We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A week of enjoyment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Ranked #70 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A week of enjoyment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Travelled to Sydney to celebrate my wife's 70th. The Medina Classic was just perfect for us for it's location and service offered. The rooms were clean and very quiet. We used the public rail and ferry service which are close by and the wife just loved the shopping. The highlight was dining at Circular Quay then attending the opening night of Madam Butterfly at the opera House. Both these events were excellent

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davmar144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Davmar144,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us during your trip to Sydney.
Regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    368
    142
    42
    32
See reviews for
185
280
62
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
192 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

After arriving in Sydney post a nearly 24 hour journey, I was over-joyed to get upgraded to a one-bedroom and be allowed to check in when I showed up (8am) rather than have to wander in my existing state for hours. The size of the apartment was generous, with a separate kitchen, living/dining area and bedroom, besides a very large balcony. The downsides - the building is inside an alleyway (Hosking Place) overshadowed by the neighboring office buildings. It is gray during the day all the time. You'll have to pop your head out into the distance to see if there is any sun! The other comment I will make is that the furnishings and fixtures were all pretty dated, and the shower is too high up and has the pressure of a fire hose. Everything is comfortable and functional enough, but the apartments are definitely due for some renovations down the line. That being said, the place provides good value, and is an easy walk to just about everything you could want in Sydney's CBD.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rahul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Rahul P,
thank you for taking the time out to write a review.
I'm glad that you still enjoyed your stay with us while you were in Sydney.
Your comments have been taken on board.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We Stayed here November 2011, and we were very happy with it. It does have an obscure location, with the entry being in an alley, but other than that, its a perfectly good place to stay. Our room had a full kitchen, living area and a bedroom with 2 single beds, and a washer and dryer to do laundry. The rooms are well kept and clean. We felt very comfortable there. There was also a large patio area too. There isn't much a view, but we don't care about stuff like that, we're never in our hotel room to care if our window faces a bunch of brick walls. The location was perfect in our opinion. 10 minute walk if not less to Circular quay and no more than 25 minutes anywhere else in the CBD area. Literally steps from Martin Place where we could catch buses and trains to where ever we needed to go, such as Coogee Beach/Bondi Beach, and further shopping areas like the Paddington area. The hotel is also only a couple minute walk to a large grocery store where we stocked up on food and wine to save on dining expenses. When first doing research, we grappled about being either close to Darling Harbour or Circular Quay...in my opinion, being close to Circular Quay is way better. Would stay here again if I ever go back to Sydney.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j_ho_holla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear J_Ho_Holla,
my Team & I are very pleased that you found our establishment to be very pleasant for you during your stay in Sydney.
We love to get feedback because we are always striving to give our guest happy memories.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed one night, booked through Medina website and got a great price, arrived about 4 hours before checkin and room was ready. We were also upgraded to 1 bedroom appartment.
Very clean and staff at reception were very helpful and curtious.
Previous reviews advise of the hotel being down a dodgey alley. This was not an issue and at no time did we feel unsafe.
The location is fantastic, 5 min walk to Circular Quay of the city Centre.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Brisvagas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear John_Brisvagas,
we are always happy that our guests take the time out to write their reviews. Thank you for yours.
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

The good things: The location was fantastic. It was round the corner from the train station, only a few blocks from the shops (including a big Woolworth's) and only 10 minute stroll from the Botanic Gardens.

The taxi driver couldn't find the hotel, so dropped me off on Martin Place where I easily found the entrance (i think the taxi driver was just a bit stupid) so ignore comments about finding the hotel.

The kitchen was also good (although there wasn't any milk given which i thought was strange given tea and coffee was provided)

Disappointing aspects: The room was dark, and although had a great balcony it just looked into office blocks. There was also a weird smell, which I couldn't shift (not bad exactly - just weird). I think the main problem was that i had stayed in a Medina Classic in Melbourne, and it had been amazing. So although this wasn't terrible it just didn't match to my recent experience.

The price for the location was good, but I wouldn't stay here again - mainly due to the shower which had the most ridiculously high step to get in/out.

I spent months researching the hotels, so this was a disappointment and I wish i had paid the extra to stay in the other Medina apartments

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meka26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Meka26,
thanks for taking the time out to write your review.We always appreciate any feedback from our guests. As we are only 7 floors and surrounded by tall office blocks natural light can be limited.
As you say though our Location is one of our best assets.
I'm sorry you were disapponted but hopefully when you return you'll be able to stay at of the other Medina properties.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Tucked away up an alleyway is the Medina Classic Martin Place. Fantastic serviced apartments. Full kitchen area with fridge, cooker, toaster, kettle, washing machine/dryer. Sydney is SOOOO expensive so this place is great for that, we went to Coles supermarket which is just 10 mins away (ask reception) and stocked up he kitchen which saved us money. Comfortable bed. The bathroom is ok but the shower cubicle is a little odd as you have a very high step into it, I expect some older / infirm people may find it difficult. Staff very friendly and helpful. Yes there was a crash of bottles every morning from the refuse collection but the double glazed windows help with that and it didn't bother us either as we are early risers.
Medina is very close to Circular Quay and as I said through a little alleyway onto Pitt Street. The rate was very reasonable and considering the location was a great deal. Very clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaStorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear FionaWarren,
thank you very much for submitting your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that evrything was to your liking.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed here with my daughter in late June. It's a great location and we got a fantastic price. Staff were extremely polite and very helpful, and the manager was attentive and friendly. The room had everything we needed, was very quiet and the bed was sooo comfortable. It's not luxurious, but it was clean, comfortable, close to everything, and fantastic value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegangelical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Vegangelical,
thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review.
We are very happy that you found our accommodation very much to your liking.
Hopefully we'll be able to greet you again in the future.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#67 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place

Property: Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Address: 1 Hosking Pl, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Sydney
#65 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Classic Martin Place Hotel Sydney
Medina Classic Martin Place Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing