We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mecure Sydney”
Review of Mercure Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Sydney
Ranked #65 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed February 23, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tachelle
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,599 - 2,605 of 4,930 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here on a quick trip to Sydney, a short stopover, and would have been nice to stay a bit longer. Positives, great location next to Central Station, comfortable room with 2 x double beds. Nice buffet breakfast for 25 bux each, wicked swimming pool on the top floor, whiich is only small but sufficient to do a few strokes in. A couple of twits were smoking in the enclosed space while sitting in the pool, so our swim was cut short, on reporting them security swiftly dealt with them though. Front desk staff were professional and helpful and made sure everything went smoothly for us. Hotel is next to a few late night eatieries, which was great after we returned very late at night and hungry. Fast food, noodles, asian etc were all still opened weekday near to midnight. The room itself, although nice, had a dinghy view of rooftops, and was a bit like a rabbit warren to negotiate. Complimentary coffee.tea and milk were limited, so grab extra from reception on your way in if you need it. Got a good deal with this hotel through Retravision Resort Rewards, however not sure it matches up to other places we have stayed down there (for convenience) so probably would tend to gravitate back to the Darling Harbour area if we stay again.

Room Tip: Grab extra tea, coffee, milk supplies on the way up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, I was happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and was happy with our accommodation and found the pool to be wicked.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
Thank butugly
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Overall this hotel we had a great stay, facilities are excellent, lovely rooms although our room noted when booked was as 2 double beds but is actually 2nd bed is only a sofa lounge. Our only complaint was a terrible start to our stay due to a very rude unhelpful receptionist on checkin called Nikita. Other staff mermebrs such as Rosdie & trainee Jenna were lovely, maybe Nikita need to take a tip out of their book in relation to appropriate customer service. The room & other staff luckily made up for a very bad start.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vallju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear guest from Perth,

Thank you for your review, I was happy to hear that you had a great stay, however I was obviously very disappointed to read about your check in experience and as such would like to discuss it further.

If convenient please call the hotel on +61 2 9217 6666 and ask to speak to myself, or email H2073@accor.com and we will contact you to discuss.

Thanks again for your feedback, and look forward in speaking to you soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Broken Hill, Australia
Reviewed February 21, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed in your hotel last monday and desapointment was my impression.
I had to book a room for 200 Dollars.
A strong smell of Asian food was standing at the reception and on the floor.
Also room was dirty, with plenty of fingerprints on the windows;
Wi fi is not included which is a shame.
Furnitures are old fashion and cleaness is bad

Room Tip: stay away from this
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Benoit75018_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear guest from Paris,

Thank you for your review. I am also pleased to inform you that due to helpful feedback like yours, we have completed renovations of nearly half the hotel with the remaining rooms to be completed in 2013 so that you can enjoy our newly renovated room next time. In regards to our internet connection, while paid internet is standard in Sydney CBD hotels we do offer complimentary internet in our Privilege Rooms on the 14th floor.

If convenient please call the hotel on +61 2 9217 6666 and ask to speak to myself, or email H2073@accor.com and we will contact you to discuss.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starpower_13
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#63 of 179 in Sydney
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#104 of 179 in Sydney
5,166 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#38 Business Hotel in Sydney
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#58 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $141 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing