We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location and reasonably priced”
Review of Macleay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macleay Hotel
Ranked #48 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The great things about the Macleay are the location and the very friendly and helpful reception staff. It is a few minutes walk either to the Kings Cross area for public transport and or in the other direction to Woolloomooloo, the Botanic Gardens and the harbour-front walk.

The hotel is on a quiet, tree-lined street with wide pavements and elegant cafes - there is a sort of Paris feel to the place. There are some up-market restaurants right around the corner and the closer you walk towards Kings Cross the cheaper the restaurants and cafes become.

The rooms are referred to as apartments but they are really too small for that with very basic cooking facilities. Don't expect too much of the 'harbourview' promise - one side has pretty views directly onto Elizabeth and Rushcutter Bays and the other more distant views of the bridge. But you won't be spending much time in the rooms - more so in the cafes around or on the harbour.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (871)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

605 - 611 of 871 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is fine for loction BUT we came for a holiday work on the exterior of the building onthe sixth floor started at 7.00am swearing workmen woke us could not rest in the afternoon bloody hammer drillimg The response was apauing from management one notice in the elevator saying noise would not start till 9.00am when work started at 8.00 but they sat outside the window for half an hour before. How trip advisor could possiblily award this place is beyond the pale ensure that you make sure you can rest on your holiday. The triple rooms are very small if you have three suitcases I wish you luck NOT HAPPY

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Chrtiistopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

After being to a konference in Melbourne I went on a week's holiday in Sydney. I stayed at Macleays Hotel in Potts Point, only half an hour's walk through the Botanical Garden to the Opera House. The rooms are very bright, well maintained and very clean. The staff is very service minded and always ready to assist you. I would definitely choose to stay at the Macleay Hotel when ever I visit Sydney again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view to Elisabeth Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelleFrandsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Excellent choice for a moderately priced serviced apartment. Located in Potts Point with amazing views of the harbor and city sky line. We stayed on the 9th floor. Has all the amenities needed with an array of shops, laundromats, markets and countless restaurants/cafes on your door step. The kitchenette is small but suits all your needs for a couple of days. A small list of things to fix: more sturdy ironing board, better tv reception, slightly bigger bar style fridge would be preferable, non slip mat in bathtub and more power points. Other than that would highly recommend and would visit Macleay's again!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room for the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tassh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spent 4 days in this hotel in Sydney's Potts Point and did not have one complaint (except the rain) The staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful and fulfilled all of our requirements. Our room although reasonably small had a fabulous view of Elizabeth Bay which made the space seem bigger. The room and ensuite were very clean, adequately furnished and quite new. The hotels location meant that we walking everywhere - to the art gallery, the multitude of restaurants in Macleay Street and Elizabeth Bay and Rushcutters Bay. Great stay a definite for next Sydney visit.

Room Tip: should ensure a view over Elizabeth Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We loved this hotel as it accomodate our needs.We are on the 7th floor which overlook both the harbour n Opera House.It was amazing!

Hotel staffs were helpful,friendly n patient with all our enquiries.Though there was reno going on,it did not dampen our spirits.Security was good as only guest with keys are allowed to use the lifts.But we were unable to use free wifi in our rooms,as it's only avail at the lobby.Halal food is not a prob though,we found 3 halal outlets which sell kebabs n indian cuisine,within a walking dist.

Overall,we enjoyed ourselves tremendously :) Yann & Zull

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YantySurinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Definitely worthy! Very good price comparing to other hotels in Sydney and very comfortable!! nice facilities to have breakfast with a supermarket in the other side of the street, opened till 12am!

10-minute walking to king cross station and 25-minute walking to opera house!

but don't worry...you dont even sweat, as you are gonna enjoy a nice walk through the botanic garden to get to opera!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinotti86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4,321 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#53 of 179 in Sydney
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
#28 of 179 in Sydney
1 reviews
Quest Potts Point
#81 of 179 in Sydney
546 reviews
Hotel Challis
#49 of 179 in Sydney
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macleay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macleay Hotel

Address: 28 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $129 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macleay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Macleay has one of Sydney's most coveted locations in stylish Potts Point, with captivating views of Sydney Harbour or The Brige & Opera House. The views and location are million dollar, but the rates for our self contained studio apartments with kitchen are very affordable. You can stroll to Sydney's most famous landmarks, walk to Circular Quay or be in the heart of the city in just five minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macleay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Serviced Apartment Sydney
Hotel Macleay Serviced Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing