We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great room, small bathroom, no free internet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #26 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great room, small bathroom, no free internet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel is very nice and it is in front of Circular Quay and just a few steps from the Opera House and The Royal Botanic Garden. The room is great and very spacious. The bathroom is tiny, specially if you compare to the room. There is no free internet, no even in the lobby. The pool area is very nice and has great views of the Harbour Bridge

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaisGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear TaisGarcia

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate the feedback you have to offer.

I hope you had an overall enjoyable stay with us and we hope to welcome you again one day.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,011
    1,060
    317
    112
    72
See reviews for
574
1,526
188
765
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,077)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Ok, so I normally never give a hotel a 5 star , but I have got to say one of the best hotels I have stayed at around the world. I was upgraded upon check in, room was ready, a knock on the door and I had a beautiful bottle of wine and nibbles how perfect... The room is stunning, clean beautiful view (28th) floor. Such wonderful attention to detail. Bar down stairs is staffed well and there is no waiting, good service. Normally there is always something that brings a hotel down, but I have got to say a huge congrats to the management and staff this is a streamlined ship and leaves a lot of other hotels for dead. Recommended stay for sure.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CkmetroPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear CkmetroPhotos

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so pleased to know our colleagues were able to make your stay an enjoyable and memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel twice recently for business, and was highly impressed on both occasions. Check in is punctual and friendly; the base level rooms are beautiful (always a good sign) and very well equipped for business with a large desk next to the bed. The ground floor restaurant is surrounded by high end shops (including Vera Wang), and has a stunning atrium. Coffee is very good, and the drinks menu is extensive (two-for-one Pommery Champagne during happy hour in Spring!)

The best way to sum up is this hotel is "understated class" - from the design of the rooms and common areas to the well trained and helpful staff. Perhaps the best compliment I can give this hotel is that it's a pleasure to return to after a busy day.

For those who like IC properties, and are likely to visit more than once a year, I strongly recommend Ambassador membership. It is well worth the investment (4pm check out; free room upgrade; nice gift on arrival; free weekend night etc).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brisbane21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear brisbane21

Thank you for taking the time to review and thank you for your continued loyalty to InterContinental Sydney.

I am happy to hear you had two enjoyable stays with us. We truly appreciate your compliments and look forward to welcoming you again for many more stays to come.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Recently experienced another wonderful weekend at InterCon Sydney. Stayed in Club room, enjoyed our Ambassador upgrade and the included welcome amenities. As usual, Club service and hospitality were amazing, Grizzell and her team know how to ensure their guests really relax. Was all so good that we're going back very soon to experience it all again!

Room Tip: Always pay the extra for club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Callmehelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Callmehelen

I appreciate the time you took to write your review and thank you for your continued loyalty to the InterContinental Sydney.

I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable weekend and an amazing experience in our Club Lounge.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is great - the smiling, friendly staff, excellent service, great location, wonderful food and stunning rooms. I asked about wifi as I had to do some work and was thoughtfully given a room near the router (wifi was fast and problem free). I was in a corner room and the view was breath- taking. Great big TV and very comfortable bed too.
The lunch buffet with huge prawns available has to be experienced - totally 5 star.
This hotel is my new favourite in Sydney now.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SunnieBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear SunnieBrisbane

Thank you for your kind review. It is so pleasing to know you had a most enjoyable stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We finished our Fijian honeymoon with a 2 night stop over in Sydney staying at the InterContinental and we weren't disappointed. Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted warmly by all staff and never having been to Sydney before, staff member Andrew was quick to give us some tips on where to go and what to see. Funnily enough, while standing on a street corner not know where to find the hotel, we were approached by a man who gave us directions. After giving us directions he said to say hello to his son Andrew who works at the hotel! Friendliness and helpfulness obviously runs in the family. We were also very happy to be offered an upgrade to a Harbour View room. For only $25 a night that was definitely worth it for the amazing views of Sydney Harbour from our room. The rooms were a good size and very clean. The buffet breakfast in Cafe Opera was amazing, there were so many types of food available and the quality was excellent. We also had cocktails in the Cortile and received excellent service and delicious cocktails. I have to make special mention also of the Concierge who managed to get us a table with a view at Cafe Sydney at very short notice. Unfortunately I can't remember his name but we are verily grateful for his help with booking a table. The hotel itself is just beautiful. We would definitely recommend the InterContinental to anyone wanting to stay in Sydney.

Room Tip: If possible upgrade to a Harbour a view room...you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoonToBeMrsMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Soontobemrsmac

A pleasure to read your review and thank you for choosing InterContinental Sydney to celebrate thsi special occasion.

Your compliments with regards to the service extended to you is always wonderful to receive and we very appreciative of the time you have taken to share this.

Thank you again and we do look forward to welcoming you back again for many more stays.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Oh what a shame. It has the Intercon brand, an amazing location but could be a business hotel anywhere in the world. When I wrote to InterCon about the reservation I got an automated message saying they were busy and hoped to respond within 3 weeks! In the hotel the rooms are functional and remind me of the basic rooms you find in mid-town Manhattan hotels like the Hilton. The hotel does have an amazing bar/lounge on the top floor but access is very limited and unless you are in the top tier room categories there is a high fee to get in (even if you are an InterCon Platinum member) - that said the views of the harbour and opera house are amazing from the bar's balcony. The reception staff and concierge were helpful and the rooms are kept immaculately clean but given where it is there is a lot more they could do to make the hotel reflect the amazing city in which it is located.

Room Tip: Go high and ask for harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Mark B

Appreciate the time you have taken to write your review and I am pleased that overall your stay seemed to enjoyed.

With regards to the email sent to the hotel, I would be most interested to know the email address this was sent to as we are not aware of any email automated response which advises a 3 weeks delay in responding. This is certainly very surprising. I would greatly appreciate if you could respond to our private email which has been sent to you.

Thank you again and we do hope you will respond to our email.

We look forward to welcoming your return.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#24 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 5,354 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
The Rocks
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#2 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,906 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Property: InterContinental Sydney
Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#12 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing