We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you get a refurbished room!”
Review of Mercure Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Sydney
Ranked #64 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 8 nights - 3 of us in a room which has two double beds. The room was tight on space and considering the room was meant to saccomodate 4 people there is only just enough storage space for two.
Originally we were put into a dark dingy stale smelling room and complained as the drains stank awful. They sent up a cleaner to pour bleach down the drains but it didn't really do the trick so thankfully they let us move to another room the following day which was better. They do not give many toiletries which us a disappointment considering it's classed as a 4 star hotel.
The hotel is right by railway square and central station where you can get trains or buses to pretty much anywhere. The edge of China town reaches the hotel so expect to see lots of foreign students and Chinese restaurants locally. The walk to the harbour is a good 45 mins but there are one th if buses that run down George street which will take you to central quay (stop for the harbour)
The hotel has a swimming pool on the top floor but be prepared for a walk upstairs as the lift doesn't go all the way to the top.
Breakfast was ridiculously expensive and poor quality so unless you've booked a B&B package is recommend eating elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puddenpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear guest from London,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel. I can confirm that due to helpful feedback like your own, we have completed renovations of nearly half the hotel with the remaining rooms to be completed in 2013.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,909)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,364 - 2,370 of 4,909 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

Arrived 10.15pm, smooth check in & allocated room on 14th floor. Room was neat, tidy & very spacious. Check out on departure was quite efficient. Disappointing that Mercure doesn't provide free wifi for Accor members.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank brondavi38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed are spacious room. As for internet, there is 30 minutes free internet provided at the Internet Hub located on level 2. Please ask our helpful receptionist if you require any assistance next time.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

A group of friends stayed at the Mercure George Street. The hotel itself is fine but the staff lack communication skills as we where told there was a happy hour at the bar and there was not one. We where told that we didn't have to book for 12 for dinner when we arrived we had to have two tables of six which where apart from each other. The rooms where clean and it was value for money. Would use the hotel again and next time we would book dinner just in case.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank RobynDapto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be of good value. However due to your helpful feedback we will review the messages being communicated to our team regarding food and beverage.


We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Staff are friendly and location is very convienient. Although it is located in the busy street, we can not hear the noise so sound-proof windows work well.

Check in service takes too long. The check in time is 2:00pm and we waited more than 40 miniutes to get keys. If more staff are available around check-in time to help guest check-in, it will shorten the length of the wait for the guests. After a long and tired travel, the least thing we would like to do is to wait so long to get the keys to the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Lily88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear guest from Beresfield,


Thank you for your review, I am disappointed to hear about your check in experience. Due to helpful feedback like your own, we are currently reviewing our check in procedures.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel presents well, is in a great location for my business needs, has comfy modern rooms, but the most awful showers. A cheap shower head drizzled out a spray you had to manoeuvre round, then the temperature kept fluctuating so that I kept having to jump back and forth, adjusting the taps. In the morning, I decided to use the shower in the gym upstairs instead. Great view from the gym's location, but in the change rooms, the one shower's water spray was so aerated that it was cold, even though i could run the water in the sink next to the shower which was hot. Tried again, still cold. damn. Very disappointing. Reported it on checkout but I don't think the concern was taken seriously.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leeandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear guest from Melbourne,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and found our rooms to be modern and comfortable. I am sorry to hear about your experiences with our showers, however due to your helpful feedback we are currently looking at ways to improve them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The hotel is in a great location for those wanting to get around the city and nearby attractions.
Buses are at your door in George Street to take you to places such as Circular Quay for ferries and The Rocks historical precinct.
You can also walk via subway to Central station for all train services and light rail which takes you via Paddys Market, Chinatown and Star City Casino.
Also in the hotel precinct are lots of little eateries, such as sushi, chinese and german bakery Luneburger and Aporto.
Great place to stay and road noise is very quiet/

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank froggytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear guest from Melbourne,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed exploring Sydney and found our location to be very convenient and had at great stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Mercure is convenient to Central Station and is a reasonable hotel. You pay more than you'd like, but everything is expensive in Sydney. The hotel was clean and the staff were efficient. I slept well, so that is a good sign about the bed and noise levels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Hansie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, I am happy to hear that your found our team to be efficient and your stay accommodating.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Sydney again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#61 of 178 in Sydney
1,318 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#104 of 178 in Sydney
5,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#38 Business Hotel in Sydney
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#57 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $142 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing