We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great studio apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Ranked #25 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
2 reviews
“Excellent location, great studio apartment”
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Great stay in comfortable studio - washing machine and drier were useful after travelling elsewhere and great to have kitchen facilities including dishwasher even though we only used them for breakfast - convenience store round the corner for juice, milk bread etc. Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Andersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHS, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive feedback.
The team at Medina Grand Harbourside was pleased to read that you found the location of the hotel and the facilities of the premier grand studio perfect for your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Harbourside in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    707
    150
    50
    27
See reviews for
435
815
86
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Stayed overnight in a one bedroom apartment. Booked the hotel for the location and because we also required a balcony. On arrival at 2:45pm we were told there was no hotel parking available (all booked out) yet we could park a couple of blocks up. This was extremely inconvenient. All websites stated parking was $32 per night, but we were charged $40 because the carpark didnt belong to medina. On checkout I mentioned this to a different receptionist who told me that parking should have definitely stayed at $32. Our room was on the first floor and our balcony overlooked a busy laneway and road. It was extremely noisy. The mini bar was ridiculously overpriced. $7.50 for a chocolate bar. for the prive Medina charges, I would book somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieH1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHS, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Thankyou for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Medina Grand Harbourside.
In relation to the parking, while we do advertise that our parking is $32.00 we also advise that we have limited spaces and they are subject to availability on arrival, we have an arrangement with secure parking where we can offer discounted parking tickets of $40.00 for 24 hours for their closest car park to us.

In regards to the minibar, this was a new item and the price list should have been updated to reflect the new cost of this item, I have addressed this with the team to ensure all price lists have been updated.

I would like to thank you providing this feedback and if you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.
Kind regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Stayed for one night only just after the New Year and it is a very spacious, well presented apartment with all the essentials for a stay. It has a small kitchen, and a very small concrete balcony (we were on the aquarium side) which enabled us to see Darling Harbour (just!). The balcony only had 1 chair, so we didn't sit out, but it was nice enough elsewhere in the apartment.
Please be advised that there is a convenience store underneath the hotel which has most food, including pizza, which suited us fine. There is also a bottle shop there too.
One gripe we did have was that on arrival, we were sent away at 1.00 because the room wasn't ready, and told to return at 2.00. On return at 2.00 the room was still not ready and we were told to sit in reception area and wait. No apology, no timescale, which is not very friendly. We were there half an hour - so be aware that your room may not be ready for when they say it will be.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagicFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHS, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Medina Grand Harbourside.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide your feedback and I am delighted you found our location perfect. In relation to the points you have raised, I have addressed your concerns with the housekeeping department to improve our overall guest experience.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
175 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Hotel location is good if you are looking to be close to Darling Habour. Apart from the Hotel's cafe Lime, where the service was exceptionally bad, there is nothing close by for breakfast. The fire alarm went off twice during the night. The air conditioning didnt work for the first two nights despite my complaints and was finally fixed for the 3rd and 4th night stay. Rooms are adequate, however the pillows were old and although four were provided no two were the same, and I am sure you could find better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazza59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHS, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Medina Grand Harbourside.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with this. In relation to the points you have raised I have addressed your concerns with the maintenance and housekeeping department to improve our overall guest experience. I have also passed on your comments to the owners of Lime café.
I would like to thank you providing this feedback and if you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Had a great 2 week stay watching 5th Ashes Test Match. Apartment was roomy and a real home from home and being able to cook and wash clothes was a real plus.
All staff helpful and friendly - cleaning staff brilliant.
Pool small and internet expensive

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireHatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHS, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. The team at Medina Grand Harbourside was pleased to read that you found the location and facilities in the room perfect for your stay with us during the Ashes. We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Harbourside sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

This hotel is located at the Kings Street Wharf end of Darling Harbour, behind Sydney Wildife World - so great location for Darling Harbour attractions and restaurants, short walk to QVB and not too far from Wynyard station - so a great location.

Rooms pretty good - decent size, clean etc - nothing too special but perfect for our girls weekend in Sydney. Staff pretty helpful. Didn't try the onsite restaurant (with so many other great options nearby - why would you?!). Pool area smallish but looked really pleasant - again we didn't try it as were there on a wet weekend. There are 2 small grocery stores in the same block, so easy to pick up supplies for breakfast in the room, and also a bottle shop very close by for pre-dinner drinks.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audreylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHS, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, the team at Medina Grand Harbourside is pleased to read that you found the location and room perfect for your weekend away.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Harbourside in the future.

Kind Regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We did a return stay at Medina for this years New Year's eve. It was our second stay here (the first time 4 yrs ago) and it was a great choice to go back for the location and rooms - which have kitchens, laundry facilities, large TVs and spacious rooms.
Once again it proved a great spot to stay and is easily walkable to everywhere in the city.
I would stay again

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGHS, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Dear JJ25,

The team at Medina Grand Harbourside are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Medina Hotels in the near future.

Kind regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 178 in Sydney
5,593 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Address: 55 Shelley St | King Street Wharf, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Harbourside)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , Darling Harbour
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#29 Family Hotel in Sydney
#33 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Harbourside Sydney
Medina Grand Harbourside Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing