We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professsional & friendly service; great location.”
Review of Mercure Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Sydney
Ranked #66 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed July 21, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Traveller-wannabe71
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,893 - 1,899 of 5,075 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have 2 small children so stress free getaways are important! We arrived yesterday straight into the underground carpark (flat rate $29-bargain!), efficient check in, great room-deluxe room type with 2 double beds plus spacious lounge area with sofa, armchair and desk.
We met friends for drinks in the bar. Kerry (hope spelling correct) was superb and so hospitable with us, our friends and our little ones (making them the best milkshakes!) Margot was lovely also. We then retired to our room and ordered room service from another polite understanding staff member, Laura I think. It arrived promptly and was good and value for money.
The room was very clean with modern decor. we slept well and thought the preferred pillow option was very cool!
Buffet Breakfast the next morning was very good and staff very efficient, observant and friendly again-particularly a young french man.
I took the kids to the indoor heated pool overlooking the city before another efficient experience with reception at checkout. You can leave your car in the carpark until 6pm giving you another day to explore. Great value.
We would opt for the superb family fun package for the next stay which had movies parking and breakfast included from what I read on the website.
Overall a well managed hotel with wonderful, well trained staff and good facilities.
2nd time for us at Accor in Australia after a disappointing stay at a now closed hotel. Thanks to this superb stay-we have signed up for their club.

Room Tip: Family fun offer is amazing value. Corner Deluxe room type great for family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Corbiere97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on TripAdvisor. It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our staff was excellent. Be assured that I will share your comments with my team. It was a pleasure having you and your family here with us and we hope to see you again in the future. Greg Brady, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Tess1965
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our short and sweet family stay at Mecure. Never enjoyed such great hospitality in Australia! Staff were so courteous and helpful. Sorry we did not get the name of the Concierge on duty when we checked out on evening of 14th July around 6:30pm was an exceptional customer service star. Sunny and Corey at Reception were exceptional stars too. Great rooms and facilities and we will surely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MohamedAthif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

It was great to read your review on TripAdvisor. I’m happy to see you and your family enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our staff was excellent. Be assured that I will share your comments with my team. Thanks for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again here at the Mercure Sydney. Greg Brady, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed at Mercure Sydney for nights for work. The reception was kind enough to allocate me a room on Level 12 when I asked for it but I regretted asking for that because the room was contaminated with cigarette smell!!! Room size is ok for one guest but the bathroom is quite small. It is a very basic room and there should power points near the bedside table so guests can charge their phones. Lack of bathroom amenities - no cotton pads and buds!!! Bins are "naked" without garbage bags - this is soooooooo filthy!!! Do NOT waste your money on the buffet breakfast served on Level 1!!! I disagree totally with reviewers here who have given their thumbs up for the buffet breakfast. The food served is of low quality and not worth AUD25 per person. I do not think I will ever stay here again if I go to Sydney for work. A disappointing stay overall :(

Room Tip: Room 1242 is contaminated with cigarette smell!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AG1781rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for providing feedback on your recent stay here at the Mercure Sydney. I’m sorry to hear about your experiences with your room.

Please contact the hotel on 02 9217 6666 or h2073@accor.com so that we can speak to you further about your comments.

Regards,
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
3  Thank Ronny V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#62 of 186 in Sydney
1,399 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#22 of 186 in Sydney
6,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#40 of 186 in Sydney
4,584 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#33 of 186 in Sydney
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Sydney
#38 Business Hotel in Sydney
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#59 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $148 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing