We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay at The Mercure”
Review of Mercure Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Sydney
Ranked #63 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed at The Mercure for business last week, 3 nights. All good, room very comfortable and spacious, on the 13th floor. Had both room service breakfast and buffet breakfast, both very good. Internet was fast and easily available. Check in and check out was efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank TracyP1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear guest from Melbourne,

Thank you for your review, we at Mercure Sydney are always pleased to hear that our guests enjoyed
a comfortable stay in our spacious rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,031)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,280 - 2,286 of 5,031 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

So after a long day and a cancelled flight we have been transferred to the Mecure.
I would not return to this establishment by choice of my own.
Our room is a shoebox, the room service do not answer their phone, the wake up call service does not answer their phone and it is just so noisy. We can hear the people in the next room talking, we hear every time they go to the bathroom, the street noise even at 11pm is horrendous.
From what I have since researched online price wise your better to save your pennies and stay in a better establishment in the burbs than here. "See Meriton, Dank Street, Waterloo"

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Hyperkitty1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear guest from Hobart,

Thank you for your review, I was obviously very disappointed to read about your experiences. As such I would like to speak to you personally.

If convenient please call the hotel on +61 2 9217 6666 and ask to speak to myself, or email H2073@accor.com and we will contact you to discuss.

Thanks again for your feedback, and look forward in speaking to you soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Carmen H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed there this week 3 girls on a holiday very inpressive great location but room bit small for 3 girls with only 2 double beds no complimentary biscuits and $22 a day wifi it should be free pillows were flat and lumpy no where to put suitcases the pool was to cold and was looking for a spa but none concierge very helpful entry stairs very slippery and no ramp overall a good stay

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear guest from Warrnambool,

Thank you for your review, it was great to hear that you found Mercure Sydney to be overall accommodating and our concierge team to be very helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had an enjoyable few days at the Mercure. The only problem was the lack of any decent lighting in the room. It was restricted to bedside lamps, with little outside light. A shame as it was actually a pretty decent hotel with friendly, helpful staff and good amenities.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fraz65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear guest from London,

Thank you for your review, I was pleased to hear that you found the hotel overall accommodating and found our team to be friendly and helpful. In regards to the lighting we appreciate your feedback and will take it into consideration.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Mecure Sydney is within mins walk from the Central station. In addition, you can catch the free CBD bus at the bus stop right outside the hotel. We picked up our rental car just inside the hotel which was pretty convenient.

The check in was pretty smooth thou we did not get our rooms right away as our flight touched down Sydney early morning. But we did not wait too long and got the room after we came back from our breakfast which is about an hour and a half later.

The newly furnished room was superb. Nice colour scheme, comfy bed and spacious toilet. Everything was new and clean. We have a wonderful 2 nights stay and will definitely stay here again if we visit Sydney.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinkle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear guest from Singapore,

Thank you for your review, it was great to hear that you found our rooms to be superb and enjoyed our comfortable beds and spacious bathrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Being literally next to central railway station, all the usual sightseeing places are easily accessible.There are also many buses stop right outside the hotel and the trams are in easy walking distance.Darling harbour is a comfortable 15-20 minute walk via chinatown.
The front entrance has stairs down to the reception desk and so is not ideal when carrying cases however the rear access is on the same level.
Our room 1135 had been recently renovated and had views down George St.
The room rate was $200/night not including breakfast which seems a bit pricey but we were only there for 2 nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking down George St.for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear guest from Perth,

Thank you for your review, it was great to hear that you the location of the hotel easily accessible to all the usual sightseeing places and enjoyed the George St views.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#62 of 181 in Sydney
1,385 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 181 in Sydney
5,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#21 of 181 in Sydney
6,329 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Meriton Suites Zetland
#14 of 181 in Sydney
3,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Sydney
#38 Business Hotel in Sydney
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#56 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $128 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing