We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Apartment Style Accomodation in Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Ranked #48 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Apartment Style Accomodation in Sydney”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

Service:
Nothing special. Very average for a hotel of this class.

Room:
We were in a Studio which was small but adequate. They call them apartments but you only get a fridge and microwave no hob to cook on. The rooms are in very good condition and seem very new. There is lots of wardrobe space if you are into that kind of thing.
Nice to have a balcony too especially if you are on the 26th floor as we were. Gorgeous views over a glass of wine.

Bathroom:
Very clean and new looking. Good size.

Location:
Very close to Chinatown. 10 mins walk to City CBD (King St). And 10 mins walk to Darling Harbour.

Additional:
As they are apartments I presume people do stay there on a longer basis and I could most certainly imagine myself staying here for longer.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaKSiNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    904
    265
    99
    65
See reviews for
883
473
94
438
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2009

I'm astonished that this service apartment is qualified as 4 star accommodation. I would say it's 3 star if i'm generous. The furniture in the room are very basic and old. The chair is not comfortable and full of scratches. The soft decoration, carpet, bed sets are very old and the color has faded. The lights are dim and unwelcome.

When i first checked in, I found hair (not my color) on the towel and hair pin on the carpet. And the hair pin stayed untouched during my whole stay.... they made bed, empty the dustbin, that's all...

Internet is charged at $25 per day. When I asked for cable, reception firstly gave me a 10cm one, which couldn't connect my laptop to the socket. Then they provided a longer one, but again it's useless as the plugs are broken.

It's the worst 4 star accommodation experience. Won't stay there again

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolinloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue mountains
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

great little studio room with private (tiny ) balcony and nice bathroom

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrswonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

Great service. Ideal location for young adults travelling. Had a two bed apartment for four people ideal. Would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WexfordGirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Victoria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

We chose this accommodation based upon the good reviews, and were not disappointed. While it was not perfect, it made for a pleasant stay.

It was spacious, clean, and well-appointed (I've uploaded a video of our apartment so you can see for yourselves). As we got a "last-minute" rate on-line, it was a great deal. It was a lot cheaper for us, three adult females, than two hotel rooms would have been. We were able to eat breakfast and dinner in, most nights (Safeway was just around the corner), which saved us a lot of money. All of the basic utensils you'd need to prepare and eat a meal, are provided.

The kitchen has a stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher, electric kettle, toaster, and full-sized fridge as well as pots and pans, dishes, glassware, and cutlery. A 250ml (8oz) container of milk is provided gratis, which was good for us for coffee the first morning, as we arrived at night. All other things provided (except instant coffee, teabags, and sugar) are "mini bar expensive". The next morning I went to Safeway and got some essentials.

The beds were comfortable enough and all came with doonas with removable covers (so I'm assuming they are washed more than typical hotel bedspreads as they looked clean). Sheets and towels were all of high quality.

Our 2BR apt had two bathrooms, one an en-suite attached to the "master" bedroom. It contained a sink, shower, and toilet (the shower control works very easily, and as it's right next to the soap dish, be careful not to knock it while reaching blindly for the soap or washcloth, or you'll get burnt or frozen! It was quite a shock!). The other "main" bathroom had a shower-over-bath, sink, and toilet. Water pressure was great in both.

Both bathrooms had shelves above the sinks for cosmetics and sundries, very handy, and both were modern and clean. And the main bathroom had a retractable clothesline over the tub, as well as a cupboard which contained the washer, dryer, and ironing implements. You really could live there!

All carpets were clean and unstained, the furniture likewise.

We didn't hear any "street noise" worthy of note up on the 29th floor. I know others have mentioned it, so maybe there was some event on at that time. We were there for 3 weeknights, so maybe the weekends are noisier?

Location-wise, it was excellent. Town Hall (train) station was about a minute away on foot, as were many shops and restaurants (the Medina has a breakfast cafe, but we didn't go there. There is also Tom & Tom's Coffee next door). Darling Harbour was a short walk, and Circular Quay (up in the vicinity of the Bridge and Opera House) was about a 15-20 minute pleasant walk.

We were easily able to walk to the Aquarium. For those who aren't into walking too much, the train from Town Hall Station arrived at Circular Quay in two stops.

While the girls climbed the Bridge, I took a Harbour tour on Captain Cook Cruises. It was breathtaking and I'd do it again in a heartbeat. I got some great photos (including the girls climbing on the bridge!). As it's a "hop on/hop off" tour ticket, it stops at many sites of interest aroudn the Harbour. And I was able to get off at Pier 26, close to my hotel. Fantastic!

I was surprised to find that there were no public internet facilities for guests.

To be fair, each unit has internet facilities as long as you bring your laptop (we didn't, as we had to leave our bags in the car for a few hours prior to flying to Sydney and were afraid of theft). We incorrectly assumed that there would be one or two PCs in a public room or Business Centre that we could use for checking email, and whatever else. Not so. We were directed to a local convenience store which offered cheap internet, but man, were those computers grubby, and I wasn't comfortable typing my passwords into those machines. So I used my phone's internet capabilities, instead.

There was a gym and pool but we neither used nor saw either as we had only a few days to take in the sights of Sydney.

One complaint we all had (and I mean EVERYONE, not just us) was the sad state of the lifts. There are only two, and one was out of order. One lift for 29 floors worth of guests was ridiculous, and it usually meant a LONG wait for it to collect us at the top floor, and another long wait in a can of sardines as it stopped at virtually every floor on the way down. There does not appear to be a service lift, since we often had to share with housekeeping carts and the like, which was ridiculous.

I was told by a lift worker that the broken lift is problematic, has broken down before, and needs big $$ spent on it (I got the impression that they keep doing band-aid fixes). I asked what would happen if BOTH lifts broke and the guy said with a chuckle, "You'd be doing a lot of stair climbing" (I don't THINK so!). He said that even having two working lifts was inadequate for a building this size.

Climbing twenty-nine flights would simply be unacceptable. I'd need a holiday after my holiday! I would ask them to collect my things, check me out, and put me and my arthritic knees up elsewhere! For others like me, the lift situation may be something to enquire about before booking, I think! I shudder to think what a disabled person would do!

Your apartment can be serviced daily, if needed. We found that although the "do not disturb" sign was hung on the door (the flip side was "Please make up my room"), housekeeping had come in as the bath mat was rolled up when I returned. I think it's primarily to count mini-bar items.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay at the Medina Sydney Central. Other than the lift thing, I would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AxellaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, VIC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

If your looking for an apartment hotel, this one is not too bad. I was given a studio room on the top most floor on the building. There is nothing fancy about this hotel, but it is clean and good for the price. Also, the location of the hotel is right in the heart of the CBD.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karzrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2009

Stayed for one night on a business trip. Room was spacious enough with balcony, queen bed & desk. Kitchenette included microwave, toaster, fridge and crockery etc which was useful.

Bed was surprisingly comfortable despite being basic and all linens clean but tired looking. The noise level from the street was very loud despite being on level 27. I barely slept. This is not within the hotel's control obviously and is the price you pay for being in such a central location.

Only a 5 or 10 minute walk to the restaurants at Darling Harbour. No restaurant in hotel but not a problem as you are spolied for choice locally. Breakfast served in cafe downstairs was fine, nothing exciting but cheap by Sydney standards.

Hotel pool was plesant although not lit at 6am when it opened so had to swim in semi-darkness.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#28 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Surry Hills
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Address: 511 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Sydney
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#27 Business Hotel in Sydney
#45 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Sydney Hotel Sydney
Medina Grand Hotel Sydney
Sydney Medina Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing