We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we picked it”
Review of Macleay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macleay Hotel
Ranked #48 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2009

We spent 11 days here immediately before Xmas, staying in a serviced apartment with a harbour view and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The amenities are good, the servicing could not be faulted, the accoutrements were of a proper standard and the reception staff were friendly and helpful. We felt comfortable there.
The location and surrounding area are both good, it is on a bus route and there is a railway station within a reasonable walkable distance.
We have no hesitation in recommending it

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Leedsroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

808 - 814 of 907 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2008

Arrived from New Zealand on tour greeted at reception with a warm welcome, at asking how we are and formaly greeting us. We had booked a Harbour view room we were on the 7 floor room nu 710 from this room you could see over the Botanical Gardens Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House it got a wow factor from us at night dusk you can see the bats flying over the park to the Manly its a great sight. Room well equipt plenty of space and the with all you need, Buses right outside hotel, did not use pool as to cold and not enough time. We would deffinetly stay there again and recomend to our friends Pam And Ian Dawes

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ian025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2008

The only available room was one of the cheaper 'district'' view rooms, not one of the ones with a harbour view but when we arrived we were offered one with a little peep of Elizabeth Bay and its own patio area which was great. (BBQ also available)
The first floor is a smoking floor but this wasn't a problem and I'm usually very fussy about the smell of cigarette smoke. All in all we were very pleased with the hotel, and I agree with other comments: clean, smallish, very convenient, friendly helpful staff, great location good kitchenette with a cook top available as well as a microwave, etc.and good value.
A few very small gripes: no bedside lights but when we asked we were immediately given one. Fairly quiet where we were although we could hear the chairs being scraped on the floor in the upstairs room, fortunately not all night!
Finally the perfumed smell in the room was a little overwhelming and I sneezed a fair bit for the first night, fortunately warm enough to have the windows open but I do wonder why hotels use these highly scented products. Is it to mask some other smell? like cigarette smoke>?

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OliveNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

We stayed here for 6 nights in August and had a great time. The room though very small was very clean with excellent views. The beds were comfortable and the small kitchenette was very functional.
There is a building going up next door, actually about 12 inches is next door, so that was quite noisy in the morning but it got us up and out.
It is a little bit of a walk to the Circular Quay but very nice through the Botanic Gardens. You can also take the bus, i think it is #311 right from the front door, or the Kings Cross Train Station is about a 5 minute walk. There is a grocery store directly accross the street.
I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

We stayed here in 2007 and found it to be excellent. We had just come from a terrible experience with another hotel in the area and came here for respite. To say the staff were friendly and helpful is a complete understatement. They answered every question and assisted us in every humanly possible way they could. The room was beautiful and modern, and the view of the harbour bridge, opera house, and elizabeth bay was breathtaking. Being serviced, we barely had to lift a finger. Very central location to everything, 1/2hr walk to opera house/circular quay, 5min walk to kings cross station. Beside bus stop. Opposite woolworths, cafes/restaurants/shops only steps away. Highly recommend staying here for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank holidaylover16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2008

Some time ago I searched for accommodation in Sydney, Australia, for two senior ladies who were spending a week there prior to boarding a one-month cruise.

We had several suggestions through the chat lines and finally settled on the Macleay Serviced Apartment Hotel. We were warned that it was only 3 1/2 stars and was a little shabby but conveniently located, safe and clean - our main priorities.

For us it was an excellent choice. The Macleay is located in Potts Point. There are a number of coffee shops and restaurants within close walking distance and a food store and pharmacy are located right across the street. The bus stop in either direction is a short walk from the front door and the city bus will take you to Circular Quay in one direction and the railway station in the other

We had a studio apartment and were able to make our breakfast and occasionally lunch. The apartment was on the eighth floor and from our window we could see the Sydney harbour bridge and the opera house. In the other direction was a marina. The view was unobstructed and a real asset.

In fact, one morning we saw the Mercury (which was to become our home away from home for a month) sail into the harbour. It's not often one can say, "We saw our ship come in!"

Although the furnishings could do with an update, our apartment was certainly clean and comfortable. It was serviced daily. The rate was reasonable given Sydney's prices that we found to be high by Canadian standards.

The best of all, however, was the staff. Although the accommodation was only 3 1/2 stars, the service was 6 stars. The staff was exceptionally helpful and couldn't do enough for us. In other locations we had stayed in excellent hotels but none exceeded the service provided by the staff of the Macleay.

Lest you think I am on the payroll of the Macleay, nothing could be further from the truth. However, if we ever return to Sydney - a real possibility because we fell in love with the city - we are going to stay at the Macleay.

If you are going to stay there, ask for a room with a harbour view. There is another building going in next to the Macleay that may obstruct the lower floors so ask for the eighth or ninth floor.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank prinret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager048, Hotel General Manager at Macleay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2008

The Macleay Hotel has just completed a major refurbishment of our studio apartments.
Each Studio Apartment has been completely stripped out and renovated - with new windows, ceilings, carpet, kitchens, electrical,
tiling, furniture, soft furnishings, LCD flat screen televisions and iPod docking stations.
The rooms are looking stunning and we are expecting a 4 star rating when we are assessed by the AAA later in the year. The Macleay now has everything to offer for the discerning traveller, newly renovated apartments, stunning views, friendly and helpful staff and one of the best locations in Sydney City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

A friend and I recently stayed for 5 nights at the Macleay, we thoroughly enjoyed the visit...great location we walked through the Botanical Gardens to Circular Quay on several occassions, we ate at surrounding restaurants.
We found all the staff to be most friendly and helpful and would definately go there again, would always pay the extra for a room with a view.
The room and pool area was smaller than we thought it would be from looking online but both were adequate for our needs.
We both thought it was good value for the money we paid.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank w-j-b1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#40 of 186 in Sydney
4,584 reviews
Hotel Challis
#57 of 186 in Sydney
831 reviews
Meriton Suites Zetland
#13 of 186 in Sydney
3,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#53 of 186 in Sydney
718 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#22 of 186 in Sydney
6,429 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#33 of 186 in Sydney
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macleay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macleay Hotel

Address: 28 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#30 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $124 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macleay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Macleay has one of Sydney's most coveted locations in stylish Potts Point, with captivating views of Sydney Harbour or The Brige & Opera House. The views and location are million dollar, but the rates for our self contained studio apartments with kitchen are very affordable. You can stroll to Sydney's most famous landmarks, walk to Circular Quay or be in the heart of the city in just five minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Macleay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Serviced Apartment Sydney
Hotel Macleay Serviced Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing