We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Mercure Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Sydney
Ranked #62 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice stay”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our stay at the Mercure Sydney was a very pleasant one, nice friendly staff, lovely service,
Hopefully next time i stay i will book a balcony room as being an Asthmatic i find it difficult to control my Asthmas in rooms without windows that open.
Otherwise i would recommend it to all.
Great prices as well.
Great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusty2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guest from Sydney,

Thank you for your review, I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and that our team was lovely and friendly to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,383
    2,263
    861
    189
    113
See reviews for
1,285
1,497
547
982
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Excellent value, especially compared to hotels nearby. Staff were very accomodating, efficient check in process. Only stayed overnight for function but would definately stay again. Close to all the action of Sydney and decor was nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Impressed301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guest from Sydney,

Thank you for your review, I was pleased to hear that you found our team to be very accommodating and enjoyed our décor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Really disappointed with this hotel.
At check in the clerk just stared at me whilst i was waiting, when I approached he then told me to wait as he was serving someone else. Who the invisible man..... The area was also poorly maintained and not clean, a sequence we would experience again later.

I had booked and prepaid for a standard queen room non smoking. I was allocated a twin room non smoking. When I called down to reception (on a phone in the room that didn't work properly) i was told that there were no non smoking queen rooms left.

So a couple of issues

1) Still smoking in hotel rooms? (that would explain the stench of smoke everywhere)
2) This was booked and pre paid for and as an "advantage +" member, a privilege you have to pay for surely a room upgrade would have been given rather than a downgrade. Not much "advantage" to being a member then.

In other news, the room itself was poorly maintained, the phone didn't work properly (see above) the carpet is now a reddish colour (from sort of a blue grey combo) and needs replacing.

The corridors were filthy with bits of paper all over (and in the same place for several days)

Breakfast didn't start till 06.30 which is a bit of a problem when you leave at 6.30 for work. So I ordered room service breakfast. That was a mistake(!) The omelet was barely edible. The toast not toasted but warm the coffee however was cold.

The only reason why I have stayed is that I have prepaid. If not, I would have booked another hotel and left. In a city with so many hotels, this is very poor.

Room Tip: Panic if given room 415
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon1246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guest from Melbourne,

I am also pleased to inform you that due to helpful feedback like yours, we have completed renovations of nearly half the hotel with the remaining rooms to be completed in 2013 so that you can enjoy our newly renovated room next time. However I was obviously very disappointed to read about your other experiences and as such would like to discuss it further.

If convenient please call the hotel on +61 2 9217 6666 and ask to speak to myself, or email H2073@accor.com and we will contact you to discuss.

Thanks again for your feedback, and look forward in speaking to you soon.


We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights while a friend was doing a course. Great spot central to all things, great food great sights. i dont live far from Sydney but i wouldnt hesitate coming here to stay again with the family. Fabulous service in the hotel staff were very helpful nothing was too much trouble, only complaint was the air conditioning was very loud.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winifred711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guest from Wollongong,

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you thought our service was fabulous as we pride ourselves on provide exception service, and was that you enjoyed our convenient location. I am also pleased to inform you that due to helpful feedback like yours, we have completed renovations of nearly half the hotel with the remaining rooms to be completed in 2013 so that you can enjoy our newly renovated room next time.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#65 of 177 in Sydney
1,275 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 177 in Sydney
5,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#98 of 177 in Sydney
4,769 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#33 of 177 in Sydney
4,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Property: Mercure Sydney
Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#57 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing