We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic! Location Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Ranked #70 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Location Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Tucked away up an alleyway is the Medina Classic Martin Place. Fantastic serviced apartments. Full kitchen area with fridge, cooker, toaster, kettle, washing machine/dryer. Sydney is SOOOO expensive so this place is great for that, we went to Coles supermarket which is just 10 mins away (ask reception) and stocked up he kitchen which saved us money. Comfortable bed. The bathroom is ok but the shower cubicle is a little odd as you have a very high step into it, I expect some older / infirm people may find it difficult. Staff very friendly and helpful. Yes there was a crash of bottles every morning from the refuse collection but the double glazed windows help with that and it didn't bother us either as we are early risers.
Medina is very close to Circular Quay and as I said through a little alleyway onto Pitt Street. The rate was very reasonable and considering the location was a great deal. Very clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaStorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear FionaWarren,
thank you very much for submitting your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that evrything was to your liking.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    368
    143
    42
    32
See reviews for
185
281
62
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed here with my daughter in late June. It's a great location and we got a fantastic price. Staff were extremely polite and very helpful, and the manager was attentive and friendly. The room had everything we needed, was very quiet and the bed was sooo comfortable. It's not luxurious, but it was clean, comfortable, close to everything, and fantastic value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegangelical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Vegangelical,
thank you very much for taking the time out to write a review.
We are very happy that you found our accommodation very much to your liking.
Hopefully we'll be able to greet you again in the future.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dapto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I recently stayed here as a result of being moved from medina grand as they didn't correctly complete our booking and over booked rooms, I was most disappointed as when we arrived the room was very outdated and dirty, basin had some sort of gunk running off it, pans had food cooked on them, plates still had food on them.

TV had no reception and the balcony was a joke, so big with a tiny table and chair in the corner of the area.

The gentleman at receptino was very helpful, however the gentleman that took over later on that night was very rude, we called to book a taxt and waited for about 30 mins til we called him again to confirm, he was very rude and said "It will be here soon" then rudely slammed the phone down. He was staring us up and down when we left the building to go out for the night, making us feel uncomfortable.

This place certainly needs to be upgraded, it is a disgrace to the reputation of the Medina.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Andrea C,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
I'm very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
If you had reported this to Reception at the time I'm sure we would have been able to rectify the problems.
I'll be speaking with the Housekeeping Dept. to find out why the cleanliness of the apartment wasn't up to the usual Medina high standard.
I'll also be speaking with the Night Receptionist to find out in more detail what happened.
I do know we have problems sometimes with taxiis. Depends on the time of day/night as well as the destination as to how long a taxi responds to the call.
Sincerely, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Large apartment, new inside, great balcony but no views, clean bathroom. Staff were friendly and it was a reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda_12_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Linda_10_12,
so glad to hear that you enjoyed our accommodation during your Sydney stay. Thanks for taking the time out to write a review.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed in a fully self-contained studio apartment with cooking and laundry facilities. The location was very central and the room was quiet as the hotel overlooks a little lane. The room, kitchen and bathroom were very clean and well equipped. There was no view to speak of. It would have been nice to have a little touches as coffee for coffee plunger and cold water in fridge just to get started. The staff were very helpful. Would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HOK_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear HOK_50,
thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about your stay with us and for taking the time out to write a review.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

My Husband & I recently stayed at The Medina Classic in a one bedroom apartment. The location is just fantastic. Easy walking distance to all attractions around the CBD.
The negatives were that the apartment does not get much natural light although having such a large balcony but we could cope with that as we were backed on to the alley. The manchester could do with an update. Sheet & doona cover looked a bit old & worn. The bathroom shoud NOT have the attempted Bath/Shower combo as I too found it very high to get yourself into. Easy to slip when trying to get back out. I note that a lot of previous reviews do point this out so it would be great of management could upgrade this area.

The Positives were the location. So close to all the attractions in the CBD. The apartment size was also great after a long day wandering around the city it was nice to have a seperate bedroom to have a "nanna nap". Huge balcony. The kitchen looked like it was brand new & all the facilities you need.

Overall, we would highly recommend the Medina but we also hope that managers do take heed of our reviews for future travellers & also for our return stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneneA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear JaneneA,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
As with all Hotels there are always refurbishment plans in the works. The bathroom is one item on the list of these plans but to date no timeline has been set.
Hopefully we will be able to greet you once again at our door.
Regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temora, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Had read other reviews, so knew apartment was down an alley with no view. Could not have been happier with facilities, nice large bathroom, great kitchen & very comfy bed. As I am a light sleeper, was a bit worried when other customers complained of noise, but didn't have any problems. Everything was spotlessly clean. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julesc113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear julesc113,
many thanks for your review. We are very happy that you found our accommodation to your liking. I will share this review with my Team.
Regards,Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#67 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place

Property: Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Address: 1 Hosking Pl, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Sydney
#65 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Classic Martin Place Hotel Sydney
Medina Classic Martin Place Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing