We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Ranked #25 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good location, clean and comfortable”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here for a week over new year (expensive, but then so was everywhere else at that time). Great location and despite being in the heart of Darling Harbour was reasonably quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room (a one bed apartment) was very clean with a very comfortable bed and had everything we needed. I only have two gripes, one was that the balcony was a bit pointless as it was very narrow and above a very busy main road and the second was that the wireless internet access was expensive and a very poor connection, for that reason alone I'd be reluctant to book here again. These days most hotels should be able to offer good free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Velma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive review on Tripadvisor.
The team is pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel being on the doorstep of Darling Harbour with fire work display every Saturday night as well as special events.
We are also happy to see that you found our team friendly and helpful and the apartment clean.

Thank you for also providing the feedback regarding the internet service. Unfortunately this service is provided through a third party, therefore we are unable to stipulate the pricing on the service. You would be pleased to know that discounts are offered through internet packages for extended stays as well as 30 min of complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby daily throughout your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to Medina Grand Harbourside one day!

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    707
    148
    50
    27
See reviews for
434
812
86
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three days Over the New Years rate was very high but compared to most hotels over this time we felt reasonable.Reception staff excellent,helpfull,friendly,informative Kate in particular was outstanding in her service and advice.Room typical of Grand Medina apartments,we were upgraded to an apartment from hotel room but were only on the first floor so no view.That being said sound proofing was good we were not disturbed by traffic ,nightclubs.pubs or other guests.Location was wonderful for us we couldn't have been better placed.We did not make use of pool or gym area but they looked very nice.free luggage hold was much appreciated and completed with a smile all in all a pleasant stay with excellent reception staff .We would return but would hope for a better tariff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for the excellent review! I appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience on Tripadvisor and I am thrilled to read that we have met your expectations, and our service delighted you. Please be assured I will share you comments with Kate as well as the team who will be very happy reading your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Harbourside sometime in the future.

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The location was perfect, you have access to everything you need to do and see in Sydney. I had my family staying there and we were able to fill 8 days with activities- the Rocks Market, the Wild Life Park, Harbour Cruise, Shopping at Pitt Street, Ferries to anything we wanted...etc.

My group had 25 people and I thought the room configuration was perfect. Some of us had connecting rooms to create a 2 bedroom apartment while others got a 1 bedroom apartment which was totally worth the extra cost. The rooms have kitchens and a grocery service to bring your groceries to your room if you'd like. The turkish restaurant connecting to the hotel was fabulous as well.

I highly recommend this Medina over any other hotel for a large group and a long stay in Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cowilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the excellent review.
It was a pleasure having you and your party stay with us over the New Years period and we are pleased to read that the room configurations were to your liking.
We hope to see you back in Australia and Medina Grand Harbourside sometime in the future.

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed 4 nights and it was a very pleasant stay.
Staying at darling harbour was a good decision with access to so many restaurants and bars close by and a close walk to Wynyard train station which connects to circular quay.
We had a one bedroom apartment on an intermediate floor and it was very spacious with a well equipped kitchen that felt like a home away from home. The balcony was good for relaxing in the evenings as was the pool and gym. The size of apartment and facilities were good for the price and definitely beats most hotels. The nights were a bit noisy as it was the holiday session and a lot of activity at Darling Harbour, but as we were not on the lower floors the noise was not too much of a bother. The staff also organised transfers to the airport for us on teh way home.

Room Tip: get a room on a higher floor to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACTravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your postive review on Tripadvisor.
The team and I are happy to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found our apartments spacious and well equipped.
We hope to welcome you back to Medina Grand Harbourside sometime in the future.

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Was a little disappointed with the Medina Grand. Location was fine and the staff were very friendly. It was however not the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. This let it down a bit. I guess at the end of the day it wasn't too bad but not the type of place you look forward to returning to after a hard day of sight seeing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review.
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as service provided.
The comfort of our guests is important to us and I have shared your comments with our Housekeeping department to ensure all areas of the guest room are detailed.
I appreciate your feedback and hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to Medina Grand Harbourside again where will endevour to ensure your next stay is much more enjoyable.

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights over Xmas. I found the location being harbour front to be extremely great. Sydney has a fireworks show at least once a week in darling harbour and I was lucky enough to have one while staying here as well.

The rooms are quite a nice size as well. I stayed in the premier studio which had an aquarium view. Not really the best view though because its the back of the wildlife park and aquarium. Balcony is a nice size with a table and chairs on it so you can enjoy the outdoors.

Inside the living area was large enough to fit a 3 seater couch, a single chair, and a round table to seat 4. The galley kitchen leads on from the entry and I have to admit the use of space is great. The bedroom is shut off by sliding Japanese style doors and you are totally closed off from the rest of the area too and it gives the feel of a 1 bedroom as opposed to a studio. Also definitely needing to mention that the staff are always considerate of the 'do not disturb' sign! Definitely a plus in any books!

There is semi outdoor pool and a gym on site for the fitness buffs too!

The restaurant that you can order room service from does chargeback to the room and has a middle eastern twist on meals which is great! Not overpriced and not cheap either. Although pleasantly surprised with the quality of food and coffee.

Minibar rates are also far more reasonable than that of major hotels and a full size fridge means you can also add your own things if you prefer to shop at one of the convenience store or bottle shops within a 3-5 minute walk of the property.

Whether your choice is business or pleasure this place is worth considering. I would stay here again in the future if the opportunity was to come up.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AleksP1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review on Tripadvisor.
I appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience and I am pleased to read that we have met your expectations, and our service and facilities delighted you.
I hope your nice impression will bring you back to Medina Grand Harbourside if you have the opportunity to return to Sydney.

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This was a nice hotel with great amenities. The studio apartment with one room was great with a small with one child. For those on extended travel, it has a washer and dryer in the room which is very nice to have, full fridge, and cooking amenities. Great location for places to eat (near more upscale restaurants) as well as the aquarium. Easy walk from Circular Quay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dupuica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive review.
We are pleased to see that you found our Premier Grand Studio to your liking as well as the location great.
We hope to welcome you back to Medina Grand Harbourside sometime in the future.

Kind Regards,

Malin Wigley
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 177 in Sydney
5,583 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 177 in Sydney
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Address: 55 Shelley St | King Street Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Harbourside)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , Darling Harbour
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#29 Family Hotel in Sydney
#33 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Toga Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Harbourside Sydney
Medina Grand Harbourside Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing