you can hear every noise outside. The pub over the road is obviously very popular, and when it closes all hell breaks loose. Whilst some of the conversations from the pissed patrons certainly kept us amused, it alos kept us awake till around 3;30am.

I wouyld stay here again, but it wouldn't be over a weekend

Room Tip: the higher the better I am sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for staying at our Apartments. I do appreciate your comments and I am glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. We offer the first floor apartment as a cost affective way of staying so close to the majority of Sydney’s major attractions. We also have Executive Apartments which are on higher floors, which when you next stay with us may be a more desirable alternative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

No hot water in room,,they said wait,,we waited,waited,changed rooms,,no hot water in new room,once again we waited,waited,air con only blew cold warming air,,had to get our 15 month settled,no one helped us with bags on arrival,changing rooms was a hassle no help what so ever,an absolute disgraceful service to pay $249 for the night,I rang around to get a near by hotel,just wanted to check out,,the receptionist summed the hotel up on checking out the next morning,when I complained,,he just DID Not CARE.I would not even bother writing a letter of complaint to management ,your hotel service is unprofessional,unacceptable,I only hope overseas people to not witness this appalling Hotel

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pnasari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our Apartments, I was very shocked to read your review. I do apologize for any inconvience that you encountered during your stay with us.
I have spoken to each of my staff and they have indicated to me that when the initial issue of the hot water not working was advised to them, they upgraded you to one our Top Floor Executive Apartment, they also informed me that they reversed the charge for the extra person and the fold bed. I have checked all hot water systems and air conditioners and found them to be in working order now. I do believe that myself and my team are very professional and are happy to help ALL of our guests in the Apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed in this hotel for couple of days over Christmas holiday, the room was great so we had to stay longer. The location wise, it is right on the Darling Harbour. It is only 5 minute walk from the Sydney Aquarium and the Monorail.

Our car had to be parked at a parking lot about 200m down the street ourselves, the hotel validated the parking ticket when we checked out. It was a bit tricky to find the parking building but we managed after calling the front desk. We didn't use our car during our stay since every major attractions are at walking distance or can be reached using the Monorail.

The room was 2 storeys with mezzanine. The main queensize bed was upstairs, a double sofa bed was downstairs. There was a plenty of room for luggage and we had our own kitchen since it's an apartment. The washing machine and dryer were in our bathroom and they were very noisy when they ran. I hope we didn't annoy our neighbours while using those at night. Foodwise, I don't recommend getting any take-away from the hotel menu since they are very expensive for poor quality food delivered to the hotel (not your room). So, I recommend you dine out - walk few blocks, you'll reach few restaurants, or even McDonalds.

Overall, it was comfortable, clean and convenient for Darling Harbour site seeing. The view of the Darling Harbour was excellent, especially at night when everything is lit.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aoh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for your review of our Apartments. As you mentioned we have a deal with a public parking station Secure Car Parking at 170 Sussex St Sydney and after we have validated the parking ticket its $30 for 24 hours. The Apartments are very well located and fully self contained, and so close to all the main attractions and restaurants. You can see our receptionist for attraction, tours and restaurant guide. Hope to see you back at the apartments very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We were greeted to a bad odour when we first entered the room that didnt go away. The room itself was more a 2 star level. The only good thing was the view- views were outstanding of Darling Harbour.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIR_00, Manager at Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I do apologize for any inconvience that was caused during your stay. I have checked with housekeeping with regards to the smell and we can’t understand what odour you have mentioned. I have personally entered each room with housekeeping and have not found any odour in any room. AAA inspected the rooms in May 2012 and rated the property a high 3.5 star. Thank you for mentioning the great views, with our Executive apartments they are all guaranteed a great view of Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Seasons Harbour Plaza
Seasons Harbour Plaza
#131 of 179 in Sydney
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour

Address: Darling Harbour 132-136 Sussex St | Corner of King and Sussex Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $126 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Darling Harbour views from your balcony. Whether on business or leisure you will enjoy the benefits of staying in a loft style apartment right in the heart of Sydney's CBD. Easy walking distance to Sydney's Convention & Exhibition Centre and many of Sydney's shopping precincts, theatre and entertainment venues. The loft style apartments are fully serviced with plenty of room to relax and enjoy your stay. The bedroom and bathroom is located on the mezzanine level and the fully equipped kitchen and lounge with balcony downstairs. Complimentary WIFI in all apartments. The Executive loft style apartment offers the same features and cathedral style windows from floor to ceiling overlooking Darling Harbour. Nearby Darling Harbour attractions are the Chinese Garden of Friendship, Sydney Aquarium, IMAX, Australian National Maritime Museum, harbour cruise departures, Tumbalong Park for concerts and events and Sydney Entertainment Centre. This is a smoke free apartment hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing