We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Post Cruise stay”
Review of Macleay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macleay Hotel
Ranked #42 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We booked this hotel as part of a cruise package in Dec 12. We arrived very early following departure from the ship and were not surprised to be told our home was not yet available but were able to leave our luggage and explore the city. We were offered the us of showers and facilities in the basement. The staff were most friendly and obliging. We had paid a supplement for a room with a view of the Bridge and Opera House for our 2 night stay which was well worth the cost. The room on the 9th floor was I think the one they take the photograph of in the official picture. Facilities are a little limited but there are places near by to eat and a bus to the city runs by the door or you can walk it in about 25-30 minutes. The room was tidy and clean but not really designed for a long stay imho. We booked the shuttle bus to the airport on departure which wasn't particularly good value, cheap, but it took nearly two hours to get to the airport with all the other pick ups and traffic jams. We had plenty of time but others may ne less fortunate. Overall, a fine hotel as a base for exploring Sydney and thereabout.

Room Tip: A room with a harbour view is worth the extra coast
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CruiseInvestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (859)
There are newer reviews for Macleay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 640 of 860 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent Christmas and a few days afterwards at the Macleay Hotel. I spent days searching the internet for a reasonably priced, family friendly hotel in Sydney - not an easy task. The Macleay seemed to fit the bill as advertised and according to reviews. We were not disappointed. Our rooms had amazing views, the kitchenettes were perfect, the room configurations worked well for our family of five, the laundry facility on each floor was a huge plus, and the pool was a nice place to unwind. Having a Woolworth across the street made it so easy for us to be sure our teenagers had breakfast and snacks. The Kings Cross train station is only a short walk away, so we were able to get everywhere we needed to go easily and quickly. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only downside for some people might be that you walk through an area of strip clubs and adult stores on the way to the train station. But no one ever bothered us and we never felt unsafe.

Room Tip: We thought it was well worth it to get a room with a harbor view. If you do, however, it's a go...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikMackMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay there, our room was very spacious and was cleaned to a very high standard.

The little kitchenette was kitted out quite well and having access to the Woolworths across the road meant that anything we wanted to make in the hotel we could.

The hotel is located in an area that is convenient to many things however it was far enough away from the party zone that is Kings Cross.

The main benefit we found from the hotel was the wonderful staff who assisted us throughout our trip and made really helpful suggestions.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay there and would heartily recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RHNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I spent the extra for the view room. It wasn't syndey harbor it was the view of the bay with the sailboats.
It's not bad but it just isn't worth what they charrge for it. Hard to find, hard to get into the garage, narrow streets. The garage at an additional 20 dollars is a good value. Leave your car there and take public transport.However it is not a centrally located hotel and is out of the way to come back to. Lots of shops, I didn't visit them..
I

Room Tip: ask for sydney harbor view
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smiles030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This was our third stay at the Macleay. Same location, same attentive, smiling staff but the refurbished rooms make the hotel an even better value. If there is a more spectacular view in Sydney, we don't know it nor can we imagine it. Ask for Room 901. The panorama captures the best of both worlds. City, Harbour, Bridge, Opera House and Botanic Gardens on one side, huge vista up to Watson's Bay on the other.

Room Tip: The higher your room the better the view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackDunnill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
1  Thank Mavis W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We found this a brilliant place to stay. The views of the Harbour and Opera House were stunning and it's a really convenient place from which to explore Sydney, nead to Kings Cross station and a beautiful walk through the Botanic Gardens to the Opera house etc. The staff were brilliant and really helpful - they let us leave luggage there for 3 weeks, and on the last day they let us shower and pack our cases there at night, before our flight home, even though we'd checked out 8 hours before. They found us maps and shuttle buses and advised on where to go and generally helped in every way possible. The apartments are well priced, clean and convenient, everything worked and the facilities were great. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,274 reviews
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#50 of 178 in Sydney
678 reviews
Meriton Suites Zetland
#10 of 178 in Sydney
3,054 reviews
Quest Potts Point
#79 of 178 in Sydney
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macleay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macleay Hotel

Address: 28 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#30 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $124 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macleay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Macleay has one of Sydney's most coveted locations in stylish Potts Point, with captivating views of Sydney Harbour or The Brige & Opera House. The views and location are million dollar, but the rates for our self contained studio apartments with kitchen are very affordable. You can stroll to Sydney's most famous landmarks, walk to Circular Quay or be in the heart of the city in just five minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macleay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macleay Serviced Apartment Sydney
Hotel Macleay Serviced Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing