We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Darling place on Darling Harbour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Ranked #24 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Hanapepe, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Darling place on Darling Harbour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2008

Our family of four stayed for three nights in a two bedroom apartment on the sixth floor of the Medina Harbourside Hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, rooms appointed very nicely and everything was extremely clean. We had a great view of Darling harbor with a 5 minute walk to the monorail station. We would definately stay there again when we return to Sydney.

  • Liked — value and convenience
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalaheo_Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    659
    139
    46
    26
See reviews for
414
767
85
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights during the Australia winter, and booked it mainly because I wanted a one bedroom apartment in a good location that was fairly priced. And the Medina met all those factors. There are two televisions, one in the bedroom and one in the living room. Location was excellent, right next to Darling Harbour and a 5 to 10 minute walk from all the major city centre shopping areas and restaurants. The sights are sort of spread out, but still on average a 20 minute walk from the hotel. There is an excellent Japanese restaurant called Akaneya nearby that has the best soft shell crab. Wagamama’s and a convenience store are literally right next door. The apartment was very spacious, with a nice bathroom, and even has a balcony. The only downside is that the couch was too small, and there are not enough TV channels.

  • Liked — Location, spaciousness, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable couch
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aputty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2008

We stayed at this hotel in May 08 and had a one bedroom apartment facing the harbour. Not particularly impressed with the decor but it was in a great location on Darling Harbour and was more than adequate. However we did return to the hotel for one night in June before flying home and was very disappointed with the room. It was facing the front and therefore we got all the noise and fumes from a motorway. In addition although the room was a non smoking it was situated on a smoking floor. So when our neighbour was in the hallway smoking, the smoke drifted into the apartment. Would stay again but would make sure we stipulated a harbour facing room and a non smoking floor!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kagriff4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2008

my boyfriend and i stayed at this hotel in june 08 and booked through a travel agent.
where the hotel is situated - it was SO hard to find.
when we got to our rooms, our bags werent there and had to call for them to be brought up.
the room was very big- and we just had the standard room. everything was very clean and the bathroom. and i was impressed with the sound proof doors that led to the very noisy street.
restaurants and others attractions, such as the aquarium and wildlife place are right next to the hotel ( our balcony looked right into the wildlife place ) and i would suggest "casa di nico" - an awesome restaurant 30 seconds walk from the hotel.
the bed, sloped when you slept on it- and our power all went out when we plugged in their iron.

the front desk wasnt too helpful, as we asked for directions from the hotel to paddy's markets.
the girl tryed to help but led us the wrong way, and we had to pull over and get directions ourselves.
you would think they would know how to get places 10 mins away from the hotel.
one good thing though, is you needed to use your room card in the elevator to access your floor - which is good security also.
i would probably stay here again for the location - but would want to try another few places first!!
but i will be coming back for the restaurant!!

  • Liked — location and restaurants!! and a cool nightclub close to the hotel
  • Disliked — uncomfortable bed, reception,
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2008

I stay at the Medina for 3 nights while working in Sydney and had a pretty nice stay. The room I was in was a very odd shape and was a bit small, probably due to it being one of their cheaper rooms. The furnishings were all nice as was the bathroom but I was disappointed that there was no bath and only a microwave.

The area itself supposedly goes crazy on weekends but the hotel is a street away from the harbour and pretty quiet. I didn't really like having to walk across the walkway bridge and down the street lift to get to the hotel at night especially by myself as it didn't seem very safe.

I had been looking forward to using the gym but it turned out to have antiquated equipment and some of it was broken. There was only 1 treadmill and 1 bike so I suppose they don't get too many long termers.

  • Liked — Friendly helpful staff
  • Disliked — The gym
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank leelou28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2008

Fabulous place! So near The Rocks, it's just a walk away through the backdoor. A convenience store is nearby for everything you need and the apartment is a perfect size with a kitchenette in case you don't feel like going out to eat (but being so near the Rocks, who wouldn't?!).

Service was good, they hailed taxis for us whenever we needed them. Just a walk across the bridge was the Four Points hotel where our conference was held so it was perfect for both work and play. Victoria street is a little bit of a walk away but it's not too taxing.

Definitely a fantastic place, highly recommended.

  • Liked — The locaion, the rooms, everything!
  • Disliked — no free internet.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DLPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2008

I've just returned from a conference in Sydney and was lucky enough to be booked into this aparthotel by my company.

I had a two bedroom / two bathroom apartment all to myself and a nice view of Kent Street from the main bedroom.

The staff were wonderful - very helpful and polite, and the breakfast was great too (although this isn't included in the room rate).

The location is also awesome - a ten minute walk to Darling Harbour and a five minute walk to George & Pitt street - perfect!

Would definitely recommend this one to anyone who is visiting Sydney.

  • Liked — The location, service, and quality of the room.
  • Disliked — Nothing, all good!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nikkid82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Address: 55 Shelley St | King Street Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Harbourside)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#29 Family Hotel in Sydney
#33 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Harbourside Sydney
Medina Grand Harbourside Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing