We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night stay in February”
Review of Macleay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macleay Hotel
Ranked #48 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Would definitely stay here again. 5 minute walk to train station, although you have to walk through Kings Cross, which is the red light area. Didn't feel unsafe. Plenty eating places in the area. Staff polite and helpful

Room Tip: We stayed on 9th floor. It was worth paying extra for a harbour view. It was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
4  Thank YorkshireSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

664 - 670 of 909 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

Incredible hotel! Incredible location! Incredible staff! Incredible room and furnishing! Incredible price! Wow! I couldn't have asked for more on my recent visit to Sydney! The staff was really great at recommending places to visit, restaurants, shopping, sites...like a personal concierge!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

21st January 2013 to 08 February 2013
This is a first class budget hotel which provides what was advertised. on arrival although i was considerably late, treated very well and a very speedy check in which was appriciated.
A room with a first class view overlooking the bridge and the opera house and with very little noise. Self catering which my wife and i found to be sufficient for our needs. The room was serviced everyday to a high standard.The desk staff , in fact all the staff i encountered was friendly a helpful.If visiting Sydney again this would be my first choice.
The few negative reviews i have read, well i cannot justify them, my experiance was 100% and i would recomend this hotel to anybody.
Bus stop just outside, train station five mins away , supermarket across the road, lifts to all floors, good views, clean well maintained room, newspapers, advice and directions if required what more do you need.
Thanks again to the Macleay from the old RN sailor.

Room Tip: Book room with harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SAILORMAN6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Hotel well placed for touring in Sydney. Several good restaurants nearby. Room clean and comfortable with basic food preparation facilities and good view of the opera house and Sydney Bridge.
Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Free WiFi in the lobby.
Would particularly recommend nearby German restaurant - Maggies.

Room Tip: Top floor best for a good view . 2 good lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kharden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed at the Macleay Hotel while on a once in a lifetime trip to Australia in December. I was so impressed by the Macleay Hotel! Everything about my time there was perfect! The Potts Point area is just stunning, tree lined streets, amazing restaurants with every type of food imaginable, stylish boutiques and trendy coffee shops. I had a room with a view of the Opera House and the Harbour bridge which I loved. All the staff at the hotel were always extremely helpful, when I first arrived and explained that I had never been to Sydney before they showed me on the map things to do including all the top attractions, best places to see and the best public transport options which I found very helpful. A helpful hint would be to go to the rooftop to see the wonderful views! I took some wonderful photos from up there which I will try to attach to the review. Also free WIFI in the lobby is a big bonus. The rooms were very clean. I really could not find any fault and I hope I get to visit again!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed here for a week at the end of January The great location and personalised, friendly service made it a memorable trip. The service made a pleasant change from the big name hotels, I felt perfectly comfortable here. The room was certainly very clean, although not exactly luxurious. Overall, I can say it was excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, and the higher the better !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I recently stayed at the Macleay Hotel and found it to be fantastic. The views were incredible all staff were extremely courteous, any request I had was dealt with promptly. The rooms although petite were very clean and quite. The hotel offered free WIFI in the lobby and the outdoor area with the pool and BBQ were a great bonus. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to people and I can’t wait to come back.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Travel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#40 of 186 in Sydney
4,588 reviews
Hotel Challis
#57 of 186 in Sydney
831 reviews
Meriton Suites Zetland
#13 of 186 in Sydney
3,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#53 of 186 in Sydney
718 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#22 of 186 in Sydney
6,432 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#33 of 186 in Sydney
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macleay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macleay Hotel

Address: 28 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#30 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $124 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macleay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Macleay has one of Sydney's most coveted locations in stylish Potts Point, with captivating views of Sydney Harbour or The Brige & Opera House. The views and location are million dollar, but the rates for our self contained studio apartments with kitchen are very affordable. You can stroll to Sydney's most famous landmarks, walk to Circular Quay or be in the heart of the city in just five minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Macleay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Serviced Apartment Sydney
Hotel Macleay Serviced Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing