We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place to your Saves list
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Hosking Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The apartments are tucked away, down a little alleyway and upon arriving, my friend and I thought, "Oh no, this doesn't look very good". But we were so, so wrong. They had one person at front desk, who was very helpful and checked us in straight away. The halls were lowly lit and we prepared for a bit of disappointment, but we opened the door and were gobsmacked. We were so thrilled with the room. The staff fulfilled our request of twin beds instead of 1 queen bed, the lounge area was spacious, the bathroom was very clean and we had a huge balcony (granted, our view was of the alleyway, but there was no escaping that). I couldn't really fault the place (except check out was 10am, and was 11am at another hotel we stayed at), especally for the price I got it for. It's in a fantastic location, and the staffmember we asked for directions was very helpful. I really loved this place and wish I could just live there. It would be idea for a family, a business trip, or anyone having a longer stay. In what I thought was a linen closet, there was a washing machine and the kitchen was fully equipped. I plan to stay there again on my next trip to Sydney.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShonaLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear ShonaLR,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
The Team & I are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were so happy with your room.
We look forward to greeting you again some time in the future.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Warrington
Level Contributor
197 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel as part of a 5 week trip from the UK to Australia
including stopovers in Hong Kong and Tokyo during October and November.
We caught the airport train to St James station, cost relatively expensive for a 15/20mins journey. Its about 10mins nearly flat walk
Stayed for 5 nights, in a one bed apartment
The hotel is in the dead end road Hoskyns place right next to what looked like a very popular
Japanese restaurant and a pedestrian cut through to Pitt street
Apartment had lounge with dining table and chairs couch and patio doors onto large balcony
Bathroom decent size and good shower over the very high shower tray/mini bath
Large comfortable bed with large wardrobe..
Kitchen very well equiped.
All the facilities you would want on a long trip washing machine and dryer in cupboard
Staff (Rosa?) very helpful at reception, check in and out swift.
Hotel shares building and address with resedential apartments.
Hotel very close to CBD, Martin Place.
Its 5 / 10min walk to Circular Quay and all the ferries and Botanical Gardens.
10mins or so from Darling Harbour. Opera House is 10/15mins walk.
Lots of restaurants at Darling Harbour, and down towards Opera House, also several places on the Rocks also 10mins away
Highly recommend if your not bothered about having a view from your room

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller0065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear traveller0065,
thank you for taking the time out to write a review.
So glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property.
I will pass on your comments to my Team (especially Rosa).
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

I visit Sydney CBD 2 to3 nights a week each 2 weeks
I am so happy to have a Sydney home great manager and reception staff my room is always excellent there is a tiny balcony I can sit at very quiet in a typical Sydney lane 50 or so meters from Martin place
sure there is no view BUT REALLY WHO NEEDS THAT!
A short stroll to all the best restaurants to the most beautiful harbour city IN THE WORLD
if you are hungry try the Japanese BBQ all you can eat 3 meters from your front door
This is my Sydney pad and I recommend it
Please leave room for my visits heh!heh!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank leonard4979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Leonard4979,
thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write your review.
We are very happy that we are fullfilling your expectaions of accommodation service.
I have passed your comments on to the Team.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londres
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at these apartments for 3 days in September. We arrived bleary eyed at 6 am. Naturally the room wasnt ready but the receptionist was very nice and we thought we d return a bit later, only around 10 am and found we could get our key which in fact turned out to be a one bedroomed apartment rather than a studio. Very pleasant surprise. Couldnt fault the apartment. Absolutely everything there. Full kitchen, washing machine, drier, ironing table, iron, everything really. Only drawback is that there is no view whatsoever. If you re at the front you see a dark little street and the back with the balcony looks at the back of sad looking buildings. A shame as it would have been nice to have breakfast on the balcony but it would have been in full view of the workers next door. However we didnt book an apartment to stay in it and it is really centrally located.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GS1200Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear GS1200Lady,
thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review about your stay with us In September.
The team & I are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This small hotel is located in a great location, but also tucked away in a backstreet, within easy walking distance to Circular Quay, trains and shops. The hotel itself is in the CBD district. Rooms very spacious, and the price we paid (compared to other hotels in the area), was excellent value for money. What made it so good was the price we paid to what we were expecting and the fact it wasn't just a room like other hotels, but a studio so more space to roam about. Definitely recommended, especially if you want to explore Sydney!

Room Tip: No rooms have views, one side of hotel has view of office blocks, so if you sleep wearing 'casua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreekBen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Benscott182,
thank you for taking the time out to write your view.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our location as you have pointed out is one of our best assets.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were thrilled at the convenient central location of this hotel and we walked to Circular Quay, Kings St wharf/Darling harbor, Mrs MacQuarie's chair along with city shopping. Got the train from the airport and got off at St James station and only a very short walk to the hotel - no diificulty pulling cases!!
Went to the Opera House for a show and walked back to the hotel at about 11pm feeling very safe and secure taking about 20mins max.
The in-room kitchen facility was such a treat as were the washing machine and dryer tucked in a cupboard in the bathroom.
Good quality picture on the TV and heating / cooling managed by us was very adequate.
Beds very comfortable.
I was worried and had difficulty getting under the shower OVER a bathtub and for some reason it was quite a high step up and over into this bath. Younger travellers wont be worried at all ... but I urge older one to take great care.
We had a great holiday very much because this hotel was so convenient, clean,secure, and comfortable.
[On the last day we checked out early but were pleased they offered to store our cases until we were ready, later in the day, to catch the train back to the airport!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enVacance55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear enVacance55,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
We were happy to hear that we met all your expectations.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Travelled to Sydney to celebrate my wife's 70th. The Medina Classic was just perfect for us for it's location and service offered. The rooms were clean and very quiet. We used the public rail and ferry service which are close by and the wife just loved the shopping. The highlight was dining at Circular Quay then attending the opening night of Madam Butterfly at the opera House. Both these events were excellent

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davmar144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Davmar144,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us during your trip to Sydney.
Regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside
Central Business District
Travelodge Phillip Street Sydney City Hotel
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#27 of 181 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,983 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place

Address: 1 Hosking Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Sydney
#60 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Classic Martin Place Hotel Sydney
Medina Classic Martin Place Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing