We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #24 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent location and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The staff were so helpful and efficient and knowledgeable. Rooms were clean and well appointed. The pool would be a bonus in winter, but it seems a shame to be inside breathing chlorine fumes when the vista is so superb in the summer. Loved the buffet breakfasts.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a room with a harbour view. You only live once and why skimp so the kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solomon08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Solomon08

Appreciate your review thankyou. Very pleasing to know that you had an enjoyable stay as well as enjoying our buffet breakfast. This is good to hear and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Thank you again.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,345
    1,214
    376
    129
    88
See reviews for
685
1,795
217
876
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I ended an 11 day Tauck tour of Australia with 4 nights at the Sydney Intercontinental Hotel. What a fantastic place! First, it is located a few short blocks from the Opera House--what could be better than that?! The hotel's facade and first few levels are those of an historic structure, unobtrusively modernized on the inside and backed by a tower of rooms that ends on the 31st floor, where the well-equipped gym, pool and a private club room all offered views to die for. My own room had a view of Sydney harbor to the east, from the Opera House to the very point where the harbor meets the ocean. I could have sat on my window seat all day, just watching the boat action in the harbor. The hotel is within walking distance of Sydney's main downtown attractions--I didn't need a cab, bus or train to visit the museums or the vast botanical gardens located across the street. If I had wanted to venture further away, ferries and other forms of transportation were within easy reach. The food served at the Intercontinental was elegant and delicious, and the service was outstanding. My room decor was elegant yet comfortable. I can't imagine a better place to stay when visiting Sydney.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view towards the east that includes the Opera House, on one of the higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kepc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear kepc

Your review was a pleasure to read and I sincerely thank you for sharing your feedback with regards to your stay with us.

It is always pleasing to know how enjoyable a guests stay has been.

Thank you again, and we do look forward to welcoming you once again.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have just come back from a short break away in Sydney staying at the Intercontinental. The inside decor of the hotel is just lovely as are the rooms very spacious and with beautiful harbor views, the buffet breakfast is also of a very high standard. The hotel is just a couple of blocks from Circular Quay train stop very convenient when catching the train from the airport. It is just a short stroll to ferries, buses, trains and lots of tourist places of interest. The staff were extremely helpful with information of how to get to a concert we were attending whilst there and nothing seemed to much trouble for them. We were very impressed with our whole stay and will definitely stay there again on our next visit.

Room Tip: A room with a harbor view is just spectacular costs more but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear AustG

Your review is apprecaited greatly, thank you.

Very pleasing to read that you had a most enjoyable stay.

We do look forward to having you stay with us again.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
192 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I arrived at 7am without advance notification and the reception tried their best to get me a room ready by 9:30am.
Room is big just a shame I am facing city ( just buildings) even though I am on 25th floor.

I was at a corner, wifi was bad! Need to be near room door to get decent coverage.

So overall I have to make do with bad view and wifi for 8 nights!

My colleague who arrived much later got a stunning harbor view!

Location is good, very close to Opera House, Royal Botanic garden and The Rock.
Walking to Chinatown and main active area is far by walking but you can take buses there.
Ferry, Metro, Buses are all next to hotel!

Sydney museum and Police museum too!

Taxi is very expensive in Sydney! So avoid if you can!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Desmondcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Desmondcheng

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am very pleased we were able to provide you with an early check in on this occasion. Your room allocation to a King Superior City Side was provided as this may have been the only room type available to you at that time and also this would have been the room type you had reserved.

My apologies for any inconvenience caused due to the WiFi signal, I do hope our colleagues were able to assist you.

I am pleased though to read that overall your stay seemed to be enjoyed.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Arrived on an early flight and staff were very helpful in getting me an early check in. Stayed in room on floor 30 with an Eastern Harbour view. Nice room with outstanding view. One thing I didn't find up to scratch was the bathroom, it seemed a little dated. The shower curtain wasn't really fitting for a 5 star hotel.
Breakfast was excellent, a great selection. Real nice bacon!
Another issue was the internet charges-Hotels really need to look at this. We're not in the 90s anymore, free wifi is everywhere now!
The credit card surcharge is also a bit much.
The best view from a swimming pool I have seen in a long time!

Room Tip: Go as high up as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westbury7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Westbury7

Your review is appreciated thank you.

Very pleased you thoroughly enjoyed our Breakfast Buffet as well as the wonderful views from our pool area.

All comments have been taken on board and again thank you.

We do hope to welcome you once again in the near future.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

My mum and I stayed here for one night during the Fleet Review in Sydney for business. We arrived approximately 2 hours before check in and were tired and stressed and the staff did not hesitate to check us in early. The service at the front desk was fantastic, friendly and efficient. I booked this hotel last minute and we were moved to 24th floor with one of the best views of the harbour bridge and opera house. The room was spacious, very clean and comfortable (we booked a 2 double bed room). The room had a comfortable window seat which was perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine and a book to watch the sun set over the harbour. The beds were comfortable and there were plenty of pillows, towels, spare blankets, robes, slippers and toiletries in the bathroom. The room contained tea and coffee making facilities as well as an ironing, iron and hair dryer. The bar and mini fridge were well stocked. We dined at the Meat and Wine Co for late lunch / early dinner and it was just as delightful. After this we tried out the hotel bar in the main part of the hotel. The Service was efficient and un intrusive. The atmosphere was relaxing and the wine was lovely and we were given complimentary snacks. The bar is interesting looking as it appears to be made of old parts of the building and feels like a luxury hide away spot in a busy city.
We were offered a complimentary paper and it arrived nice early. Upon check out we were able to store our luggage with no fuss and at the end of our meeting we were able to collect our luggage and have a taxi called promptly.
The hotel is in short walking distance of the Opera House and Circular Quay and public transport.
What we liked most about the hotel was the Service. The staff were polite, helpful and friendly and provided a relaxing and enjoyable stay. I wouldn't hesitate to book another stay or recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear RochelleK

Your review was an absolute pleasure to read. We do appreciate all feedback, but I must say your comments truly are appreciated.

It is very pleasing for us to know that our guests have departed with such wonderful memories.

Thank you again for sharing and we do hope we can welcome you back for another memorable stay.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

1.5% on all credit cards.....

It's $25 per drink and they want to charge 1.5% ontop. Completely unacceptable from a hotel of this calibre. The cost of doing business is already factored into prices this high.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulylah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Paulylah

Thank you for your review, it is appreciated.

Please let me assure you that our pricing is very in line with establishments of the same calibre and I am sorry that you were not aware that the Merchant Service Fee is not applicable when paying with cash or EFTPOS.

I do hope you enjoyed your visit and will return once again soon.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,110 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Property: InterContinental Sydney
Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing