We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hidden Gem in the CBD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Ranked #74 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Pensacola Beach, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
374 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great Hidden Gem in the CBD”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We enjoyed a bright, clean and airy efficiency apartment with a washer and dryer. We were on the third floor and there was absolutely no noise thanks to a double door system onto the patio even though there was lots of construction nearby. Technically a serviced apartment, our beds were made up and towels exchanged daily. The view of nearby offices did not affect our stay as we really only ate dinner and slept in the room. There are all sorts of restaurants and a Coles grocery nearby. The front desk arranged for a flat rate ($45) driver to take us to the airport on the morning of departure. He was there 15 minutes early. This may not be the place to stay for someone with physical handicaps that would preclude getting over a 20 inch high entrance to a small shower. It presented no problem for us. Also wireless internet access in the room is expensive - $59.95 for three days. I would look forward to staying at this property in the future. Note: Allow plenty of time before your flight departure time - traffic to the airport can be heavy, there are lots of people processed through the airport. It took us over an hour to get checked in, through immigration and security before arriving at the gate and we were there before the ticket counter opened.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSinPNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie B, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear BSinPNS,

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

With regard to internet we do also provide 30 minute per 24 hour free access in the lobby area would you find the room charge fees too expensive. As mentionned the hotel is located in the centre of the CBD which does not provide a view yet easy access to all areas of Sydney.

We would be more than pleased in welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Nathalie Barbe
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    374
    147
    43
    34
See reviews for
187
290
63
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed in a few Medina apartments over the years and this is not one of the faces. It was good however I found it a little dark and not as nice as the harbourside but I do prefer staying by the water. Overall it was nice and clean and I would recommend it to anyone that needs a little more space in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCMelbournecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie B, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear LCMelbourneCity,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to receive you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Nathalie Barbe
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lord Howe Island, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great location in the centre of Sydney within easy walking distance of Circular Quay, Botanical Gardens, Pitt Street Mall and Darling Harbour.
Stayed in a one bedroom apartment for 2 weeks with my 5 year old grand daughter and found the apartment was more than adequate, with all cooking utensils provided and a washing machine and dryer!
If you are looking for views this is not for you as the apartments overlook an alley into an office block, but I think the location makes up for this.
The balcony is spacious and windows are double glazed so we did not have an issue with noise.
The front office staff are very friendly and helpful.
We did have to remind the contract cleaners to change our bed linen and vacuum the floors after a week, but they did change the towels every day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easternhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear easternhome,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your comments on to all of the staff.
Regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Apart from being a really good location, this was rather disappointing.

Shower was a nightmare! On average it was taking us about 5-10 mins to adjust the temp of the water!
Be warned, its a high step into the cubicle (partner bashed her knee a couple of times getting in and out!)

Carpets looked like they needed another going over with a hoover. Apartment was quite dull.

One night at a place like this is fine, wouldn't recommend a long stay. Luckily we didn't spend much time in the apartment as we were out exploring.

Have to mention staff were amazingly helpful and friendly.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jubes1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Jubes 1471,
thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I'm sorry the apartment didn't meet your expectations. Your comments have been noted.
I have passed on to the Staff your comments about them.
Regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is centrally located on what looks like a dead end alley but there is a walk thru. It's located near a lot of trash bins and they pick up at 5:00 A.M. It is a smelly street. The room comes with a refridgerator which we had to unplug to get a good nights sleep because it is in the same room with you. If you have bad knees and hard to bend then this is not the place for you. The shower stall walls come up to my knees and it was hard for me to get into the shower. Bring your own bar soap , the soap they have is not good. The staff tho, I would rate a 10+ . They are extremely knowledgable and friendly. When it came time to leave the girl at the desk went up to the main street and hailed a taxi for us. I dont know if I would stay here again only because it is noisy .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingkind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Travelingkind,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
We do have a great location, easy to walk almost everywhere.
Thank you for your comment about the staff,I'll definitely pass that on to them.
I was surprised to hear about the noise. Since the double glazing it has reduced the noise infiltration to the rooms considerably.
So glad that you enjoyed your visit to Sydney.
Regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a one bedroom apartment on the 4th floor. We didn’t have any noise issues as the hotel is tucked away in a laneway (garbage truck did come one morning, but I didn’t hear it). It was clean and spacious. Front desk were helpful and arranged a private shuttle bus for us to the airport. It only cost a bit more than a shared shuttle but was worth it as they provided a child seat and we did not need to pick up other passengers along the way. My only gripe was the air conditioning. It did not turn up higher than 15C! So we had it off most of the time which was fine because it wasn’t that hot. The apartments are in a good location – short walk to Pitt St Mall and Westfield food court (level 5 has a great ruben sandwich), Circular Quay. The closest train stations are Wynyard and St James (Wynyard is probably closer) if you chose to take the train to the airport instead.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starnite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear starnite,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our accommodation to your satisfaction. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again at our door.
Regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

In Sydney for business and stayed 2 nights. I was using the ferry, so very convenient to the Quay. I didn't take advantage of the kitchen at all, but will on future visits. This was a great value piece of accommodation in Sydney.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desertmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear desertmob,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
We are very happy that you found our accommodation to your liking & satisfaction.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 174 in Sydney
627 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#66 of 174 in Sydney
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place

Property: Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Address: 1 Hosking Pl, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Sydney
#68 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Classic Martin Place Hotel Sydney
Medina Classic Martin Place Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing