We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside
Ranked #25 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Penny and Tim gave us excellent service - Made us feel really welcome from the time we walked in, very efficiently organised various things for us and then Penny stood outside in the pouring rain for 30mins for a taxi for us! We will definitely be back. Lovely central hotel. The rooms are quite small but if you are out all day you dont need a big room. Enjoyed their breakfast restaurant - the Turkish/German guys again make you feel special and nothing is too much a bother.

(we weren't paying for the hotel so can't comment on cost)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for the excellent feedback!
It is really pleasing to read you appreciated our service - please be assured both Penny and Tim will be rewarded and acknowledged for their outstanding personalised service provided throughout your stay.
Once again, thank you for your valuable comments and acknowledgment of good service and we hope to welcome you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside one day!

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    600
    125
    39
    21
See reviews for
369
682
78
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

A wonderful get away for a mixture of work and family time. The staff - particularly Penny and Timothy went out of their way to help us, with everything from helping find accommodation for other unexpected family members visiting, to standing in the rain sheltering us from the rain with a brolly,trying to hail a cab for well over half an hour when our booked taxi didn't turn up! You made our trip- thank you :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review.
We are so happy to read your positive comments in regards to the service you received from Penny and Tim - please be assured that I will share these comments with them both as well as the rest of the team. Feedback like yours makes us very proud.
We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside sometime in the future.

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed there for one night only, however, the experience was great. Very helpful and attentive staff, clean room, perfect location right in the heart of Darling Harbour, as well as a nice swimming pool. We can really recommend staying there!

Room Tip: Pay a bit more to get a room overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thuliswa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for the excellent review! I appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience on Tripadvisor and I am thrilled to read that we have met your expectations, and our service delighted you.
I hope your nice impression will bring you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside on your next stay in Sydney!

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during Christmas. The room was resonably priced, the hotel has a good location in Darling Harbour. Nothing remarkable about the hotel, on the other side nothing particulary bad either. A thing that seems to be common in Australia is that WiFi in hotels is ridiculously expensive. This hotel charged 10 AUD per hour! This is easily avoided by buying a pre paid SIM-card, turn on mobile data access on your smart phone, turn on the portable WiFI hotspot, and you have your own almost free WiFi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BjornT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to read you found the hotel in a good location to explore Darling Harbour.
With regards to internet prices the hotel uses a third party provider therefore our pricing is driven by the costs we are charged - this is common practice all over Australia. We do, however, offer complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby for 30 min every day which may be a more suitable option.
We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back in Medina Grand Harbourside sometime in the future.

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We flew down to Sydney from Queensland on 15th December to catch the Carnival Spirit Cruise Ship for a christmas break ( which was wonderful). We caught the train from station at domestic terminal and got off at Wynard Station and it was a short walk to hotel. We stayed in a standard studio room which we found very clean and tidy. Staff were very good especially Naomi on the front desk. Hotel was in a perfect spot so close to waterfront and restaurants would thoroughly recommend this hotel and when next in Sydney would have know hesitation staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larlou5329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting a positive review on Tripadvisor.
The team at Medina Grand Harbourside is pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and you found the room clean and tidy. We appreciate your comments about Naomi and will make sure these are shared with her as well as the rest of the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Harbourside sometime in the future.

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I don't know how to sum up our stay other than perfect. We arrived at 8am before New Years and were told that our room was not ready yet. The blonde receptionist told us to go to the restaurant and have breakfast whilst waiting. After a walk around the harbour and some coffee we sat down in the lobby. The clerk remembered us and came up with our room keys advising us our room was ready (it was only 10am)! We had a lovely room on level 4 above the pool area - you could see some water and even though being right in the city it was so quiet. Now to the points that I loved about this apartment: it was spacious (like you could live here), had a washer and drier and the kitchen was basically as good as home. We stayed for 4 nights and the cleaning was impeccable every day. The staff was so helpful from anything like dinner recommendations to the best spot to get a photo of the opera house with the bridge in the background - nothing was ever too much!
You cannot fault the location being within walking distance to everything - on New Year's Eve we watched all the fire works right outside the hotel and the midnight ones we could even watch from our balcony. Bliss!
Though the rates were high so was everything else in sydney.
Would come back anytime if back in sydney and will recommend to all family and friends. Medina thank you for making such a difference.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review.
We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed everything during your stay from the location of the hotel to the layout of the apartment. I am also pleased to see that you received the personalised service that we pride ourselves upon - please be assured I will share your feedback at our next monthly meeting.
We hope your nice impression will bring you back to Medina Grand Harbourside on your next visit in Sydney,

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here 30th Nov - 6th Dec. Location is terrific - right on Darling Harbour next to plenty of bars & restaurants and all the entertainment of Darling Harbour. Its right next to Sydney Aquarium . Wynyard Station is four blocks away with direct access to the airport. Sydney Ferries terminal is a short stroll away and there is a new harbourside walkway that takes you to Circular Quay & the Bridge - a great morning run ! We had an apartment & self catered. It was spacious & well equipped with a balcony & harbour views. However you won't have a peaceful drink on the balcony ( though the room was quiet & sleep not a problem) as the hotel is right next to a busy expressway. However a pedestrian bridge / lift gets you across this into central Sydney & the heart of the shopping on George St. There is a mini Coles supermarket & bottle shop on the corner of George & King St so self catering is easy. Its pretty unbeatable for value in central Sydney if you want to self cater. Staff were terrific, helpful & friendly. Wi Fi is available ( 30 free mins then paid for). We would certainly stay here again when in Sydney.

Room Tip: Try for a high floor as far from the expressway as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debseleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your valuable comments on Tripadvisor.
The team is happy to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel being on the doorstep of Sydney aquarium, Sydney wildlife world and all other entertainment in Darling Harbour.
We are also pleased to see that you found the staff friendly and helpful - please be assured that your nice comments will be shared with the team.
In relation to the view all our standard rooms face the city - perhaps a Premier View room will be more suited for your next visit as they all face the opposite direction and you will be able to enjoy a nice and quiet balcony.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Harbourside sometime in the future.

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#21 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 4,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside
Address: 55 Shelley St | King Street Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Harbourside)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#29 Family Hotel in Sydney
#33 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Hotwire so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Harbourside Sydney
Medina Grand Harbourside Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing