We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.....well...almost”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #29 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

As can be expected - the Intercontinental Sydney is in a prime location (Macquarie Street) right next to the Sydney Harbour Bridge, Opera House and walking distance from pretty much everything that visitors want to see.

Initial impressions are quite underwhelming - the street visibility and presence is quite understated - however once you enter the parking way, that all quickly changes - with an all glass facade, plenty of fountains and the obligatory marble - all makes it feel quite refined and welcoming.

Upon check-in, I was expecting standard treatment, based on the reviews i had read, however i was pleasantly surprised with the welcome that I received. As a Gold Ambassador, I was not only rushed through the check in process, but even greeted with a welcoming handshake not from over the counter - but from right in front of me. Its the little things that make the stay special and this certainly started things off on a good foot.

Upon entry to the room - well - it was pretty standard. Although i was upgraded to a City View Room - ill be honest - the guest rooms arent anything special. Much like their sister chains, the Intercontinental has a certain 'feel' to it - and the rooms, while certainly comfortable and well appointed, still struggle to differentiate themselves from their sister chains (Holiday Inn, etc). A minor point - but something which could be improved upon, particularly being a flagship branding.

However the appointment of the rooms is top notch. A Well stocked minibar with spirits, wine, beer and the usual juices, soft drinks and water. A nice selection of Toiletries greets your first visit to the bathroom, and the usual large selection of pillows, bathrobes, etc - all designed to give you the customised comfort you would expect from a flagship hotel. Additionally - as an Ambassador, I was greeted with my obligatory welcome basket - with a fresh selection of goodies, and replenished water each night - so that was something nice.

However - I will admit - there is always a downside to any hotel stay - and unfortunately I must say that these issues seriously detracted from my enoyment - id be appreciative if someone could explain them from the hotel.

Firstly - pillow selection was not available. Ordinarily this wouldnt bother me, as i normally just bunk up a few pillows together - however I travelled with a friend with neck issues, and the lack of a firm supportive pillow was a near disaster. We were told that there were none available, and that alternatives were not able to be sourced so we would not be able to have the firm support pillows i have grown accustomed to from the IHG chain. This is a serious issue - and I would advise anyone booking a stay to explicitly state their pillow requirements on their booking to avoid this - however - the hotel has a level of responsibility to their customers - and particularly their loyalty members - to ensure a certain level of comfort - so to this end, i was disappointed.

Secondly - an this one really grinds me - I was addressed as a Ms on all correspondence to the room. Despite checking in as a male, booking as a male, having male checked on all of my IHG membership documents - I was still referred to as Female on my correspondence to my room (Granted, my in house TV did get it right). This is a serious issue - not only is it disrespectful to the customer, but it demeans their importance as a customer of the hotel. I will be happy to discuss this offline - as it is something which should be addressed.

I normally dont have too many problems with hotels around the world - and certainly this was a delightful stay - however the 2 negatives, despite seeming relatively insignificant, certainly detracted from the quality of the stay.

Overall - a 5 star stay - with a 3.5 star treatment.....

Room Tip: Ensure you get a 'View' room - you wont regret the extra few bucks. Aircon can be very cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TSVFreqFlyer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear TSVFreqFlyer2,

Thank you for your review and I am pleased that overall you seemed to have an enjoyable stay.

We have sent you a private message to obtain your booking details, we do hope you will respond.

Warm Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,496 - 2,502 of 4,509 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

Wish I had reviewed this hotel when our stay was fresher - it's been 2 months since I returned, so the impressions that I can write about may not be as detailed, but more my overall memory of the wonderful location (less than 5 minute walk to the circular quay, across the street from the botanical gardens; convenient to public transportation), the large room, and the wonderful staff, especially the concierges. I was a rather demanding client even before we arrived - needing itinerary suggestions, opera house tickets, restaurant reservations, etc. All the emails and the face-to-face dealings were professional and friendly and polite! Our bed was comfy, the room was dark in the morning (which we like), and I don't remember any problem with noise. Our room did not come with a breakfast package, but friends who stayed here said it was incredible, so check into that when you book your room here!

Room Tip: opera house view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nreyesok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear nreyesok,

Thank you for your review and so very pleased you enjoyed your visit to Sydney and your stay at InterContinental Sydney.

We are glad to hear that the Concierge team were of great assistance and that you were able to make the most of your stay.

We do hope to welcome you for another great stay.

Warm Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were upgraded to a Habour view room on the 13th floor which was lovely especially with the seat at the window. Unfortunately we weren't in the room enough to really enjoy the views but we were still impressed with what we saw. I loved the "fog free" section of the window in the bathroom (not sure how they do that because there was no fan). We didn't park at the hotel as it was too expensive but parked at the Secure Parking just up the road for $26 which was more reasonable and not hard to get to. Breakfast wasn't included in our room rate and we didn't want to pay $30 per person so I can't provide a review on the breakfast restaurant. The location is very close to Circular Quay and the train station.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stormchaser71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Stormchaser71,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you had a most enjoyable stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience.

We do hope we can welcome you for another enjoyable stay very soon.

Warm regards,

Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in an Opera House King Room (2326) and thoroughly enjoyed living it up for the weekend.

We had the buffet in Cafe Opera on the Friday night. The seafood buffet was excellent.

(We noticed afterwards there is an early bird special for those who dine between 5:30 - 6:30pm).

The pool on level 31 offers a great view of the harbour and surrounds.

We're looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieTraveller311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear AussieTraveller311,

A pleasure to read your review and thank you for letting us know that you are looking forward to a return visit.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the seafood buffet in Cafe Opera as well as the views from the pool.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and i stayed at this property during our first visit to Australia in April. We had been deciding between the InterContinental and Four Seasons (since the Park Hyatt was completely out of our budget), having originally booked the Four Seasons. I have had 2 previous negative experiences at InterContinentals (Rome and San Francisco) so i was very weary to book this hotel despite the wonderful things i had heard. Oppositely, I have had wonderful experiences at Four Seasons property's around the US and Costa Rica and thought it was a no brainer to stay there. However, we had read some pretty negative reviews of the FS property in Sydney and ultimately decided to stay at the InterContinental and we were so glad that we did. The location is perfect, the service was beyond wonderful, and the views were spectacular. We did book a harbor view room and had a very partial view of the opera house which was nice. However, the real draw and "must" at this hotel is to have access to the club intercontinental which had a huge breakfast every morning, afternoon tea, twilight drinks and canapés, and most importantly the best views in Sydney overlooking the opera house and Sydney harbor bridge. The only reason that i give this hotel 4 stars instead of 5 is that the rooms, while very nice and pretty large, could use a bit of a refresh. The lobby is so beautiful and modern and the rooms could use an update to reflect that a bit.

Room Tip: Rooms with club access are definitely worth the splurge - for both the perks that come with it and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerNYC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear TravelerNYC17,

Very pleased to hear you enjoyed your first trip to Australia!

Thank you for your compliments with regards to our location and view. Club InterContinental is a wonderful spot to take in the sights of the city and we are glad you enjoyed your experience there.

We do hope we can welcome you again for another great InterContinental stay.

Warm Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

From the moment you drive in you receive the most wonderful old fashioned style service - car doors opened for you, bags taken and check in that is easy. Pedro was the most helpful and informative staff member at check in. All staff are cheerful and smiling. Our room was on the 27th floor with a view of the city and parklands. King size bed with a pillow menu. Good quality linens on the bed. Decent sized tv for those who wish to watch tv. The hotel is in a great location just up from Circular Quay so you can walk everywhere from the front door if you wish. The lobby and restaurants are in the older part of the building and it is lovely to walk around there and enjoy the atmosphere. We had a seafood buffet for dinner which was really good and breakfast was included in our package - again a buffet with so many choices including omelettes made to order. Nothing was too much trouble esp with the concierges who booked massages and dinner for us and got back to us when they said they would. All seamlessly done. It is a great location to stay if you wish to wander around and see Vivid (the light show in Sydney). Unfortunately I hadn't booked a room overlooking the water so we could see the show at night and there is no access at night to level 31 unless you are a club member which was a real shame as the view is superb up there. Otherwise a great stay. We received a newspaper to read in the morning. Check out was late at 11am and you could ask to stay later if you wished. We just left our bag at the check in and came back a few hours later to pick up the bag and car. All politely and easily arranged. Next time will remember to make sure we have a water view.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Lyndy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear LJSydney,

Very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your compliments with regards to our colleagues, it is truly appreciated and will be passed on. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We just stayed 2 nights at this hotel for "vivid",to see the spectacular harbour from our room was a bonus! We were upgraded to harbour front room with a late checkout 2pm.The view from the pool on the 31st floor is amazing-we could just sit and watch the sails of opera house change colour.We also ate at the pre show buffet at 5.30,which is mostly incredible seafood which at $45 was great value.The service at this hotel is outstanding,views from front rooms incredible and it is so close to Opera house,the Rocks.I can certainly recommend especially for the vivid festival

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aussiedrivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear aussiedrivers,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed and positive review. It is great to read that you had such a lovely experience with us and that you enjoyed taking in the sights of the vivid light festival throughout.

We hope to welcome you back to the InterContinental Sydney soon.

Warm Regards,

Joerg Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#35 of 179 in Sydney
6,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#24 of 179 in Sydney
1,322 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $177 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing