We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, Nice Staff, Great Price for Sydney”
Review of Macleay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macleay Hotel
Ranked #44 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Location, Nice Staff, Great Price for Sydney”
Reviewed September 17, 2008

We stayed here for 6 nights in August and had a great time. The room though very small was very clean with excellent views. The beds were comfortable and the small kitchenette was very functional.
There is a building going up next door, actually about 12 inches is next door, so that was quite noisy in the morning but it got us up and out.
It is a little bit of a walk to the Circular Quay but very nice through the Botanic Gardens. You can also take the bus, i think it is #311 right from the front door, or the Kings Cross Train Station is about a 5 minute walk. There is a grocery store directly accross the street.
I would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — Location and price for Sydney
  • Disliked — Room was very sterile
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    368
    102
    28
    17
See reviews for
202
319
85
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

We stayed here in 2007 and found it to be excellent. We had just come from a terrible experience with another hotel in the area and came here for respite. To say the staff were friendly and helpful is a complete understatement. They answered every question and assisted us in every humanly possible way they could. The room was beautiful and modern, and the view of the harbour bridge, opera house, and elizabeth bay was breathtaking. Being serviced, we barely had to lift a finger. Very central location to everything, 1/2hr walk to opera house/circular quay, 5min walk to kings cross station. Beside bus stop. Opposite woolworths, cafes/restaurants/shops only steps away. Highly recommend staying here for a great holiday.

  • Liked — service, rooms, view
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaylover16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

Some time ago I searched for accommodation in Sydney, Australia, for two senior ladies who were spending a week there prior to boarding a one-month cruise.

We had several suggestions through the chat lines and finally settled on the Macleay Serviced Apartment Hotel. We were warned that it was only 3 1/2 stars and was a little shabby but conveniently located, safe and clean - our main priorities.

For us it was an excellent choice. The Macleay is located in Potts Point. There are a number of coffee shops and restaurants within close walking distance and a food store and pharmacy are located right across the street. The bus stop in either direction is a short walk from the front door and the city bus will take you to Circular Quay in one direction and the railway station in the other

We had a studio apartment and were able to make our breakfast and occasionally lunch. The apartment was on the eighth floor and from our window we could see the Sydney harbour bridge and the opera house. In the other direction was a marina. The view was unobstructed and a real asset.

In fact, one morning we saw the Mercury (which was to become our home away from home for a month) sail into the harbour. It's not often one can say, "We saw our ship come in!"

Although the furnishings could do with an update, our apartment was certainly clean and comfortable. It was serviced daily. The rate was reasonable given Sydney's prices that we found to be high by Canadian standards.

The best of all, however, was the staff. Although the accommodation was only 3 1/2 stars, the service was 6 stars. The staff was exceptionally helpful and couldn't do enough for us. In other locations we had stayed in excellent hotels but none exceeded the service provided by the staff of the Macleay.

Lest you think I am on the payroll of the Macleay, nothing could be further from the truth. However, if we ever return to Sydney - a real possibility because we fell in love with the city - we are going to stay at the Macleay.

If you are going to stay there, ask for a room with a harbour view. There is another building going in next to the Macleay that may obstruct the lower floors so ask for the eighth or ninth floor.

  • Liked — The staff provided excellent friendly and helpful service. We were very comfortable.
  • Disliked — This is an older facility and could do with a little update.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank prinret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager048, Hotel General Manager at Macleay Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2008
The Macleay Hotel has just completed a major refurbishment of our studio apartments.
Each Studio Apartment has been completely stripped out and renovated - with new windows, ceilings, carpet, kitchens, electrical,
tiling, furniture, soft furnishings, LCD flat screen televisions and iPod docking stations.
The rooms are looking stunning and we are expecting a 4 star rating when we are assessed by the AAA later in the year. The Macleay now has everything to offer for the discerning traveller, newly renovated apartments, stunning views, friendly and helpful staff and one of the best locations in Sydney City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2008

A friend and I recently stayed for 5 nights at the Macleay, we thoroughly enjoyed the visit...great location we walked through the Botanical Gardens to Circular Quay on several occassions, we ate at surrounding restaurants.
We found all the staff to be most friendly and helpful and would definately go there again, would always pay the extra for a room with a view.
The room and pool area was smaller than we thought it would be from looking online but both were adequate for our needs.
We both thought it was good value for the money we paid.

  • Liked — Location and views from upper storey rooms, great staff
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank w-j-b1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2008

We booked this hotel in May '07 for NYE '07. It wasn't our first choice because of reviews and location (was concerned about the red light district). It was also very expensive - but you have to expect that in Sydney on New Years Eve. When we booked, we were told that there were only rooms with city views left, but that that would get us an invite up on to the roof for the fireworks at both 9pm and 12pm. However, when we checked in, we were gobsmacked by the view we had. Unobstructed views of the Opera House and Harbour Bridge to our left, and the north headlands to our right (7th floor, can't remember what room). We literally could have sat in our room and had one of the best views in the city! We had an Australian friend staying in the room with us who lives just outside of Sydney, and she said that it was one of the best view of the fireworks that she had experienced, and without having to fight your way through the crowds to get a drink. In the morning, we went down to collect the local newspaper and found that the photo of the fireworks on the front page had been taken from the roof of the Macleay for the 3rd year running!! Yes, the rooms are a bit dowdy, but the staff were polite and helpful, and the hotel is not actually in the red light district. We walked through that area a couple of times, but it was amusing rather than threatening!! Actually didn't see anything to write home about other than a homeless man being propositioned for $8!! The rooms are compact - especially for 4 adults, but we were warned of that by the hotel before booking. The kitchenette is small with few amenities, however, with some creativity, we managed to cook a full English breakfast for 4 adults on New Years Day!! If you are thinking of heading to Sydney for New Year, and don't want to get caught up in the crowds, we would highly recommend the Macleay.....but don't expect the Ritz!!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Dowdy rooms
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stroppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2007

We stayed at this hotel from May 31 to June 1, 2007. The staff was very friendly, helpful, professional. The asked what we wanted to see
and gave us a map and made recommendations. I did some washing and they were very keen to give me change.

The view was awesome! We had room 910 with an unobstructed view of the opera house and bridge. Even saw the flying foxes from our room at dusk. We paid US 135.00 per night. Maybe this room is always occupied due to the view and that is why it was in need of updating. Overall the room was a bit small for 2 adult and 2 children ages 9 and 4 but we did not spend much time in it. I would not let them play
on the floor. It needs updating bad. If it were not for the view one may want to reconsider. We were not in the room but to sleep.
Woolworths grocery store is across the street and there are restaurants and bakeries very close. It was a nice walk from the hotel to the gardens and opera house. Noise was not a problem.

My photos are too large to attach but if you would like email me and I can send somee of the viewe from the room.

  • Liked — The view!!!!!!
  • Disliked — It was run down. Needed updating.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank CAMP97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2007

First of all, you should definitely pay for a room with a view. It is maybe an extra A$15 (EUR10) per night, and for that you also get a quieter room, away from the traffic. How many times will you be coming back to Sydney?

Over the course of a week, we stayed in 3 rooms here, all of them different. The Marriott it ain't. The air conditioning broke in the first room, after it was unable to cope with being turned off for an hour (huh?). The second was slightly less convenient - on which more below - and since we hadn't fully moved in we plumped for the one next door to our original room.

The staff are excellent and were able to check us in at 11am - rooms are cleaned in an order which suits the guests, which sounds obvious but rarely happens.

It's fair to say that the accommodation is a little basic and could probably do with some renovation. You are not going to be able to cook a gourmet meal here, but it's fine for an omlette and toast. Chief amongst the problems are a lack of storage space in many rooms. Our first room - a wooden floored space - had drawers within the bed. The second had basically nothing, and the third was ok.

There are two types of room with a view. Some face the eastern end of the harbour, others face the Bridge and Opera House. (The hotel won't guarantee which you will get by paying for the view, but it's worth asking anyway.) The latter is, as you would expect, spectacular. However, the rooms here seem to be more dated, and they are also over the road, which means more noise, though 9 floors up that won't bother anyone used to living in a city. The views facing the other way are not so bad either, it should be said.

The location is not bad. Most people, including my 70 year old mother-in-law, could walk into the CBD and back comfortably, though it's rather hilly (hence the views). Kings Cross station is a 10 min walk away, and from there you can get to Bondi or to the central district. If you're trying to get to the main tourist attractions, walking might be more convenient than changing trains. Since the bus only runs every half hour, we didn't bother with it. Taxis run past all the time, including 5am when we had to leave for the airport. Don't bother booking.

Yes, Kings Cross is a red light district, but it isn't so bad (and it's one of the few places in the city where you can eat late - everyone else seems to go to bed early here). Anyway, the hotel is outside that strip, in a fairly pleasant mainly residential street.

Overall, we'd be happy to stay here again and probably wouldn't bother looking anywhere else, unless the rooms with views were all unavailable. But there's no doubt that the rooms are of variable quality, and it's worth asking to see a couple if there are any free.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Having to move because the aircon broke down
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hungarianelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,011 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#43 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#36 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#37 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macleay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macleay Hotel

Property: Macleay Hotel
Address: 28 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#30 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macleay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Macleay has one of Sydney's most coveted locations in stylish Potts Point, with captivating views of Sydney Harbour or The Brige & Opera House. The views and location are million dollar, but the rates for our self contained studio apartments with kitchen are very affordable. You can stroll to Sydney's most famous landmarks, walk to Circular Quay or be in the heart of the city in just five minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macleay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Serviced Apartment Sydney
Hotel Macleay Serviced Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing