We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark, dingy and noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Ranked #84 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed April 26, 2009

The down side of the medina marting place is the location. Right in the middle of the business district and surrounded by tall buildings meaning that you never get any sunlight. Plus your room is opposite a large office block so you open your curtains to see people at work at their desk. Be prepared to be woken up from 2am - 6am with loud rubbish collections right outside your window most nights. Having stayed at other medina apartments this one is just in the wrong location and in nead of a bit of a makeover.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

972 - 978 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2009

Excellent little apartment style hotel hidden away in a side street.
Reception very friendly and helpful. Rooms just great, equipped with washer and dryer and even a fully equipped kitchen! beds comfy, large flat screen tv, great the the beijing opening ceremony. Great central location, and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank naths1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2009

A real gem.

Serviced apartments of the highest quality, friendly helpful staff, superb location just off Martin Place.

Stay here, you will not be disappointed!!!


10/10 for the Medina serviced apartments!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel for the Australia Day long weekend. Neither of us had been to Sydney before. We found the hotel extremely easily and it was in a fantastic location. Very handy to public transport, shopping and the main Sydney attractions.
We booked a one bedroom appartment and were given a room on the third floor. It did get a bit noisy when the garbage trucks came, but other than that the appartment was clean and tidy. The kitchen was very nice and the bed was quite comfortable.
I'll be staying there next time.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank eliz0685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

My boyfriend and I decided to stay in the CBD to be within walking distance of most of the things we wanted to see in Sydney and we were worried that King's Cross would be too noisy.
We selected the Medina because of its location and reviews of spacious rooms. Yes, our one bedroom apartment was spacious and clean, and yes the location was excellent. However, we had a very difficult time getting a good night's sleep there. Each night a garbage truck or recycling truck would collect dumpsters in the alley where the hotel is located. The trucks always came between 11 PM and 5 AM. We were on the 4th floor and found this noise to be very disturbing. It's hard to fully enjoy a vacation when you are awakened in the middle of the night by the sound of churning glass.
The next time I am in Sydney I will try a different hotel and request to be on a higher floor.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LndnCalling03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2008

Because a hotel is old it need not be shabby and grubby. We stayed for one night recently and so pleased it was not for any longer. On checking into room found long black hair all over the white bed linen. The friendly receptionist came up to the room and commented , "Oh that wil be the housekeepers hair!!" We were offered a larger room on a higher floor and while there was no hair evident on the bed the whole room was less than spotless. The shower was grubby, and as another reviewer has mentioned you would not walk around in bare feet.
Location was perfect, but definitely hard to find. A glass in the kitchen needed to be washed before you could drink out of it.
If management made some effort to refurbish this property and give it a really good clean it may tempt people to stay more than once.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MACS77B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2008

We stayed in this property for two weeks in the beginning of November 2008. We found the apartment to be very clean, spacious and well equipped with ever home comfort. The staff are very friendly and efficient, with maid service everyday.

We did have some concerns about staying here after reading other reviews and their warnings over room darkness and noise at night time. With this in mind, we asked for an upper floor room, which we got. Althought the room was still rather dark, due to the apartment block being down a small side street, this did not cause us too many concerns as you don't spend long in the apartment when on holiday! With regards to the noise during the night, we did notice this on occasions, but overall, the benefits of being so central and staying in this location outweighed this issue.

As stated in previous reviews, this aprtment block in well located in the CBD area, close to everything and easy walking ddistance to Circular Quay and Darling Harbour etc.

Would certainly recommend staying here if you want a value for money, central, spacious, clean apartment.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#41 of 181 in Sydney
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#66 of 181 in Sydney
315 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place

Address: 1 Hosking Pl, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Sydney
#76 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $116 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Classic Martin Place Hotel Sydney
Medina Classic Martin Place Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing