We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Ranked #80 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Oshawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
“Close to Everything”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

It is a little out of the way to find,but only a few min. walk to everything you want. Circular Quay, opera House, the Bridge etc. Coles Grocery Store is only a few blocks away as well as all the shopping you want. My friend ard I are, two widows in the 70s and found it perfect. The staff especialy Nishanth, Rosa , Quin Li and Kurt, went out of their way to help us in every way and were very friendly. We were there from Nov. 18 - Nov.24 .2011 We cooked some meals and took lunches with us when going out except on an excursion where it was supplied. We welcomed all the Tea, and Coffee provided. Beds were comfortable and if there was noise we didnt hear it. The only thing we didnt like was the high step into the shower, otherwise, we thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Medina and Sydney. We are from Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor around the corner from the elevator. We did not have a balcony,but didnt r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
Dear Lorraine,
thank you so very much for taking the time out to write a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your comments about the staff members you mentioned with them.
Kind regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    414
    166
    45
    38
See reviews for
207
314
65
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Location is awful. Sometimes apparently even the taxis can't find it. Tight little side road nearly touching office building opposite. The apartment itself was well appointed so no complaints there. The building is in the CBD so everything closes after office hours. The building has no restaurant/cafe or swimming pool. It does however have a "multigym" in the basement!!!
Top Tip - put some clothes on before you open your curtains otherwise the office workers will see you in all your glory!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydney69England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Dear Sydney69England,
thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed the accommodation despite our location.
Regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I visited Sydney and needed somewhere central to shops & handy to Circular Quay. I like to stay in serviced apartments to open up the eating options and for the additional space. This was my first time at the Medina Martin Place (but I had previously stayed at the Medina Executive). Location wise it’s incredibly central. It’s pretty well hidden which helps keep it quiet. There are really good public transport options (Bus and rail at Martin Place). I had a one bedroom apartment with separate lounge, diner, kitchen with a good size bedroom & bathroom. The bathroom had a shower but no bath. The whole place was very clean and functional we had an exceptionally large balcony – could have hosted a cocktail party! The Staff were very helpful and sorted out any problems quickly & efficiently.

Room Tip: Request Room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Dear Peter S,
thank you for taking the time out to write a review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best regards, warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We just spent one night at Medina but were impressed with room cleanliness and size. Everything there for a longer stay. Convenient location, very central. Staff helpful and even posted my mobile charger back to me, which I left behind. Would recommend for a mid-range hotel at a good price.

Room Tip: Some said front was noisy but we did not find that. Was very quiet night we stayed even though weeke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mavincentwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, December 24, 2011
Dear PerthVincents,
thank you for taking the time out to post a review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

This place is a score. It's a little tough to find, and with a car I guess you have to pay for parking. We had no car, and we loved this place. Amazing location for the cost of the room. I can't imagine you will find a better deal. Warren is a pro at the front desk, and the entire staff was great. I've only been to Sydney once, but I highly recommend this place. Internet is a little high, but that was consistent all across Australia, in my opinion.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoydDobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear LloydDobbler,
thank you very much for your comments.
It is always appreciated by myself & my Team when we hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay so much with us.
Regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The Medina offers clean, comfortable and rather spacious rooms within the central business district of Sydney. Ten minutes in one direction and we were at the Sydney Opera House, and ten minutes in another and we were at the Bridge or in the Rocks. It was also very easy to jump on public transportation.

Finding the hotel is a bit tricky at first. It is located in an alley way so you have to really search to find it, unless you know what you are looking for. Hoskings place isn't well marked, but we did find it eventually!

In any case, I was impressed by the cleanliness and loved having laundry facilities. It certainly isn't super luxurious, but it is spaciuos, practical and great for a longer stay. There is a grocery store a few blocks away too, so that you can outfit a full size fridge with snacks and such. It would be great for a family looking to pack lunches or eat breakfast before a long day out, although my husband and I did this even though it was just the two of us.

Overall, I would recommend a stay here in the future! There is another Medina down by the Aquarium, and I don't know how that one faired inside, but it looked to be around more restaurants than this particular location did, if that is of importance to you. Although this location was nice as we really could walk to everything.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear jeanine R,
thank you for taking the time out to write your review.
I'm so glad that you found our property very much to your liking.
I will pass on your comments to my Team.
regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

A bit hided in an alley right in the middle of the CBD.
Average turist hotel.
Nothing specially good, but nothing specially bad neither.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterson76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenrj, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear Petersen7,
thank you for providing us with your opinion.
Regards, Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Surry Hills
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place

Property: Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Address: 1 Hosking Pl, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Sydney
#54 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Classic Martin Place Hotel Sydney
Medina Classic Martin Place Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing