We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you from the Anzacs”
Review of Mercure Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Sydney
Ranked #63 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Great price, terrific service, awesome room
Are dinner and breakfast in the restaurant - very busy
Loved it all.
Definitely go back with accords discounting to fill their hotels... Excellent marketing

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madala53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear guest from Sydney,

Thank you for your review, it was fantastic to hear about your lovely experience at our hotel and that you found our rooms to be awesome.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,962)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,884 - 1,890 of 4,962 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed here for a week end getaway, we booked a smoking room but when we got to our room it was non smoking. A quick call to reception and within minutes we were being relocated to an up graded smoking room. The staff were so good and friendly. The hotel is centrally located, next to Central Railway, walking distance to China Town and shopping. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phdman069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear guest from Sydney,

Thank you for your review, it was great to hear about your enjoyable experience at Mercure Sydney.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

the hotel is in very good location, has a nice pool on the top of roof. Staff are friendly and willing to help. the buffet breakfast was ok but reasonable. would definately stay there again next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear guest from Brisbane,

Thank you for your review, I was please to hear that you had a great stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed May 6, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights - had breakfast on one morning. Was good but a bit pricey at $25 (usual for Aus hotels though i guess) - good selection but coffee terrible. Room on the 9th floor - view out over Railway square. Nice size room - slightly unusual shape as was on the corner - plenty of windows and good blockout blinds. Bathroom had shower over bath - toilet sometimes would stop flushing but if you jiggled the button that fixed it. I booked this room at 40% off during Accor sale - otherwise it would prob be outside my usual price range. Handy location to central station - railway square exit. Tunnel leads to and from station. Good easy access to airport train. Pool, gym and sauna facilities nice on level 15. Not overly busy when I was there either. Open from 0530am to midnight also which is convenient. My room key wouldn't let me into the pool area initially but this was quickly fixed at reception. Bed and importantly pillows comfortable. Overall I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Higher for less traffic noise - north facing for city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brett153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear guest from Melbourne,

Thank you for your review, I was please to hear that you enjoyed our pool, gym and sauna facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#62 of 179 in Sydney
1,359 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 179 in Sydney
5,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#24 of 179 in Sydney
6,153 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#38 Business Hotel in Sydney
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#56 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $129 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing