We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wet Feet”
Review of Mercure Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Sydney
Ranked #64 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Booked in for a couple of nights while visiting Sydney to attend University (mature age student). First night the bed sounded like an old sailing ship as every time I moved an inch it creaked. Got up in the night to use the bathroom and did not switch on the light. Bathroom floor soaking wet, switched on light to find the toilet was leaking all over my feet - Yuk. In the morning I let reception know and the following night I moved to another room. That room, though the bed was silent, had soaking wet carpet on the hall floor as you entered the bathroom - so wet feet again. I did not complain the second time as I was leaving anyway.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tahmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear guest,

Thanks for your review. We are passionate about providing an exceptional experience for all of our guests and as such I was very disappointed to read about your stay. I would certainly like to discuss this with you further so we can fully investigate the issue and ensure the problem is resolved. If convenient please call the hotel on 02 9217 6666 and ask to speak to myself, or email H2073@accor.com and we will contact you to discuss.

Thanks again for taking the time to provide feedback.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,909)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,752 - 2,758 of 4,909 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is in a great location right next to Central Station and only a 15-20 min walk to Darling Harbour. The rooms were very modern and comfortable and amazed that I had a Nespresso machine in my room! Room was also cleaned every day to a very high standard. Reception staff were all very helpful. Only disappointment was the gym and the fact that the pool was closed when we visited (Oct 12).

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel as you would then have a view of the city, we were at the b...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear guest from Perth,

Thanks for your review. I was very pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us at Mercure Sydney, enjoyed the Nespresso machine in your room, and received helpful service from our friendly team.

Regarding the maintenance in the pool area, we needed to repair some of our facilities to improve the overall guest experience. I am very sorry that it occurred during your stay. I can confirm that this work is now complete and the pool is looking better than ever. I certainly appreciate you feedback in this area.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doctor623
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is an older hotel and could use a facelift, but the staff were excellent and the location is pretty central. If you are looking for food near the hotel you better like Asian because you are right next to china town. Affordable hotel in an extremely overpriced city.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear guest from Anchorage,

Thanks for your review. I was very pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us at Mercure Sydney. Regarding the age of the hotel, I can confirm that we are renovating all guest rooms (one floor at a time as to not disturb any guests). This includes new carpet, paint and soft furnishings, as well us an updated bathroom. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future to show you our new look.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

we booked two rooms, for five people. one room two double beds, one room queen bed.
the queen bed was a city view room and while quite small was adequate.
the rooms are tired and in need of a revamp overall.
the second room was to have two double beds, upon arrival staff offered to remove the beds and place three singles in, this seemed like a good idea, so agreed. the room was so small with two beds and a rollaway, there was no room on the floor to out a case, the cases had to go on the beds.

we asked the following morning to upgrade to a bigger room for the remaining three nights, this was not going to happen. staff argued that on top of the $20 per night to upgrade we had to pay $44 dollars a night for the rollaway. we argued that we had already paid ( well in advance) for a 4 share room, ( 2 double beds). this conversation went round and round, and the woman at reception was not going to budge. so we did not move rooms. on three of the four days the rollaway bed was not made, no bathmat was provided after the first day in either room.

on the last morning, housekeeping tried to enter the room at 7.20am, all were asleep, checkout is 11.00am, they woke everyone up knocking and trying to enter, they were told to go away, they returned at 8.00am, to be told again to go away, when they came back about 8.40, they were told to [--] off.

this hotel is more budget than 4 star, it is in a good position for transport and getting around the city, but needs a really good makeover and a few lessons in customer service

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berna68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear guest from Melbourne,

Thanks for your review. I appreciated the time you have taken to provide your feedback as it will certainly help us review our service standards. I certainly apologise for the problems that occurred during your stay. It would be helpful to received further feedback in this area. If convenient please call the hotel on 02 9217 6666 and ask to speak to myself, or email H2073@accor.com and we will contact you to discuss.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

For a 1-night stop in Sydney while on business, this was a comfortable, and extremely convenient place to pause. Nice to see gluten-free options at breakfast, and chamomile teabags in the room. Bed was comfy and the bathroom was functional and clean. Nice little work desk by the window. The only disappointment was having to pay for internet access which then turned out to be erratic and sloooow. The only frustration in an otherwise pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zentriplet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear guest from Melbourne,

Thanks for your review. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I also appreciate the time you have taken to provide feedback on your experience with the internet connection. This is certainly not the experience we intend our guests to have so we will certainly fully investigate.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Had a lovely family stay at Mercure Sydney. As we arrived very early we were provided with the use of the hospitality room and our room was ready for us by 10am which was fantastic. Concierge was extremely helpful and the kids eat free breakfast was exceptional. Overall totally recommend this hotel for family stays in a city where it was hard to find accommodation for two adults and two children.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birchfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBrady, General Manager at Mercure Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear guest from Melbourne,

Thanks for your feedback. I was delighted to read that you and your family had such an enjoyable stay with us at Mercure Sydney. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Greg Brady
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#61 of 178 in Sydney
1,318 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#104 of 178 in Sydney
5,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney

Address: 818 - 820 George Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sydney
#38 Business Hotel in Sydney
#45 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#57 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $143 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney's convenient location is the perfect place from which to explore Sydney's major attractions, making it the perfect choice when travelling for both business and leisure. Boasting 517 modern contemporary accommodation rooms over 14 floors, these rooms have been designed for guests requiring a combination of convenience and comfort. Unique facilities include 24-hour room service, 24-hour indoor rooftop swimming pool, gym with air-conditioning, sauna, 2 restaurants and secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing