We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very special experience....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #19 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A very special experience....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

We booked into the Intercontinental for our big gay wedding weekend - because we were having our reception at Etch Restaurant. It being a special occasion, we booked the Governor's Suite.

Upon fronting up at the reception desk at the advertised 3pm check in time, we were very politely asked to go and have a drink until 4pm because our room was not ready. Upon returning (after a lovely Pimms cocktail in the foyer bar), we were informed that we had been upgraded to the State Suite - the second best room in the place.

Our luggage was accidentally delivered to my brother's room - an easy mistake to make in a hotel with several rooms booked in the same surname - and the last time all weekend that anything went wrong - from that point, everything was perfect.

The State Suite is stunning - 150 square metres, a huge bedroom, a huge bathroom, office area, guest bathroom, dressing room, lounge area, dining area and (slightly gratuitously) a grand piano. The views from the room are breathtaking, even for a jaded Sydney resident who looks at the Opera House every day at work.

Room service was punctual, the food very good. Every single staff member was friendly, happy and polite, and could not have been more helpful. The bed was comfortable, the shower a joy. The rooms were spotlessly clean, and cleaned promptly. Checkout was easy.

Etch - the restaurant associated with the hotel - is perfect, and ran the perfect wedding reception, that has our friends and family still talking.

This was a magnificent stay - a perfect weekend in a perfect room with perfect service.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tattoosydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 16, 2009
Dear Tattoosydney,

Thank you for your very positive feedback. We were delighted to read that we turned your special occasion into the perfect stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Fred Matti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,298
    1,187
    359
    123
    85
See reviews for
665
1,753
212
857
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
130 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend break. This is a classy hotel from the ground floor foyer to the Club room on the top floor. Desk staff were very helpful and great ambience in the lounge area on the ground floor. We had a room with access to the executive Club on Level 31. Again, the staff in the Club area were very polite and helpful, and the club room itself has views of the Harbour Bridge, Opera House and down the harbour. Breakfast is served here, and offers a good selection - but the only eggs available are scrambled from the warmer - nice but no chance for an omelete, fried or poached eggs. Still with views like these......
The hotel has room service, light meals served in the foyer lounge and has a bufffet restaurant. We didn't make use of any of these as the hotel is only a few hundred metres from the Circular Quay and the Opera House and so there is a wide selection of restaurants nearby.
The address of the hotel is given as Macquarie St, but if you are taking your car, the entrance is around the back in Phillip Street just before the corner with Bridge St.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzSooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 16, 2009
Dear OzSooty,

Thank you for your positive review. We were very happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back for your next weekend break.

Yours sincerely

Fred Matti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2009

I have stayed in this hotel a few times in recent years, most recently a couple of weeks ago for 2 nights for work purposes. Being a Royal Ambassador member, I was nevertheless pleased to receive an upgrade to a Club room, and have to acknowledge the many other reviews suggesting the views from the Club Lounge are absolutely spectacular...As a former Sydneysider of 10 years, I was surprised the impact the view of the Harbour, the Bridge and Opera House had on me.

Pleasingly, the food selection and service at the Lounge were of a commensurate standard.

Facilities in the Hotel were OK, not the best Gym, not the best Pool, but both sufficient.

Rooms were very good, Beds / Pillows were what you would expect and the overall In-Room experience everything you could ask for.

Having traveled a fair bit over the years, I would have to say this Hotel is right at the very pinnacle of accommodation options in Aust. and certainly compares very favorably with International 5 Star hotels I have seen.

Great hotel, great location and great service..Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Advisors_r_Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 16, 2009
Dear Advisors_r_Us,

Thank you for your very positive feedback. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your Club InterContinental experience. The Club lounge with its sweeping views and high level of service, is a favourite Sydney location for many of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next choose to stay with us at InterContinental Sydney.

Yours sincerely

Fred Matti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
119 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2009

I stayed for six nights at this hotel -- it was my second stay at the Intercontinental in Sydney. I have stayed at many other hotels in Sydney. I was in a corner room with a full view of the Harbor Bridge. Unfortunately the Opera House view was partially blocked but I cannot complain. The hotel service was quick and efficient -- luggage reached the room on my arrival before me. There is a wonderful top floor pool -- it is too small and it closes at 9 pm -- but it has a spa yet and the view of the Harbor from the top is great. The food at the hotel is overpriced and not particularly good -- but Circulay Quay is a short distance away. This would be an excellent hotel for a holiday -- it is a little bit far to talk to Darling Harbor if your business is in that area but it is not too hard to get around downtown Sydney.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ghfatw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 16, 2009
Dear ghfatw,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at InterContinental Sydney and hope to welcome you back when you next visit Sydney.

Yours sincerely

Fred Matti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2009

When we checked-in, late at night, we were disappointed to find that despite re-confirming by e-mail a few days beforehand, our reservation was incorrect. This was not the fault of the hotel but due to confusion at Priority Club over our Platinum Priority Club status and our more recent Ambassador membership. In a full hotel, this meant that they were unable to offer us the guaranteed room upgrade - one of our key reasons for choosing this hotel against other chains. However, after a little gentle persistence, in lieu of the room upgrade we were offered use of the Club facilities, which for us was actually nicer.
The room was plush and comfortable and although initially we were disappointed to have a view of an office block a few metres away, this was more than made up for by the view from the Club. We took breakfast there - definitely a cut above the usual Club Lounge fare - and were very well looked-after. One afternoon we popped in for afternoon tea while we took a break from seeing the sights and a couple of evenings we tried the cocktails and canapes, again, a very pleasant experience.
If there is a downside, it is the cost of parking but then that's true of Sydney as a whole. We decided that whilst in the city, a car was actually a hindrance because of the cost to park so we collected it after we checked out and headed off for the rest of our break.
After the initial confused start, we had a delightful stay. The location was excellent, the staff friendly, the room quiet and comfortable (though the bathroom was very small it was nicely equipped) and we would definitely recommend this hotel to friends. I'm sure that we will go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MM2H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 16, 2009
Dear MM2H,

Thank you for your review. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your Club InterContinental experience and hope to welcome you back when you next choose to stay with us in Sydney.

Yours sincerely

Fred Matti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2009

The location is extremely close to Circular Quay. The service was the best that I experienced in Australia and some of the best in the world. The breakfast buffet was also the best that I had sampled in Australia. The only negative is that appreciation in the Australian dollar has made the American dollar price of this hotel merely a good bargain compared to similar properties like the Hyatt and Observatory instead of an absolute steal. The indoor pool had wonderful views of the Harbour.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcushall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 16, 2009
Dear marcushall,

Thank you for your positive feedback and for sharing the great photos. We were particularly pleased to read your comments about our team as we are very proud of them - they play an essential role in delivering a unique experience. Again, thank you for your review, I have passed your feedback regarding breakfast to our Executive Chef and look forward to welcoming you again when you next visit Sydney.

Yours sincerely

Fred Matti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
231 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

The intercontinental is about two long blocks from the Opera House, across the street from botanical gardens and their fruit bats, two blocks from circular quay [key], and a short 15 minute walks to Hyde Park, the Australia Museum, the fine arts museum, and the bridge among others. It is everything you would expect from an Intercontinental property. And, a VERY helpful staff. One of the staff escorted us into the Club room on the 32nd floor to take some great pictures of the harbor, gardens, etc.

The first thing to know about Sydney is that it is expensive in comparison to US prices. $3 or more for a 355 ml [12 oz] Coke is just a simple example. Across the street from the hotel and down an escalator is a food court. Great selection of "to go" food and beverages at competitive prices. Also, a small but good grocery store. However, it is only open M-F from about 7am-5pm. There is a marvelous 24 hour diner on the circular quay [roughly at the entrance to Quay 4] that is often packed with locals in the afternoons. Very reasonable [by Sydney standards prices], good service, and good food.

Sydney is a "what's not to like" city. This intercontinental is a "what's not to like" hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlandDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 16, 2009
Dear AlandDiane,

Thank you for your review. We were very pleased to read your comments about our team who take pride in delivering the highest level of service to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Sydney.

Yours sincerely

Fred Matti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,998 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Property: InterContinental Sydney
Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing