We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #26 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We just returned from a weeks stay at the InterContinental Sydney. It was a fabulous hotel. The location just can't be beat. It's a short 2 block walk to the Circular Quay, where you can catch a ferry to just about anywhere you want to go. Just a short stroll further and you are standing in front of the Opera House.

We had a wonderful room on the 28th floor which looked out over the Royal Botanic Gardens. The room was spotlessly clean and very nicely appointed. I am very picky about beds, and this one was wonderful. I usually have trouble sleeping well in hotels, but not here. I slept like a baby.

I would definitely recommend spending the extra money and staying in a club level room. The view from the club on the 32nd floor is amazing, looking out onto the harbor and the opera house. The breakfast every morning is delicious and a great way to start off the morning before a day of exploring the city. We spent several mornings just sitting out on the deck enjoying our coffees and the views before setting out on the days journey. The afternoon drinks and canapes were a great way to wind down after a the day.

We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The concierge was very helpful in arranging tours for us, and helping us find various things we required during our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcarson4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear dcarson4

Thank you for your lovely review. I am very happy to hear you had a most enjoyable stay. We really appreciate your compliments of our Club Lounge, as well as our concierge team.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again one day.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,421)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,767 - 2,773 of 4,421 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

We spent 3 nights on 28th floor in a club room with opera house view ( we got the customary upgrade from harbour view as a result of being Ambassador Club members)This actually meant a superb view of the opera house, the bridge and the circular quay. It is certainly worth paying the extra for the club floor and access to the floor 32 club lounge for breakfast, drinks and canapés in the early evening and a place to relax with a coffee or soft drink during the day.
The staff are exemplary, nothing is too much trouble. On arrival we were welcomed by the check in staff, who suggested what to see during our stay and, naturally, all about the facilities. The lounge staff were welcoming and efficient, even on a Friday night, when it did get quite crowded.
We used the swimming pool, which is on floor 31 and, though quite small, is very pleasant. It would be an advantage if there was a shut out period during which small children were excluded, since it suddenly became very overcrowded with non swimmers.
The hotel is perfectly positioned for a city break and I would thoroughly recommend it. We will certainly return on a future visit to Sydney

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HSeeingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear HSeeingtheworld

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased to hear our colleagues were able to make your stay an enjoyable and memorable one.

We hope to welcome you again one day.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I felt fabulously spoiled here. We stayed for 3 nights to celebrate his 40th birthday. We really appreciated the personal welcome and birthday wishes from the Guest Relations Manager and the birthday card and wine and chocolates in our room were a lovely touch.

It's well worth paying the extra for a harbour view room- spectacular!

Breakfast has a huge range and is delicious.

The Concierge has made a career for himself, what a professional.

Finally the location is perfect. 3 minutes walk from the buses, trains and ferries at Circular Quay and 5 minutes walk from the Opera House.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sh0msy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear sh0msy73

Thank you for your kind review. I am so pleased to hear your husband had such an enjoyable 40th birthday with the help of our colleagues. It is also great to know you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the help from our concierge.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I recently stayed here for 2 nights in a club room. The room was quite modern, clean and of reasonable size. The club lounge on the top level has great views of the quay and is a great way to start your day having breakfast there overlooking the view.
The staff in the club lounge particularly Jess and Taylor was exceptional, they were very friendly and accommodating. Their service was of the best I have experienced in a 5 star hotel in Australia. The selection of pre dinner drinks and canapés is also of high standard and a large selection compared to other hotels. Bars and restaurants within the hotel are also quite nice.
It is located in a great location and I cant wait to visit again soon.

Room Tip: Book a Club room
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jake M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Jake M

Thank you for your kind review. I am so pelased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your experience in the Club Lounge. We truly appreciate your compliments to our colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the first 2 nights of our honeymoon in Australia. Our flight arrived early in the morning and the staff made a special effort to have our room ready for us as soon as possible. The view from our room on the 15th floor was just unbelievable - fantastic views of the harbour bridge, opera house and botanical gardens. The window was just like an enormous picture! The location was great for both circular quay and the centre of the city. We had the buffet breakfast on the last morning if our stay and that too was amazing! We also had a complimentary bottle of wine and chocolates delivered to the room as it was our honeymoon! A wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: High room had a fabulous harbour view!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear HBecky

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am very happy to hear that we were able to provide a most enjoyable and memorable start to your honeymoon.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again on your anniversaries.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I spent a few days at this hotel, we had a beautiful room with one of the best views in the world, the Botanic Gardens, the Opera House, the Bridge, the Quay with all the Ferries , the Rocks, and the City , close to all the actions, friendly staff, we got to visit the exclusive top floor thanks to them, very good breakfast, we would have no hesitation in recommending to anyone, as good as any of the best around the world

Room Tip: Room with a view over the Opera House
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juventus888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Juventos888

Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to read about your enjoyable stay.

It is such a compliment to know that your visit was memorable. Thank you sharing.

We do hope we can welcome you once again for another memorable stay at InterContinental Sydney.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I'm an ambassador member and always try to stay at an intercontinental hotel where ever I travel in the world. When you are a member the guarantee you a room upgrade and you also get a late check out. I booked this hotel and was informed that they could not give me the "Guaranteed" room upgrade, I questioned this, how can you guarantee something and then not do it?? I've stayed here quite a few times and I know it's a very nice hotel, the staff are as friendly as Sydney hotel staff get, not quite a good as in other countries but the rooms and the quality of furnishings and food is very good. They then offered me $100 discount but I explained to them that all I had to do was to book a lesser room and get my upgrade and save $100, so they were not giving me anything at all. I asked for a room service credit and a nice bottle of champagne and they stopped communicating with me, I found this very disappointing, here you have a customer that is going out of her way to be brand loyal for years and they do not care or look after me. I think if you are going to Guarantee something then you need to make sure that you are able to follow through with the promise. Disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HerwigReefResort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Amitafd

Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

I am very sorry for any disappointment you have experienced. We have written to you privately to request your booking details to enable us to follow up on your concerns.

We do hope to hear from you.

Warm regards
Joerg Boeckeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 178 in Sydney
6,467 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#18 of 178 in Sydney
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $167 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing