We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adina Central Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central
Ranked #41 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Adina Central Sydney”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Excellent and efficient staff. Room was perfect. Close to Central Station, Chinatown and Darling Harbour. Adjoining café was adequate for food and drink. We were very happy to have chosen this establishment. (We were woken at 12:30am because of a fire alarm, but the hotel could not be held responsible for someone who chooses to smoke in the public toilets.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedinaSydCentral, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear ontheball,

The team at Adina Apartment Hotels are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Central and thank you for taking the time to provide us with great feedback.
We look forward to see you again when you are back in Sydney.

Kind Regards
Shaarn Letele
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    597
    157
    56
    35
See reviews for
421
347
97
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Yes, it was a convenient location, in walking distance to basically every corner in the city and Central Station was just opposite the hotel.
Our studio was compact, or should I honestly say, it was bit small in size. The studio was also a bit tatty and starting to show signs of wear. It was located on the second floor, despite the fact that we asked when booking that we requested a room on a high level. (Why do they bother with the ‘your request’ form when they don't even look at it?) But thankfully, the room was quiet. The old windows had extra modern windows fitted inside their frames, eliminating the city noise to quite minimal.
By the way, while I am on the topic of windows I have to mention one thing, they were very, very, very dirty. Honestly someone should wash them; it was so hard to see anything throw them. The same goes for the walls and carpet because both were dirty and stained and the walls were even chipped. Just a little effort could go a long way and make the room look better.
The utilities in the room were minimal. There was a little kitchenette (if I can even call it that) that was hidden in the cupboard. It contained a small fridge, microwave, sink, toaster, kettle, cutlery and some crockery. There was one mug between us two and it took the hotel staff a long time for them to bring us the second one. They also supplied one sachet of drinking chocolate for two people. Not sure why? Do they think that one sachet serves two or are they watching our weight? Or maybe it's too expensive???
Our bed has an absolutely awful and uncomfortable mattress. Sleeping on it was almost painful.
My bedside lamp flickered when ever it was turned on so I decided not to use it. I was too scared.
Air con was very noisy.
Bathroom was OK with shower over the bath tub. This may not be very comfortable for some with mobility issues. Conditioner, shampoo, soap were supplied as well as shower cap. The bathroom fixtures where you keep soap on was loose. It was impossible to keep anything on it.
On a side note: they had a giant bottle of Cool Ridge spring water standing on the vanity unit. The price for this bottle was $ 6.50. That's crazy even for hotel prices. I don’t think that brand of water even costs $3 in the supermarket.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank komsAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedinaSydCentral, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear komsAustralia,

Thank you for posting the comments regarding your recent stay at the Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Central.

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback.
I have noted all your comment in regards to your stay at the hotel and wanted to assure you that this feedback has been passed onto the relevant departments for review as it is below standards.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Regards,

Shaarn Letele
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Note ... It is easy to mix up the Adinas and Medinas. This review is definitely for the the now Adina on 2 Lee Street ( the old post office). My husband and I stayed here in February for 5 nights with our sister-in-law and friend. We has a two bedroom apartment which had everything we needed for eating/cooking in. Laundry. Safe. Plenty of space. Generally all in all we had hoped for considering the length of time. Right at the top of George Street and near to Central Station ..... So if you want to walk you can, if not! The wifi is a bit of a pain but once you get the idea ... 1/2 hour free every 24 hours ( not everyday), just plan your time. We were busy sight seeing, bit I did my emails at night and sent them in a morning during facetime. If needs be Haymarket Library (George Street/Hay Street) offers free wifi during opening hours. The hotel was originally Medina and was 'take over' in Jan 2013. It's ready for a bit of updating, and windows need a wash but otherwise we enjoyed our stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. Thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jadders58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedinaSydCentral, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Jadders55,

The team at Adina Apartment Hotel are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Central and thank you for taking the time to provide us with great feedback.
We look forward to see you again when you are back in Sydney.

Kind Regards
Shaarn Letele
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

By no means the most expensive serviced apartments in Sydney but more than met our needs for a 5 night stay. Very well equipped, spacious and comfortable. Location is within easy walking distance of the Central Station was great for airport transfers and our excursion to the Blue Mountains even if on the fringe of backpacker land. No noise disturbance from trains or other. The free 555 city centre bus stops nearby providing easy access to Circular Quay etc. (The only gripe concerns wifi access which is chargeable in the room although 30 minutes free unsecure access per 24 hour period can be obtained in the lobby area.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_ivycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedinaSydCentral, Front Office Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear john_ivycottage,

Thank you for posting your feedback regarding your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Central. We are pleased to hear that the hotel location has suited your sighteeing plans.

We look forward welcoming you back at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Central.

Regards,
Jonathan Picard
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Loved our 3 night stay at Adina Central. Hotel fantastic, facilities great, and the location amazing! A stones throw from Central railway which takes you anywhere in Sydney. 4 stops from Airport and 20 minutes by train to Olympic Park. 10 minute walk to Darling Harbour, or catch the bus, train, or monorail. Very close to China Town and Paddy's Markets.
Room was fantastic with open plan kitchen,dinning and lounge. Main bedroom and bathroom upstairs and includes laundry facilities and dishwasher. Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedinaSydCentral, Front Office Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Sallymelb,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Central. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the hotel's facilities and found the location of the hotel convinient for your needs.

We look forward welcoming you again at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Central in the near future.

Regards,
Jonathan Picard
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great location - right beside Central Railway Station, and at the end of George Street. If you are keen, you can walk into the heart of the City, or catch a train out to Bondi Beach for the day!
Reasonably priced 2 bedroomed apartments - great for a quick weekend away!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaniewellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedinaSydCentral, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear beaniewellington,

The team at Adina Apartment Hotel are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Central and thank you for taking the time to provide us with great feedback.
We look forward to see you again when you are back in Sydney.

Kind Regards
Shaarn Letele
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I had a pleasant stay at the Adina - reception staff were consistently WONDERFUL - very helpful, efficient & friendly & the undisputed stars of the hotel. My fiance and I had been travelling for a long time and arrived in Sydney early and the kind staff let us check in early.
The hotel itself is a gorgeous old building & judging by others' photos, some of the rooms are spacious, light and attractive looking.
This was not my experience. Ultimately I paid for what I got which was a clean and adequate but tiny room. The kitchenette was tucked inside a cupboard & adequate for heating food and preparing a light breakky but no more than that. The bathroom was clean but the fixed glass barrier only extends to halfway down the bath and shower water splashes out on the floor - potentially treacherous.
The bed was very comfortable - great sleep. Location, just opposite the train and bus stations was excellent. Added bonus was an awesome coffee shop, Coffee Trails downstairs & round the corner - don't miss a great way to kick off your day in Sydney..

Room Tip: Pay more and get a larger, brighter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rinderpeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedinaSydCentral, Front Office Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Rinderpeste,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am delighted to read your praising comments in regards to our team which have been passed on! I am also glad that you enjoyed the facilities and the location of the hotel. next time, try our 1 bedroom apartment or loft 1 bedroom apartment which give you plenty of extra space.

We look forward welcoming you back at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Central in the near future.

Regards,
Jonathan Picard
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Surry Hills
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central
Address: 2 Lee St | Sydney, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#40 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive Sydney Central Hotel Sydney
Medina Executive Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing