We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely recommend!!!”
Review of Macleay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macleay Hotel
Ranked #42 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I recently stayed at the Macleay Hotel and found it to be fantastic. The views were incredible all staff were extremely courteous, any request I had was dealt with promptly. The rooms although petite were very clean and quite. The hotel offered free WIFI in the lobby and the outdoor area with the pool and BBQ were a great bonus. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to people and I can’t wait to come back.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Travel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (857)
There are newer reviews for Macleay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

625 - 631 of 857 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

The rooms are pretty small. Kitchen ends before even it starts. If you are alone and in a very bad financial state, please consider this as an option. The only good thing about this place is, located near kings cross. Look of the rooms were pretty cheap, the moment we get into the room; we decided to can’t stay here for long. I’m not sure about the staff and service, but the manager was good.

Room Tip: Go for harour view room, which will cost u extra.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UtkalBarik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you want to stay in a hotel (not a backpackers) in inner sydney, but don't want to spend a fortune, then this is the place for you.

The staff on arrival are very friendly and exceptionally helpful. They know the area well and can recommend everything from coffee to transportation.

The rooms are very small, the same as you would get from a formula 1 style, or airport hotel. But for this price in the potts point area you wont find anything bigger. If you want a sitting room or TV area then be prepared to pay upwards of 350 a night or move out of the city.

The view was fantastic, unobstructed views of Sydney Harbour (from the 8th floor). The local area is great too, the nice end of Macleay st, it is a short walk to Wooloomooloo and the botanic gardens. There are plenty of Cafe's and Restaurants within a 1-2 min walk, and if you are into the night life, then kings cross is a 10 minute walk up the street.

The room was clean and tidy, the decor a little outdated, but the bed was comfortable and the facilities were fine. Iron, kettle, small bar fridge and a tele. Staying at the hotel gives you access to one of the local gyms, but we were only there one night and did not use it. Didn't see the pool either.

The bathroom left a little to be desired, and whilst clean, was very small and very dated. The shower is kind of cramped and ends up putting water all over the bathroom floor.

The long and the short of it is, if you want a really nice room in this part of town, you are going to pay more than what you do at the Macleay. They know the facilities are dated and that is why you get away for less than 200 a night in the heart of Sydney.

If you are travelling on a budget, but want a nice room that is not shared with backpackers, and a million dollar view, I would recommend a stay at the Macleay.

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better the view.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BenandBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The rooms are tiny and so small that one at a time, we had to change in the bathroom, as there just was not the space any where else. The decor looks cheap and what you might expect to find at a backpackers. The view was NOT that great, obstructed by buildings and trees . The gym is not on the premises and the small pool is a joke. The night manager was a bully, but the day time staff were lovely, only plus. The location is near kings cross, so be prepared to be abused. I can honestly say that this is one of the worst hotels i have stayed in , It is way over priced, tacky and I would remomend you do not make the same mistake i made , and waist your hard earned money on this hotel. There is better value for money and much nicer hotels to stay in Sydney.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marie393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Sydney on a budget! This hotel is great. The rooms are spacious and the bathroom was large including the shower which was a standup. It had a refrigerator, bar area with hot water pot and microwave. There is a Woolworths supermarket right across the street. It's a short walk to Kings Cross with lots of restaurants and cafes along the way. On our stay, we walked through the Botanical Gardens to the Opera House. This is a must do! The walk is 30 min. but the views along the way are stunning and it's a very safe, family oriented walk.
The hotel staff was very friendly (Trevor & Paulo - a big Thank You) and you must ask for the key to the roof during your stay so you can go up and see the city from the rooftop. Washer and dryer located on each floor - $3 to wash/$3 to dry.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights following a trip to Auckland, and this hotel was a bit of a downgrade for us. The area of Potts Point is nice, but walking 1/4 mile towards Kings Cross got a bit dicey, especially in the early mornings or late night. (It's near the red light district.) While we never felt unsafe, I think we were definitely more cautious of our surroundings!

The room had two double beds, a small kitchenette and a tiny bathroom. The beds were relatively comfortable. Our bathroom shower was very difficult to get the water temperature just right; I either scalded myself or froze. The towels were quite small and scratchy.

It was nice to be able to pick up snacks and breakfast foods from the Woolworths across the street, and there were several good restaurants nearby that had WiFi. The hotel WiFi was about $10 per day, which we thought was a bit steep.

You can walk to downtown from here, but it's a bit of a trek.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NAUgrad2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We booked this hotel as part of a cruise package in Dec 12. We arrived very early following departure from the ship and were not surprised to be told our home was not yet available but were able to leave our luggage and explore the city. We were offered the us of showers and facilities in the basement. The staff were most friendly and obliging. We had paid a supplement for a room with a view of the Bridge and Opera House for our 2 night stay which was well worth the cost. The room on the 9th floor was I think the one they take the photograph of in the official picture. Facilities are a little limited but there are places near by to eat and a bus to the city runs by the door or you can walk it in about 25-30 minutes. The room was tidy and clean but not really designed for a long stay imho. We booked the shuttle bus to the airport on departure which wasn't particularly good value, cheap, but it took nearly two hours to get to the airport with all the other pick ups and traffic jams. We had plenty of time but others may ne less fortunate. Overall, a fine hotel as a base for exploring Sydney and thereabout.

Room Tip: A room with a harbour view is worth the extra coast
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CruiseInvestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,268 reviews
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#50 of 178 in Sydney
677 reviews
Meriton Suites Zetland
#10 of 178 in Sydney
3,045 reviews
Quest Potts Point
#78 of 178 in Sydney
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macleay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macleay Hotel

Address: 28 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#30 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $124 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macleay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Macleay has one of Sydney's most coveted locations in stylish Potts Point, with captivating views of Sydney Harbour or The Brige & Opera House. The views and location are million dollar, but the rates for our self contained studio apartments with kitchen are very affordable. You can stroll to Sydney's most famous landmarks, walk to Circular Quay or be in the heart of the city in just five minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macleay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Serviced Apartment Sydney
Hotel Macleay Serviced Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing