We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swissotel Sydney
Ranked #15 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Taigum
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Spent 4 nights at this hotel and have to say that it was a very pleasant experience. Right from the get go, all the staff were helpful and very friendly. The room was lovely although smaller than expected and the bathroom was spotless. Centrally located it was fantastic to just walk out the door and shop till you drop. Very close to all Sydney attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,329
    1,206
    376
    145
    95
See reviews for
1,037
1,346
290
838
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads South
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

we booked a room with 2 double beds and got confirmation via email way before arrival and when we arrived we were told that room had been given to someone else and we had to have a roll away bed we paid over $800 for this room and got confirmation in advance to say yes it was all booked and good only to arrive and one of us had to sleep on a rollaway bed then the next night the room next to us had a massive party that was so noisy until 3am and nothing was done about that either ... very disappointing as we stay at a lot of 5star places and have never experienced this sort of incompotence and stress before

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and feedback.

I have looked into this issue from our end and I can assure you that we did receive your request in regards to a room with two double beds. We do try our best to accommodate all special requests however, these cannot be guaranteed and are subject to availability. If you do choose to stay with us again and you do require a specific room configuration, I do suggest calling the hotel directly to make your booking and speak to one of our Reservations Agents who will be able to inform you at the time of booking if this request can be guaranteed.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Swissotel Sydney should you return.

Best Regards,

Christian Hirt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The long weekend with the fleet review, NRL grand final so many visitors yet we were welcomed by extremely friendly, helpful staff who went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The rooms were excellent (interconnecting) with all the mod cons, breakfast had all the treats, especially being able to make your own "fresh juice". A great location easy access with the airport link, free shuttle service - no need for taxis!.

Room Tip: Corner with interconnecting was excellent for family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pooksie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel was both comfortable and conveniently located. Free valet parking for hybrids was a pleasant surprise as was the size of our room which was larger than I've encountered at many other Sydney hotels. Executive Lounge was comfortable although extra charges for eggs at breakfast was a little disappointing - particularly given how expensive they were! All in all, a great experience. Staff were on the ball and very friendly.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikanae, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have just stayed 3 nights at the Swissotel in Sydney. The check in staff on arrival were very pleasant.
The restaurant in hotel is good.
My only disappointment was that they could not give me the late check out that had been requested at booking. I would not have stayed here had I not thought that this was pre sorted.

It is lovely and central.

I believe that this hotel likes to get tips...as we don't run this way in NZ I did not tip. I think this is why I was also left to carry my own cases down on checkout.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxy3161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay in special regards to the location of Swissotel Sydney.

I am sorry to hear that you weren’t given a later check out however, late check outs are subject due to availability of the hotel on that day and can’t be granted if the occupancy is high. I do apologise for any inconvenience.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!


Warmest Regards,

Christian Hirt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We recently stayed two nights at this hotel to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. The hotel is so close to all amenities eg trains and busses there is no need to take your car
The staff were so helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious and bathroom so clean. Thank you for our bottle of champagne on arrival. We will thoroughly recommend this hotel and will be back again. We found the breakfast enjoyable as well love the omelettes well done to the chef

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We could not have asked for a better position right in the heart of Sydney. Shopping galore being opposite Westfield and QVB 100 metres up Market Street. The hotel is clean and luxurious with rooms extremely spacious. The beds were heavenly and very comfortable. We loved the bar area space and often ordered a light snack before retiring to our room. The only downside was that the bar closed early 10pm for food and 10.30 for drinks. (On a Saturday night too). I found this amazing for a hotel of this quality to close their bar this early. We were attending a conference that went from early morning to midnight and 10pm for two days. It would have been lovely to sit back in the bar after a hard day's work and not feel rushed to order. However, we will definitely return to this hotel whenever we are back in Sydney again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PaulineHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at Swissotel Sydney. It is a great to hear that you enjoyed Crossroads Bar and our wonderful beds! I have passed this feedback regarding our closing times to our Director of Food & Beverage and I can assure you that this will be looked into.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Warmest Regards,

Christian Hirt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#27 of 178 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,888 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 178 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Sydney

Property: Swissotel Sydney
Address: Level 8 | 68 Market Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#22 Family Hotel in Sydney
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#40 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Sydney enjoys prime location in the heart of the city centre, appealing to discerning business and leisure travellers. The deluxe 5 star hotel features 369 luxurious rooms and suites, exclusive Executive Lounge, two stylish food and beverage outlets, extensive conference and banquet facilities, and relaxing recreational and fitness facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Swissotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Sydney Hotel Sydney
Swissotel Hotel Sydney
Sydney Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing