We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but inconsistent.”
Review of Mercure Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Sydney
Ranked #66 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed July 7, 2009

I have just returned from two nights at the Mercure in George St, Sydney. I found the place was great, but some of the service was inconsistent.

First, I booked via a travel site and got an excellent deal that included car parking and breakfast. Make sure that your deal includes these if you need them. The cost of breakfast and parking would have added 50% to the cost of the stay if they had been paid separately. This says more for the deal than the cost of the rooms.

Parking was good, with decent sized parking spaces. And access is good to the rest of the hotel. Too good maybe, with no card needed to get from the parking garage to the levels that the rooms are on. You will always need to use stairs if you use the carpark so this is a warning. The lift quite reasonably is shared between two floors. When you get your parking ticket take it to reception and they will validate for unlimited entry.

Checkin was simple, but they advised that they were going to actually charge my Visa Debit card for $50 and then would pay it back if needed; and that this would take up to two weeks. I decided to pay $50 in cash as a deposit for incidentals.

The rooms are nice if a bit pokey. This is normal really for inner-city hotels. The bathroom was well sized, but they did not seem to provide a bathmat. Or if they did it was the size of a hand towel.On the second night we were left with one clean towel and one used towel for some unknown reason. We had left both in the bath to be swapped, but one was places onto the rail to dry.

The A/C unit is interesting. You set the temperature and fan speed, but not the mode. Many people think you need to press the button to change between heat and cold. But it only looks like a button. Red means heating, green means cooling, and off means you are about the temperature you want. The only thing is that the temperature is not right. 26C is the top and there was no way that the room was that hot. But since the calibration was out it would not warm the room any higher.

We did have a real issue with the room. There were only two pillows, but there was a 'Pillow Menu'. The brochure advised us to ring 7 and order any other pillows and gave four choices. I rang up and asked for two more rubber pillows. I was advised at about 3pm that they thought that they were out of them, and asked for them or contoured pillows if possible. No problem, they would be sent up. Nothing happened for many hours, so I rang up again. No problem, sorry for that Sir. I will get someone onto that. Never arrived. Needed to ring at 10:30pm at night and say that my girlfriend was in pain with a sore leg and needed the pillow to get two sent up, and even then it took 20 minutes. Less than impressed!

The menu was interesting - and I remember what Gordon Ramsey said about menus. If you have to explain the menu to your guests then there is something wrong. Our waiter started by saying that he would explain the menu. And it needed explaining. Basically small size is three of the listed item, and large is six. The idea with large is that you can share. This was not bad, and I should say that the salad was a larger size than I expected. My girlfriend has allergies and because she only had the meat she was given a large size of the meat for the price of the small.

The second night things were more disorganized. We were told that there would be a 30-45 minute wait for a seat. This was just after 7:15, and were were told they would ring us when the table was ready. We gave up 90 minutes later and were told great timing and were told that he was about to ring us. We were shown to our table. The thing is that my Girlfriend knew the woman who had been sitting at that table earlier and she had left a while before. They had forgotten about us - why else would the guy have then asked what our room number was when he had it written down on his sheet!

They forgot to take drinks orders, but did give us water. My girlfriend ordered a steak cooked in a pan without oil. Her allergies are bad and char grill can be an issue contaminating her food. When her food came out, it was char grilled. We were reassured that it was safe, but we were nervous. We were seated next to a balcony which was fine, but at the bottom was the main door to the hotel for anyone not coming by taxi. So all during dinner the door was opening letting the cold winter air in. Not nice.

Noise can be an issue in the rooms. More glazing is needed as the hotel is next to a major bus interchange. There is activity throughout the day and night. Higher floors probably have better noise characteristics.

One of the nice features with this hotel is that each two floors are paired with a shared space making a balcony. This creates space making the hotel different from most. Great idea.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrylFromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,673 - 4,679 of 5,074 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2009

My partner and I have stayed here twice, once in 2007 and once in 2009. We found both of our stays to be very pleasant. During our most recent visit, we arrived from the airport in the morning and upon checking in, the very friendly receptionist told us that our room was not yet ready but that she would call me as soon as it was. So we walked into the CBD and had a coffee and received a call within 30 minutes to let us know that we could check in to our room early. The room was quite large and nicely fitted out. It was a bit of a hike into the heart of the CBD but the hotel's proximity to central station is very convenient. The breakfast was delicious with a great variety of foods and great tea and coffee. However, we did stop by the restaurant one evening for coffee and dessert and while the coffee was quite good, the berry crumble was simply awful and very overpriced! A fab hotel, overall!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarzamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Brand, Director of Sales and Marketing at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2009

Dear Sir,
Thank you for staying at Mercure Sydney during your recent visit to Sydney.
We appreciate your feedback, which was generally very positive, but we are terribly sorry that you did not appreciate the dessert. Should you visit Sydney in near future again, please feel free to contact me on H2073-SL01@accor.com and I am more than happy to invite you to 2 desserts of your choice. Thank you and we hope to see you soon again. With warm regards, Thomas Brand, Mercure Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

It is a comfortabel and clean hotel with reasonable-sized room and average deco. The staff were friendly and helpful when we requested a change of room. I don't think highly of the location of the hotel because it is by a very busy junction, so some rooms can be noisy (that's why we had to change our room). However it is handy to Chinatown and public transport (bus stops just outside the hotel and the Central Station is very close). For the price we paid (AUD 79 per room per night), it is good value for money. Overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustMe54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

We were 2 adults (parents) and 3 grown and growing children, and we stayed for 4 nights in a triple and a double room. Both rooms were well furnished and presented. The triple had 3 'real' beds in it, and was said to be 'comfortable'. We had a double suite, which was very pleasant, large and spacious. The bathrooms were well equipped. The breakfast was served on the second floor, and was ok, but because this is a very busy hotel, there was a fair bit of queuing to get a table. The 2nd floor also had a bar adjacent to the restaurant. Wifi was available at a price as was an Internet cable connection in the rooms.

If you find the hotel breakfast too expensive, there is a cafe in the bus area outside, which was very good, and a fraction of the hotel breakfast price.

We were participating in a Conference held in the hotel. The facilities were very good,

Overall we felt positively about this hotel. It is reasonably close to things in Sydney, but the location (at the end of George Street) is not the most salubrious of areas.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mteq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Brand, Director of Sales and Marketing at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2009

Dear Sir,
Good to hear your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you had to wait at breakfast. We are currently in the proccess of increasing our breakfast area, which should be completed by July. Once the enhancement is complete there should be no more waiting, which sometimes occurs, particularly on Sunday morning, when lots of guests arrive around the same time. Many guest compliment our location, which is right next to Central Railway. Admittedly it might not be the most elegant area, but it is very safe, with lots of reasonable and good restaurants closeby and you can walk to almost every point of interest. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again on your next rip to Sydney. Wit warm regards, Thomas Brand, Mercure Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2009

I planned a short vacation with my sister in jan 2008. I was lucky enough to find a great deal of AUD 79 per night through the accor group wesite. considering the price and the location, the hotel was totally worth it. We had a city view room. There is a roof top pool which is mostly empty :-) worked mwell to our advantage. This time of the year is off peak season hence you are bound to get some great rates. Central station is like 2 minutes away. The station connects to all the suburbs very well. Hotel rooms were small but very comfortable beds. neat and clean but small bathrooms. You can walk up to darling harbour which would take you around 10-15 minutes. this is right on george street so ample shoppping once you walk towards town hall station :-)

Totally reccomend it for travellers of all age.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Shilpjeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas_Brand, Director of Sales and Marketing at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2009

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review. As you mention our comfortable beds I thought it is wothwhile to say that we replaced all our beds only 6 months ago. Thank you again and we hope to see you next time when you are in Sydney. With warm regards, Thomas Brand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Easy to find, hotel is almost connected to the underpass to Central Station, which makes traveling from and to the airport a breeze. Most check-in staff were a bit stiff except an intern, name was Adam I think. Bell staff were friendly.

Had a quiet room overlooking the building at the back of the hotel, which was good as other rooms faces George Street would probably be noisy due to the traffic.

Shower gel was not refilled on the day of my arrival but was refilled the next day. Excellent work by the Housekeeping team as cleanliness was immaculate, and the bed was most comfortable. There are vending machines on the floor which was a great idea.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank live&dive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Stayed in Mercure btw May 12- 15 on an av. room rate of AU $139 (with breakfast). Though the hotel is not located at a central location, however it's easy to get by. With the bus interchange right next to the hotel and train station (central) not too far away. Nearby attraction includes Chinatown, Paddy's Market (5 mins walk) great for souvenirs & even darling harbour is about 15 mins by foot.

Service at the front desk & concerige is good. Really helpful, making our trip fuss-free. In particular Alex from the concerige has been a great help in assisting with trip booking along with his colleague from the evening shift.

Regretably, service staff at Caboose restaurant pale in comparison though.

Stayed at the standard room which is just right for 2 person, with large flat-screen TV & a good choice of pillow menu. Though the toilet looks dated, its generally clean.

Overall, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clumsyhumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#63 of 186 in Sydney
1,399 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#22 of 186 in Sydney
6,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#39 of 186 in Sydney
4,584 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#33 of 186 in Sydney
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Sydney
#38 Business Hotel in Sydney
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#59 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $149 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing