We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercure central sydney”
Review of Mercure Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Sydney
Ranked #62 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Write a Review

4,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,393
    2,273
    862
    189
    115
See reviews for
1,292
1,502
548
990
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great location in the centre of Sydney. The check in and check out process was easy and quick. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was good, is it possible to add gluten free bread for toast?


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
What a compliment! I’m so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the perfect location of our hotel and the staff was friendly. I also appreciate your feedback regarding the gluten free bread for toast. I will discuss it with my team. We look forward to seeing you again. Greg Brady, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Is my second time stay with my family of 4.
Stayed in a room with 2 double beds
Warm during the winter.
Excellent and helpful staff from reception and concierge.
Staff in concierge are helpful and polite and experience in luggage storage, plans and promotion on the touristy information.
Room was clean and comfortable.
Everything is fine just not enough central lighting in the room.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyandrasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear that you frequent our hotel and your whole family enjoyed the stay. Be assured that I will share your comments with my team and we hope to have you back for a third time.
Greg Brady, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is a typical Mecure Hotel. Very clean, excellent location and friendly staff. Comfortable bed . The restaurant has the best bread pudding ! And the staff in the restaurant were very friendly. Reception staff very helpful also.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I’m happy to read that you enjoyed your stay here at our hotel. It is our goal to ensure that each of our guests receives a high level of service in a comfortable, clean and inspiring environment. I will share your comments with my team and we hope to see you back again.
Greg Brady, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Mercure is part of the Accor hotel chain, which frequently have sales. The hotel is well located, near Central station, and walking distance to Chinatown. Service is good. Breakfast is also very good. Swimming pool is a bit old and small, but still very useable. Very good for the price and location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hj1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. I’m glad to see you could enjoy all of our amenities, including our breakfast buffet and the indoor rooftop pool. We are in a great location close to Central Station and to get to Chinatown. We appreciate your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again.
Greg Brady, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed at the measure for four nights....which was surprisingly enough time to see the city of Sydney.....it surprised me and my partner to find out the Sydney is actually very small (everything within walking distance of the Mercure)

the hotel room its self was quite basic although the bathroom was very nice everything you need was in the hotel from wifi which was a charge if you need more then 30 minutes a day, the bed was lovely and comfortable! and there was lots of space in the room itself!.....unfortunately we didn't use the restaurant as we ate out every night we stayed so unable to comment.

The pool was very amazing at night time and such a relaxation point if you've had a busy day in the city.

Overall a spacious hotel room that is close to everything you need and a nice distance from the airport so you don't see the planes going over but you still close enough for a quick transit :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OwlLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our convenient location and your spacious and clean room. Especially the view from our indoor rooftop pool is amazing. Enjoy your time at home, and we hope to see you again here at the Mercure Sydney.
Greg Brady, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#64 of 179 in Sydney
1,282 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#99 of 179 in Sydney
4,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4,139 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
5,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Property: Mercure Sydney
Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#57 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing