We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a short stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Sydney

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mercure Sydney
Ranked #57 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good for a short stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The hotel was much more modern then I was expecting and is located close to central station and a short walk into the main city center. Very reasonably priced for location and standards of the room. One downside was the pool - we thought we would be able to see out of the window towards the city yet the wall is so high there is no way to see anything like the photo advertised on the site. Another downside is the dodginess at night time, it's a bit of a dark area! Perfect for a short stay! Will defiantly be a place of choice for future trips.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear guest from Hobart,

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback with the TripAdvisor Community. I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,329
    2,201
    843
    179
    107
See reviews for
1,251
1,445
534
951
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed in this hotel from 6.6.2012 to 9.6.2012. The location of the hotel is excellent particularly for those who love to do a lot of shopping. There is an Indian Restaurant at Harris Street near to the hotel in the name of "Vrindavan". The hotel also arranged Indian dinner for us at Four Elements Restaurant on level 1. The rooms are very well furnished. House keeping services require a bit of improvement. The high building next to the hotel obstructs sunlight to the hotel. The behaviour of the staff were excellent. The hotel is centrally located.

Room Tip: First see if the room is well ventilated, before occupying the same, if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DIPAKJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guest from Faridabad,

Thanks for your review. I was delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us at Mercure Sydney. I am also pleased that you enjoyed our Indian dining options at Four Elements Restaurant. Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on the housekeeping. We strive to provide exceptional service in all areas so your comments in this area are certainly appreciated and will be investigated.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Our 1 night stay here was awful. We could not find a car park in their carpark, the elevator from the carpark, took forever once we waited approximately 20mins for someone to leave and take their park. We got to our room with all our bags to find the card/key would not work. Back downstairs to get those reset. Upon entering the room was dishevelled. The carpet was raised and lumpy and coming away from the walls. There were 2 double beds even though we specifically booked a queen. Upon calling reception regarding this we were told there was nothing they could do and hung up.

The bathroom had mould spots on the ceiling above the shower and throughout the grouting. The shower curtain (how unhygienic are those things!!) kept 'sticking' to me while showering so had to place it outside the bathtub resulting in water all over the floor. There was also dark coloured hair in the bathtub/shower when we first walked in. Good job cleaners....not!!

I would not let my dog stay here and I don't even have a dog or like dogs!!

STAY AWAY from this place is my best advice!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muddy_Sweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear guest from Newcastle,

Thanks for your review. I was obviously very disappointed to read that your stay at Mercure Sydney did not match your expectations. We are passionate about quality customer service and your experience certainly did not reach our normal high standards. As such it would be very helpful to discuss your stay further. If convenient please call the hotel on 02 9217 6666 and ask to speak to myself, or email H2073@accor.com and we will contact you to discuss.

Thanks again for taking the time to provide feedback and I hope to speak with you soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights on a business trip in November. The first impression of the lobby was ok, a little dull but functionable. The room was a good size for a hotel in the city, well appointed with flat screen TV, Tea and coffee facilities and the 2 double beds were extremely comfortable. I was suprised that there was no complimentary water, the bottle on the counter had a card stating $6.50 I opened it because I was thirsty after a 26 hour journey to the hotel,,,I think that a complimentary water would be a nice touch. The bathroom was clean, although the drain had a faint smell when you let water away in the wash basin. The toiletries were again adaquate if uninspiring. The breakfast was very good, a large choice of cooked ingredients and continental cold meats/cheeses/fruit etc. All in all this is a good 3 star hotel in a good location at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: A high floor is useful as this is a city location this helps to reduce the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littleboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear guest from Northampton,

Thanks for your review. I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay at Mercure Sydney, and found the quality of our breakfast to be very good.

I also thank you for the time you have taken to provide feedback on areas of your stay that could be improved. We strive to continually review and improve the hotel so your review is certainly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Centrally located and closest to the Central Station. I have been staying here past the last weekend and have a long stay until the 22nd of Dec so almost a month. The staff is friendly, and assisting. Narrating an incident when yesterday evening when I was struggling to get a prepaid Nano SIM for my iPhone 5, Joshua at the concierge stepped forward and volunteered to assist me in cutting a regular size to a one that fits in, in the process got himself nipped by the scissors. Must say great customer service and zeal to assist guests. Awesome guy !! Rooms are great, but small and congested. Though I am on 14th floor, but was disappointed to find that it does not have a great view with building constructions and cranes working in front. I was expecting a room upgrade or one with a better view since I am staying for such a long duration or maybe a complimentary internet service or breakfast. I am returning back again in Jan 2013 for a month so would once again surely stay here. Just anything to make my stay memorable and comfortable would be greatly appreciated. Hope the staff actions my feedback.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floors with a good view. If you need to commute using public transport i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MysticMinstrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#66 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#97 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Property: Mercure Sydney
Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#53 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing