We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good full apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Ranked #84 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed February 11, 2013

As other reviewers say entrance is not fancy at all, the building is quite old but the studio was great, with everything you need to live there. Full kitchen, washer/dryer, very roomy only the shower was uncomfortable (too low, you have to bend to wash your hair, if taller than 1.6 m). It was clean but they did not vacuum the carpet in the 6 days we stayed. Anyway very good price/quality relationship. WiFi free only available at lobby for 30´ every 24 hours, toherwise very expensive. I would like to make a campaign for free wi-fi in every hotel. If it is free in most caffes why not hotels?
I would definitively return

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Fernando 1806,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
We are very happy that you were satisified with our accommodation.
I apologise for the vacuuming not being done. You should have mentioned it during your stay so that we could have had a chance to rectify it.
We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards, Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

874 - 880 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here for five nights on business, as it was pre-paid I was not aware of the room rate. It's not actually located in Martin Place, but in a small laneway ( Hosking Place ) next to Martin Place but the end of the laneway exits onto Pitt Street
My room was on the 5th floor and had a well equipped kitchen with microwave, toaster ,full size fridge, crockery & cutlery as well as laundry with washing machine & dryer. Separate sitting room with table and lounge and bedroom with large double bed including in room safe operated by room swipe card.
Swipe card also used to gain access to property after hours
Large balcony outside bedroom unfortunately it faces an office building.
As other reviewers have mentioned this property is in a great location in the northern part of the CBD. Even the southern part of the CBD around Chinatown is only a leisurely 20 minute walk. Complimentary free wifi is available for guests in the lobby limited to 30 mins per day which was adequate for my purposes.
In room wifi is available at extra cost. My first night was hampered by an in-considerate loud group of guests who insisted on sitting on their balcony two floors above playing loud music and talking until 2.30am which didn't help my work performance the next day, thankfully they were gone the next day! The 5am garbage collection by a truck from somewhere nearby woke myself and all my work colleagues every day we were there. The only concern that I had was the combination bath/shower. For a reasonably fit 50+ male I was able to get into and out of the square bath/shower cubicle with no problem but I feel that this may not be the case for and older person or someone with mobility issues as the side wall of the cubicle is about 50cms in height (as the photo shows). Despite this minor issue I would definately recommend this property as a great place to stay in the centre of Sydney.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Mickact,
thank you for taking the time out for writing your review.
We are happy that you did enjoy your stay with us.
We are aware of the points you raised in your review.
I was surprised about the noise from garbage truck comment as we haven't had a complaint about that for a long time since we installed "double glazing"in all rooms.
Best regards, Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Second stay in this hotel - this time in a studio apartment. It had a full kitchen. Don't be put off by the alley way entrance. The hotel is centrally located for all the major attractions. We stayed on level 6 this time it was very quiet. Room was promptly cleaned. The gym was clean, well equipped and the equipment in good working order. The staff are pleasant and friendly without being intrusive.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tessa1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear tessa1963,
thank you for taking the time out to write a review.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us , a second time.
I will pass on your comments to my Team.
looking forward to your next stay with us.
Best regards, Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great location, 10-15 mins walk to anywhere you would need to be in Sydney. Stayed here for 8 days over christmas so the fact the balcony overlooked shabby offices wasn't a problem. Good clean spacious apartment with free washing facilities, the wi-fi was a bit of a rip off though. Overall a very good experience.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank NPudsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear NPudsey,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in a good location making it easy for visitors to get around Sydney without hassles.
The wi-fi is outsourced hence the charges. We now have "free" wi-fi for 30minutes for each 24hour period available only in the Foyer for our guests.
Best regards, Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Classic Martin for 4 nights after arriving in Sydney on a cruise ship, and then for another 3 nights after visiting the Cairns and Brisbane areas.

After staying there, we felt that the TA reviews we read were very indicative of the hotel. The location is one of its biggest assets, close to Circular Quay and the Opera House. Public transport is very close by, and a weekly 'zone 1' pass at $43 gets you just about everywhere you might want to go ion the Sydney area. Our apartment was well equipped for our needs, especially the in-unit laundry facilities after a 19 might cruise. The unit was quite dark due to it's location, and the shower a challenge for the height-challenged (e.g. me) or the elderly.

We were pleased that they kept some luggage for us between our stays, as we did not need our more formal wear while in Cairns or Brisbane. Our suitcase was waiting for us in our unit when arrive for our second stay.

One main complaint is the ridiculous cost for wireless access. We made use of free wireless at the local McDs and even on the ferries.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear trvlr,
thank you for writing your review.
We are always striving to help our guests as much as possible.
The wi-fi is outsourced therefore charges are applicable.
It was great you were able to take advantage of our location for your stay in Sydney.
Best regards, Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We had 2 short stays at this hotel. Staff were friendly and efficient. The apartment was clean and comfortable - comes with separate lounge, kitchen with basic amenities including dishwasher, large fridge and microwave, also washer and drier. Only problem we found was the hard to access shower which is a deepish bathtub arrangement and not particularly suitable for older visitors. Otherwise all good.

Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Denise C,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best regards, Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We loved our stay here and it was a fabulous price!

Do stay here if:
*You want the advantage of apartment living. We had a full kitchen, bathroom, and laundry. It was great being able to run clothes through the washing machine and dryer before we headed to our cruise ship.
*You want to be right in the heart of the city and easy walking distance to Circular Quay, the Royal Botannic Gardens, Martin Place, trains etc.
*You want to be a 5 min walk to a supermarket.

Don't stay here if:
*You want a view. The view out the windows is of an alley/office buildings.
*You are elderly or infirm. The shower has about a 70cm bath base that you need to step up and over to get into the shower. There is a handle on the wall but best to be pre-warned in case this poses an issue.

FYI - There is a pedestrian path at the end of the alleyway that takes you past the magic shop out onto Pitt St next to a stationary store with red sign. Turn left and in under a minute you're on Martin Place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NixieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear NixieNZ,
thank you for writing your review.
It is good to hear that you found our property to be ideally located for your visit and that the apartment was suitable for all your needs.
Best regards, Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#41 of 181 in Sydney
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#66 of 181 in Sydney
315 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place

Address: 1 Hosking Pl, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Sydney
#76 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $126 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Classic Martin Place Hotel Sydney
Medina Classic Martin Place Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing