We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“November 2011” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central
Ranked #42 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“November 2011”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed for two nights in November 2011. First experience when entering the hotel was to be greeted by an indifferent receptionist. My one bedroom apartment that promised ‘views of Sydney cityscape (George Street and Henry Dean Plaza )’ actually had a view of a brick wall (photos available). A small veranda with a very small table and 2 chairs and a view of a brick wall - very disappointing if a tourist.
The restaurant was closed so no meals or breakfast available and when I asked why this was not stated on booking I was advised it had been closed for three months for renovations.
The WiFi and cable internet was not working. There were 13 steep stairs to the bedroom and the shower was over the bath that was itself quite small. Would not recommend for anyone with any type of limitation to mobility.
The bed was low and the mattress was of a lower quality compared to similar priced hotels I have stayed at in Sydney. There were two pillows and two bolster cushions on the bed when I arrived. I requested two additional pillow which did arrive in 5 minutes. There were numerous stains on the bedroom carpet that appeared unsavoury and scuff marks on the bedroom tables and walls.
The air conditioner was quite noisy.
On the positives. I did not use all the amenities but the washing machine and dryer located in the bathroom appeared to be in very good condition. The small kitchen had a number of pans and cooking implements, a microwave and a dishwasher which also appeared in good condition. A lot of space in the room but little substance. I would never go back as too many quality hotels in Sydney to choose from.

Room Tip: Not at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    551
    151
    53
    32
See reviews for
396
311
88
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Overpriced dodgy contintal breakfast packs, poor basic maintenance of rooms made up for by the convenient location.
If you don't need the convenience of the train station, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beerstud64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedinaSydCentral, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear Beerstud6,

Thank you for posting the comments regarding your recent stay at the Medina Executive Sydney Central.

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback.
I have noted all your comments in regards to breakfast packs and maintenance at the hotel and wanted to assure you that this feedback will get passed onto the relevant department for review.

Any feedback is of the highest value to us, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel as I would like to learn more about your stay.

Regards,

Shaarn Letele
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Location fantastic,but I was disappointed with the room. The windows were permmantly closed and the air conditioning didn't work that well. Considering it was a four star hotel I was expecting a little bit better.

Room Tip: Check to make sure air con works before taking the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tui08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedinaSydCentral, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear Tui08,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Medina Executive Sydney Central.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel.

I'm sorry to hear that your Air Conditioning was not working to your satisfaction - I wanted to advise you that we are currently in the process of monthly maintenance on our system.

On your next stay please request a room with opening windows as we do have a few onsite and if we have them available during your stay we would be more than happy to accommodate you in one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive Sydney Central in the future.

Regards,

Shaarn Letele
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed in one of the loft rooms, and had a great view, lots of light and a spacious room.
Though the noise carried through the room due to open mezzanine layout for the upstairs bedroom, it was nice to have the high ceilings for a sense of space in front of the mezzanine section.

Pool was perfect for a few laps or a splash with a child - surrounded by nice greenery too.

If staying in a loft room, some of them have effectively a brick wall in front of the downstairs window/balcony (part of the ornate facade). Something I wasn't keen on, but was easily swapped to another room by the friendly staff.

And when the clothes dryer wouldn't work they were able to repair it by putting a new drive belt in themselves really quickly - impressed!

A good cafe around the back of the building called Coffee Trails was a decent spot for brekky & they had decent bread for sale too. Haymarket restaurants are right at your doorstep so a huge array to choose from.

A tip in the same spot around the back of the building is a direct entry to central station.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedinaSydCentral, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear rwps,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Medina Executive Sydney Central. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found our rooms to your liking. Thank you also for your comments in regards to the service I will make sure this is passed onto our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive Sydney Central in the future.

Regards,

Shaarn Letele
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

Located next to Central Railway Station, great access to public transport. Walking distance to Paddy's Market and Darling Harbour.
2 bedroom apartment very well laid out, with good quality fittings. Limited parking which is shared with adjacent youth hostel.
There were a couple of minor maintenance issues (blown light bulb, and, loose toilet roll holder). The biggest quirk are the access swipe cards. We has many issues accessing the elevator, and speaking with another guest (who has been there a few weeks), this seems to be an ongoing issue.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicsqr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedinaSydCentral, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear vicsqr,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Medina Executive Sydney Central. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found our rooms to your liking.

I'm sorry to hear that you found our maintenance not up to standard - I wanted to advise you that we have replaced the light bulb and fixed the toilet roll holder. Also, we are currently in the process of investigating the lock system in our lifts.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive Sydney Central in the future.

Regards,

Shaarn Letele
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

The pros...
Great location near train station and top end of Sydney. Buses and cabs stop right outside
Staff are really friendly and helpful
Very clean and tidy
Really quiet. Even though you're next to the YHA and train station I never heard a thing. Fully booked yet no noise from other guests.

The cons
Rooms are tiny, the images make it look bigger due to the cropping
Because the rooms are small they feel very impersonal, you feel like you're in a small cube.

But....the biggie.....the bed is appalling. There is a large spring that has broken through on the left hand side but on the right hand side the bed springs have collapsed to it tilts to the floor. Didn't really get a good nights sleep

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natsnaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedinaSydCentral, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear natsnaps,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Medina Executive Sydney Central. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found our rooms clean and tidy. Thank you also for your comments in regards to the service I will make sure this is passed onto our team.

I'm sorry to hear that you found the bed appalling - I wanted to advise you that we are currently in the process of replacing all older beds.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive Sydney Central in the future.

Regards,

Shaarn Letele
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
344 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

The room I stayed in (penthouse loft) was of a decent standing overall. It came with a balcony, however there is not much to admire in terms of the view (of grimy Central Station). It is unbelievable that for $200 a night there is no breakfast included, and also very mean-spirited that I could not claim Virgin Velocity miles because 'your employer paid for the room, not you': in a decade of business travel, I have never heard of anything like that. Air conditioner could not be set above 23, which was a problem as it was cold that night. Blanket on bed looked old. Shower did not function very well (lack of pressure). It's also shocking to see that they charge you for Wi Fi and how high the fee is (again, when you're already spending $200/night).
Agree with reviewers who say that the neighbourhood is a bit iffy, maybe dodgy, and definitely grimy and not pleasant. Also, that the staff seem young/inexperienced (but that seems to be the case in many hotels/hospitality businesses in Australia).
I would stay again, but not at that price level, and they need to include breakfast/internet.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fmackUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedinaSydCentral, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear fmackUk,

Thank you for posting the comments regarding your recent stay at the Medina Executive Sydney Central.

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback.
I have noted all your suggestions and wanted to assure you that this feedback will get passed onto the relevant department for review.

Any feedback is of the highest value to us, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel as I would like to look into your velocity points and learn more about your stay.

Regards,

Shaarn Letele
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Surry Hills
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Mercure Sydney
#57 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central
Address: 2 Lee St | Sydney, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#40 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive Sydney Central Hotel Sydney
Medina Executive Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing