We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, excellent service, spacious and clean hotel. Truly 5 star!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Sydney
Ranked #16 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
adelaide
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Central location, excellent service, spacious and clean hotel. Truly 5 star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I booked this trip for 3 women, we love shopping and eating out. I was a little confused upon arrival as the concierge desk is at entrance ground floor but then you have to go up to 8th floor for check in/out, the hotel starts at this level. I guess it has it advantages from the lower noise level being higher up The staffs were very friendly and to our luck, we got upgraded to a higher and bigger room.

The hallway was welcoming too. Unlike many hotels with narrow hallways, this one was clean, spacious and welcoming. Makes me feel safe and warm especially being a woman.

The rooms were spacious but I guess because we got upgraded without the extra cost. I wonder if this is the same if we got the original room? It was clean with modern fit outs.

I like the coffee expresso machine provided rather than the traditional kettle given.

We didnt have a spa in our room hence didn't rank this.
We also didn't have hotel breakfast because we wanted breakfast outside as restaurants and cafes were everywhere and literately outside around the corner on the Mall.

Location was so good! Especially for shopping lovers. Pitt St mall(fantastic for shopping) is just around the corner. You can walk every where. I love how the Westfield on the mall has great restaurants on level 6. You wouldn't think Westfield shopping would cater good restaurants but it does.

I really like the concierge team at this hotel, so friendly and respectful, they actually smile and not like robots! Very helpful getting us our taxi.

I would definitely stay here again!

Thank you Swissotel for making our stay so pleasant and memorable.
My girlfriends and I really enjoyed our stay.
Thank you for the surprise upgrade too.

Alivia Trinh

Room Tip: Don't worry about street noise as the hotel starts at the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alivia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Ms Trinh,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback.

It is wonderful to hear positive mentions across many aspects of the hotel such as room cleanliness, location, our wide hallways and helpful concierge team.

I thoroughly look forward to hosting you and your friends in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Fueglister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,187
    1,144
    365
    141
    87
See reviews for
965
1,277
278
787
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you are in sydney for work or holiday, we were for both, then it's really well located. The harbour and the rocks are 15 mins or so walk away. Its also really easy to get to and from the airport by train which is a lot cheaper than by taxi.
The room and bathroom were perfectly fine but nothing special. We felt the Internet charge excessive especially because the wifi in Westfields mall next door is free.
The sour note in our stay was the hotel kept forgetting to re-stock the minibar every day. When we returned every evening we raised this and asked to ensure it was done the next day. It was promptly re-stocked straight after our call, however on our bill we got charged a room service charge for doing it. If we had ordered anything over and above the standard minibar we would've accepted it but we hadn't. To the hotels credit they apologised and removed the charge when we checked out but to have it happen 4 nights in a row despite us pointing it out after each occurrence was disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Club_Street
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSYSwissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and feedback.

It is great to know you love the location as much as we do and find it convenient for both leisure and business purposes.

Our Swiss Circle loyalty members now receive free internet at all Swissotel Hotels & Resorts when they stay with us so this is a great benefit if you stay with us often.

I am disappointed to know that you had to ask more than once for the mini bar to be restocked and there was originally a charge incurred however, I am happy with the way the reception staff handled the bill and removed the charge.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Daniel Fueglister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California, USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Swissotel Sydney is located right in the heart of the shopping district and close to lots of attractions. While the concierge and bellmen are at street level, the hotel actually starts at the 8th floor where registration, bar and restaurant are located. Because the rooms are high up, there is little or no street noise. It's an easy walk to shops, including the beautiful Queen Victoria and Strand shopping arcades, huge shopping malls, the Sydney Tower, and Darling Harbor.

Sydney is the third most expensive city in the world according to a new survey - believe it! While the hotel is quite comfortable, pre-paid breakfast is $25 and much more if you don't sign up for the pre-pay deal. They also charge for internet and wi-fi, and there is no free airport shuttle service, though the concierge will make reservations for a paid shuttle. These things would have made it a better value.

The concierge and bellmen were very helpful as were the reception personnel. Breakfast service was okay but bar service was not very good.

We'd definitely stay here again when visiting Sydney because of the location but it's pricey, like everything else in Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MirageLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Can not fault the location - stayed 1 night for business - was presenting at an industry seminar at the hotel - I had never stayed at a Swissotel before. Close to QVB & many attractions in CBD Sydney. Staff were professional & friendly. This hotel does not deserve 5 stars, rooms are good but a little dated. I was in Room 2014, which is next to the elevator - which I liked - no complaints but there are many other hotels in Sydney at $230 a night for this room quality + food & drink is very expensive.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask re how far from the elevator the room is. By the time you travel from the street to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heathy2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast queensland australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed with 2 kids for 3 nights at the Swissotel Sydney. It's probably the most centrally located hotel in Sydney (we didn't know). It's right on top of Myer's and next to Westfield Centrepoint Tower. We had an Executive Club room on the 24th floor with an expansive view of the city horizon. The highlight of our stay was the breakfasts on the 9th floor. We were given exceptional service by Ichi ("Thank you Ichi") during each breakfast. Compared to other Sydney hotels we've stayed at, the Swissotel has come up trumps!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dayanadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Nice room, high above the city, good if you can get a reduced rate which is what we got through one of the websites that does mystery hotels. Buffet breakfast was good but expensive, I wouldn't bother next time, i'd just go out to the street, but gotta keep the wife happy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adz717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My stay in Sydney is at the tail end of my trip to AUS. I have always loved Swissotels and this did not fail. Location is at the middle of CBD, which is central to shopping areas and restaurants. Check-in was a breeze. My room was at a end of the hall and had a sort of irregular shape, which I thought gave the room and interesting feel. It was very clean, sheets were smooth and comfy. Service was excellent. Had dinner at the hotel's resto and I have to say that it's been my best hotel meal in my entire trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#27 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 3,643 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#22 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 4,237 reviews
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#24 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 5,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Sydney

Property: Swissotel Sydney
Address: Level 8 | 68 Market Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#22 Family Hotel in Sydney
#26 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#41 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Sydney enjoys prime location in the heart of the city centre, appealing to discerning business and leisure travellers. The deluxe 5 star hotel features 369 luxurious rooms and suites, exclusive Executive Lounge, two stylish food and beverage outlets, extensive conference and banquet facilities, and relaxing recreational and fitness facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Swissotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Sydney Hotel Sydney
Swissotel Hotel Sydney
Sydney Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing