We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay!”
Review of Mercure Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Sydney
Ranked #64 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We always enjoy staying at the Mercure Sydney; great location, good value and easy to access public transport. The staff were friendly and obliging. Our room was comfortable and clean. The bed was not quite as comfortable as usual. We are looking forward to the proposed renovations - would like to see a stand alone shower rather than having to climb in and out of those baths!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Julianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location. I was also extremely pleased to hear that the Mercure Sydney staff were friendly and your stay was great value for money.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,284 - 2,290 of 4,987 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank TracyP1965
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

On my way out of Australia overseas, I stayed at this hotel for one night and repeated the experience on my way back into Oz two weeks later. It had been years since I stayed at Accor properties and so this was something of a treat for me, selecting the Mercure for proximity to Central Station rather than finding the cheapest appropriate property !

Welcome at reception was quick, easy and friendly and I was given an upscale room with stunning views over Sydney. With all the usual mod-cons, the overnight experience (on both occasions) was extremely comfortable, the bed really quite terrific, and the normal selection of TV channels both free-to-air and satellite. I wonder though that so many hotels (Mercure, too) have so few channels available and assume it must be the cost of satellite packages.

Breakfast at the Mercure for $20 on my stay was an absolute delight. Everything I could have wanted in nice surroundings up on the first floor, with a view of the city again. I cannot comment on dinner or other meals as I wasn't there long enough and, in any case, I avoid city hotels for dinner in view of quite high costs. The Mercure is within easy reach of dozens of food spots on George St and elsewhere !

Shuttle service from hotel to airport is affordable and easy to book at the concierge desk. When confronted with advice that no shuttles had spare seats available, I simply walked over to Central and went by train ... nothing easier, and that's the benefit of site convenience.

I would stay here again next trip in two weeks' time, but note the price has increased by some 60+ dollars, so am opting for another choice. But I recommend the Mercure highly and without reservation, and WILL stay here again sometime soon.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingCodger_39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear guest from Pambula,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay at Mercure Sydney. I was also extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Mercure Sydney’s convenient and central location as well as our daily breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived home from a holiday in the USA, exhausted after the flight from LA. We asked for an early check in (around 9:00 am) and the hotel was able to provide this. We had stayed at this hotel prior to our holiday and were impressed with it. Well, I guess we had been spoilt by hotel stays in the US. In many ways the Mercure just does not match hotels that we had stayed in.
The large bottle of spring water on the bedside table IS part of the beer,wine,spirit,chocolate etc. list. It is NOT complementary! The hotel provides a 30 minute free access to WiFi. This is not good enough. Even the smallest hotels that we stayed in, significantly cheaper than the Mercure, provided unlimited WiFi access. Totally necessary in this electronic age and definitely a must for international visitors. An airport shuttle provided by the hotel is also essential.
On the plus side, the comments offered in previous reviews are correct. Centrally located, easy access to most attractions and public transport, friendly courteous staff and heaps of taxies.
The breakfast (included in our tariff) was superb. Other than the fact that we had a train to catch, we could have lingered for quite a time. (Again, I had been spoilt by hotels in the USA; a waffle maker and maple syrup would make the breakfast perfect)

Room Tip: Any room on the south side of the building should be away from traffic noise, especially if it is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffatStockinbingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear guest from Cootamundra,

Thank you for your review, in regards to our internet connection; while paid internet is standard in Sydney CBD hotels we are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience. Your feedback in this area is certainly appreciated and helps us as we continually review our procedures. However for next time, why not try out our Privilege rooms, located on the 13th floor; these rooms come with complimentary internet along with other complimentary benefits. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location and our daily breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Good place to stay due to closeness to Markets, Darling Harbour, Rocks, Shops and off course many nice places to eat.
Actual Hotel is clean, quiet except for Air Conditioning, staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank helric69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear guest from Canberra,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location. I was also extremely pleased to hear that the Mercure Sydney staff were friendly and helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank AT08
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location, close to shops and public transport and a short walk to Darling Harbour. The rooms are a good size - comfortable beds - and quiet. The fitness centre is small with basic equipment - but serviceable and the view of the city while exercising is a pleasant distraction. The breakfast buffet provides a good range of cereals, hot food and breads/pastries. Reception and concierge staff very friendly and helpful. Whether for business in the City or pleasure would recommend this hotel. The key card access to the room is a bit finicky - just need patience when swiping it to make sure it reads properly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheetahgirlBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear guest from Brisbane,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Sydney. I was also extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location and the Mercure Sydney staff were very friendly and helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#61 of 181 in Sydney
1,367 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 181 in Sydney
5,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#23 of 181 in Sydney
6,223 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Sydney
#38 Business Hotel in Sydney
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#57 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $125 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing