We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Mercure Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Sydney
Ranked #64 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed here for two nights as I was attending a conference. It's a great location with buses right outside the front door and trains 5 minutes away. Check in was quick, the staff were friendly and efficient and the room was fine for my stay. The rooms are nice and quiet, I couldn't hear any outside noise. The room I was in had been refurbished, the bathroom was a bit small and didn't have many complimentary toiletries. Breakfast was included with my conference and it was ok, I wouldn't want to pay $25 for it when there are many cafes etc nearby to eat at, definitely a good place to stay in central Sydney.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Dare2Dream1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and found our rooms to be nice and quiet.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,429 - 2,435 of 4,986 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

During our recent stay there was maintenance going on in the rom above us. We were not informed of this on check in or when the maintenance started. I phoned downstairs 3 times to complain to no avail. Nothing was done. The workers commenced at 7am and continued till we checked out at 11.30am. I did not think this was acceptable when we were on holiday to sleep in and enjoy. i approached the girl at the counter on checkout and asked for my parking to be credited back she said there was nothing they could do and it was law that maintenance could take place at any time. So i was not happy with this so i approached the manager to whom he was apologetic and i asked him for my parking credited back in which he did.He also said as i got to the desk that he was about to ring me in my room (i think not) it was 11.30am i called him at 7.30am?? But if i had not of asked for this i would have recieved nothing, no discount or future credit nothing!! We stay here every year and have NEVER had a problem with ANYTHING until this. I would have thought repeat customers would be treated abit more better than what i got. Will i be staying next year? Not sure yet...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank gizmo374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our family of four {2 adults & 2 children} had a very pleasant overnight stay. We found the location to be very quiet considering it's close proximity to Central Rail Station. The room was modern, clean and comfortable. It was a shame that the wifi wasn't complimentary but this was the only disappointment. We found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was enjoyable with a vast variety of gluten free options which was very appreciative for our coeliac family members. After extensive research, we found The Mercure one of the very few hotels in Sydney to charge children rates up to 15 years as opposed to most hotels charging children rates up to 12 years. This was the reason we stayed at The Mercure and we were very happy with our experience. We will certainly be staying with them in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pru L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear guest from Newcastle,

Thank you for your review, I am happy to hear that you found your stay with your family very pleasant and enjoyed our modern rooms. As for internet, we offer 30 minutes complimentary internet at the Internet Hub located on level 2.Please ask our friendly receptionist if you require any assistance.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is what it is - a four star hotel with comfortable rooms in a good location in particular if you are wanting to be close to University of Sydney or UTS. Also good location for catching trains and buses around Sydney. My husband and I stayed for multiple nights on 2 occasions over the last 10 days. The first room we had had a King size bed and looked over the Central Station area; so pleasant view and comfortable room. The second room we had had a queen size bed and looked over the western side of the hotel that is really just a laneway which was less than inspiring, but still comfortable. Both rooms suffered from a dreadful shower head that was weak and hard to control temp with so little water flow. Staff were very friendly, helpful and engaging. We would stay there again when looking for a hotel that is reasonably priced and convenient.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view to the East rather than the West you will not feel so hemmed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NPVHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear guest from Hong Kong,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and found our team to be very friendly. I am also happy to hear that you will come stay again.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at Mercure on a long weekend, the service and rooms were wonderful. Staff helpful and very accommodating, rooms clean and like new, and food delivered to our room delicious and a fantastic price. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank anna2590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear guest from Cootamundra,

Thank you for your review, I am very happy to hear that you will definitely come stay again and found Mercure Sydney to be very accommodating.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Like plenty of other reviewers, I agree this hotel is in a great location and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a decent size and kept clean. What I didn't like: the aircon/heating was quite noisy and I needed to wear ear plugs at night to block out the noise. I could hear people in the adjacent rooms talking and carrying on loudly late at night. The hotel decor is a little tired despite the fact it's undergoing renovation. Even the new colour scheme with purple walls is already dated. My biggest concern though was the house keeping team is not keeping management informed of wear and tear in the rooms. My newly renovated room had big chunks of purple paint chipped off which looked as though they had been there for a while, and no-one in housekeeping had reported. The soap dish in the bathroom was just about to fall off. The hand basin was obviously old with chipped paint around the drain. It takes team work all around to keep a hotel 4 star.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerty2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear guest from Melbourne,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you agree that our team members are very friendly and helpful. Due to your helpful feedback, we are currently reviewing our procedures in the up keeping of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel early June with two friends.The location of this hotel was terrific,close to transport and many shopping options.Rooms where very clean,beds very comfortable and a good size room.Staff are very friendly and very helpfull at all times.The only let down was breakfast,i feel for $25 there should be more variety.

Room Tip: Great upgrade deals are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flashbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear guest from Perth,

Thank you for your review, it is great that hear that you found the rooms to be very comfortable and of good size. I’m also very pleased to hear that you thought our location was terrific.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#61 of 181 in Sydney
1,367 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 181 in Sydney
5,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#23 of 181 in Sydney
6,225 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Sydney
#38 Business Hotel in Sydney
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#57 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $125 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing