We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price”
Review of Macleay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macleay Hotel
Ranked #48 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2014

It is quite hard to find reasonably priced accommodation of this standard in Sydney, let alone in Potts Point.

The Macleay is in a great location on the main street of Potts Point, close to a supermarket (across the road), restaurants, cafes and only a 5 minute walk from Kings Kross Station.

The staff were friendly and helpful and whilst the place definitely isn't fancy or flash, it was clean and comfortable and all this for a price rarely seen for hotels in the middle of Sydney.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crax81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (880)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

541 - 547 of 880 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had booked in advance after a lot of search and comparison.
We were not disappointed. It was spacious, clean and comfortable.
Best part was the location. Its 3 kilometres from darling harbour and almost all the major attractions of Sydney are on the way there. The opera house, harbour bridge, central quay, Imax, Madam toussads, sea life, tower eye, St. Mary's cathedral, Kings cross. You can catch a ferry to Manly and a train or bus to Bondi beach. We were in Sydney for 3 days and didn't mind the walk so found this to be perfect. Stone's throw away from king's cross for food and drinks and party. Cafes and departmental stores right opposite and the staff were very helpful in giving us all this information at the moment we check in.

Room Tip: Be sure to check with the hotel on your requirement of double bed or 2 single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Midhun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Spent 9 days a the Macleay and it is worth every penny/cent/peso whatever your money is.

The staff are friendly and very helpful - the rooms clean, tidy and the mini kitchen is ideal what with a Woolworths Supermarket less than 50 yards across the road. From a stop almost right outside the Hotel, Bus route 311 takes you right down to Circular Quay in approx 15 minutes.

If you want Hilton and Holiday Inn standards then this is not for you but it is extremely good value for Sydney and well worth the visit. .

Room Tip: Ask for a Harbour view, the extra cost is well worth it for the magnificent view across to the Harbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellothere084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I stayed in this hotel on my 5 days tour to city of Sydney. As usual saw ratings on tripadvisor and booked 2 harbour facing rooms for 4 nights and I must say decision turned out to 100% correct.

The property is located at fantastic potts point location on 7 mins walk from Kings Cross famous for the night life. The view from harbour facing rooms were simply fantastic. Harbour Bridge, Opera House & Sydney downtown can be seen in one glance.

Rooms were relatively small, especially bathrooms but they were clean and well maintained. Staff was helpful. Kitchen was small but was well equipped with all necessary utensils. We were able prepare our morning tea coffee in room itself.

Easy access to public transport and woolworths supermarket is right across the street. This was very convenient as we could buy some snacks fruits. They also sell mymulti passes which was really helpful. There are many coffee shops and restaurants nearby.

I would definitely recommend this hotel as my experience was awesome.

Room Tip: Harbour facing room above 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rushikesh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We go to Sydney a couple times a year from Adelaide. We stay in the Macleay at Potts Point.For us it is perfectly positioned in a leafy street. It is close to lots of restaurants, super market. and bottle shop. Just up the road is the Fountain and Kings Cross.
There a bus stois across the road which is about 15 minutes to Circular Quay via the City.
The Hotel has rooms overlooking the City, Bridge and Opera House. It has also rooms looking over the Harbour down to the Heads.The staff are very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NEV46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Spent two nights here over the weekend, found the staff nice and helpful from the front desk to the cleaning ladies. Excellent location with Kings X station in walking distance, Supermarket and some great cafes for breakfast were just over the road. The view from our room on level 9 was my main reason for booking and we weren't let down, it is stunning. The room itself let it down a little - it was clean but didn't feel particularly fresh. It was also fairly cold and there didn't seem to be any way of heating it up, plus the bathroom really needs a revamp. Unplugged the fridge because it was really noisy. However there is certainly a good argument that whilst in Sydney, a room is just a place to sleep rather than spend too much time and the location and helpfulness of staff are more important aspects.

Overall not bad for the money and i would stay here again, although I wouldn't go out of my way to.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

It's always a mystery when booking hotels, despite reviews, however, we were really pleased with this choice. Really helpful and friendly staff, clean and bright room with lovely morning sunrise view over the water. Convenient quality supermarket close by, easy walk to Botanical Gardens, bus to and from city, restaurants and takeaways close by. Will recommend and use again.

Room Tip: Ask for room with harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Auntydidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4,389 reviews
Hotel Challis
#51 of 179 in Sydney
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#55 of 179 in Sydney
692 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#83 of 179 in Sydney
2,523 reviews
Meriton Suites Zetland
#12 of 179 in Sydney
3,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macleay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macleay Hotel

Address: 28 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#30 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $127 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macleay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Macleay has one of Sydney's most coveted locations in stylish Potts Point, with captivating views of Sydney Harbour or The Brige & Opera House. The views and location are million dollar, but the rates for our self contained studio apartments with kitchen are very affordable. You can stroll to Sydney's most famous landmarks, walk to Circular Quay or be in the heart of the city in just five minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macleay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Serviced Apartment Sydney
Hotel Macleay Serviced Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing